Stages Of Grief Quotes

Quotes tagged as "stages-of-grief" (showing 1-9 of 9)
Shannon L. Alder
“The mind knows the truth when your heart denies what it feels. When you don't feel safe to let people in it is because you're not ready to deal with the pain of honesty.”
Shannon L. Alder

Shannon L. Alder
“You will never accept gratitude as a solution to your problems, until you have reached the last stage of grief--acceptance.”
Shannon L. Alder

Shannon L. Alder
“It is a strange thing that the human species can only go three days without water and three weeks without food, before the body dies. Yet, so many people can go years hanging onto pain and feeling emotionally dead inside. I suppose if it was the other way around more people would go to school to be morticians because of the booming business, or pastors would have to hand out Valium with the sacrament, just to keep the census high.”
Shannon L. Alder

“The mourning process can feel like going through a carwash without a car.”
Jodi Livon

Kate McGahan
“The fact is that when you admit that you can’t blame anyone or anything else, you begin to blame yourself. The human mind gives up trying to find an executioner, but still it must blame someone. Anger that is not expressed tends to turn inward and, instead, attacks the very one who feels it. You move from anger and guilt into depression.”
Kate McGahan, Jack McAfghan: Return from Rainbow Bridge

Ken  Wheaton
“In Louisiana, one of the first stages of grief is eating your weight in Popeyes fried chicken. The second stage is doing the same with boudin. People have been known to swap the order. Or to do both at the same time.”
Ken Wheaton, Sweet as Cane, Salty as Tears

Jim Beaver
“I’ve learned there are no stages to grief. The famous stages of dying (denial, anger, bargaining, acceptance, etc.) apply to people who are dying, not grieving people. Grieving people don’t deny for more than a moment that their loved one has died. They don’t bargain with the universe; it’s too late for bargaining. And anger, acceptance, all the other so-called stages don’t come to a griever in stages. They wash over a griever, as though they were items of clothing in a washing machine, each rubbing and passing over the griever in turn, simultaneously, repeatedly. Anyone saying you are in a certain ‘stage’ of grieving, or, worse, that you are ‘supposed to be’ in a certain stage needs to be taken out and sh—well, needs to be nodded at and forgiven, I suppose.”
Jim Beaver, Life's That Way