William asked:

OMG, Amazon shows a different book order from GoodReads. Very strange. I bought "Falling Free (Vorkosidan Book One)" from Amazon. Which is "the true" book one?

To answer questions about Shards of Honour, please sign up.
Emma As non of the protagonist or antagonists of the series are preset in Falling Free, I would not consider it a good first book to start the series.

Falling Free however plays in the same universe. It can be read as a separate novel at any time you want.
Deborah Jones Lois McMaster Bujold suggests that you read these in internal chronological order (the order in which the events happened in the fictional timeline of the books), and I agree. This is different from the order they were written in, which is how Amazon orders them. The author gives you information in the back of each of the Kindle editions about the internal chronological order. That said, 'Falling Free' happens in the same universe a long time before the rest of the events of the saga so is technically first, but only relates indirectly to the rest of the saga. I began with 'Shards of Honor' and I would recommend beginning either with that or with 'The Warrior's Apprentice.'
Melih Soydemir According to publication order (https://www.goodreads.com/series/9825...) shars of honour is the first book but chronologicaly falling free would be first book. (https://www.goodreads.com/series/9825...)
You may wanna check read order suggested by the Author https://www.goodreads.com/story/show/...
Image for Shards of Honour
by Lois McMaster Bujold (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

About Goodreads Q&A

Ask and answer questions about books!

You can pose questions to the Goodreads community with Reader Q&A, or ask your favorite author a question with Ask the Author.

See Featured Authors Answering Questions

Learn more