From the Bookshelf of The Readers Review: Literature from 1714 to 1910

The Death of Ivan Ilych
by
Start date
September 10, 2011
Finish date
September 30, 2011
Discussion
Short Story Archives
Discussion leader
Silver
Why we're reading this
short story/group read 09/11/11-09/30/11

Find A Copy At

Group Discussions About This Book

Showing 2 of 91 topics — 1,882 comments total
+ Short Story Archives
Grimm's Fairy Tales - Reading Schedule
By Deborah , Moderator · 45 posts · 31 views
last updated Aug 08, 2017 02:36PM
Grimm's Fairy Tales - Faithful John
By Deborah , Moderator · 7 posts · 11 views
last updated Aug 04, 2017 11:26AM

What Members Thought

Laura
Free download available at eBooks@Adelaide.

Opening lines:
During an interval in the Melvinski trial in the large building of the Law Courts the members and public prosecutor met in Ivan Egorovich Shebek’s private room, where the conversation turned on the celebrated Krasovski case.
Katy
Dec 08, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
This was the first book by Tolstoy I ever read. What impressed me about it was that I honestly believed that Tolstoy actually knew what it was like to die. How he could have possibly known, I can't say. But, I believe him on every point.

I then went on to read Anna Karenina, and was again struck by his ability to somehow know things he couldn't have personally experienced (for example, what it's like to nurse an infant).

Tolstoy seems to know everything, and he conveys what he knows with such grac
...more
Kerri
Mar 01, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Kerri by: Reader's Den
Shelves: classics
I gave it four stars because it took me two days to read and I finally got through a Tolstoy book without saying "huh." Unfortunately I did say "will you just die already" as I did in Anna Karenina. But I liked it.

This was also last month's Reader's Den pick and I think its a great introduction to Tolstoy for those who never read him before. http://www.nypl.org/voices/blogs/blog...

Laurel Hicks
Sep 06, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Wow! I don't know what to say.
Carlos
Dec 21, 2011 marked it as to-read
Kristina
Jul 14, 2015 marked it as to-read
Nicki
Jul 17, 2014 marked it as to-read
H W
Apr 17, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Mary Paul
Dec 21, 2013 marked it as to-read
Catty
Nov 19, 2013 marked it as to-read
AC
Sep 06, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: novels-russian
Cassi
Dec 22, 2012 rated it really liked it
Valerie
Jan 01, 2012 marked it as to-read
Shelves: ex-books
Clare Shepherd
May 20, 2016 marked it as to-read
Amanda Wise King
Dec 08, 2011 marked it as to-read
MichelleCH
Oct 19, 2011 marked it as to-read
Khugunin
Sep 15, 2011 rated it liked it
Cynthia
Jun 21, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Cindy Gelpi
Apr 23, 2011 rated it really liked it
Hope
Mar 25, 2011 marked it as to-read
Shelves: classics, russian
Kai Coates
Nov 17, 2016 rated it liked it
Jim
Nov 23, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Andreea
Jul 21, 2009 rated it liked it
« previous 1 3 4 5
37567

The Readers Review: Literature from 1714 to 1910