Giveaways

Enter to win free books sponsored by authors and publishers.

Sorting options
Book Cover
100 copies
Print
One of the most hilarious and barbed accounts of unexpectedly starting over I’ve ever read. . . . If you’ve ever felt lost and hoped that it was leading towards wisdom, Really Good, Actually is your novel.” — Stephanie Danler, New York Times bestselling author of Sweetbitter

“Hilarious, heartwarming, wise.” — Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of A Slow Fire Burning and The Girl on the Train

A hilarious and painfully relatable debut novel about one woman’s messy search for joy and meaning in the wake of an unexpected breakup, from comedian, essayist, and award-winning screenwriter Monica Heisey


Maggie is fine. She’s doing really good, actually. Sure, she’s broke, her graduate thesis on something obscure is going nowhere, and her marriage only lasted 608 days, but at the ripe old age of twenty-nine, Maggie is determined to embrace her new life as a Surprisingly Young Divorcée™.

Now she has time to take up nine hobbies, eat hamburgers at 4 am, and “get back out there” sex-wise. With the support of her tough-loving academic advisor, Merris; her newly divorced friend, Amy; and her group chat (naturally), Maggie barrels through her first year of single life, intermittently dating, occasionally waking up on the floor and asking herself tough questions along the way.

Laugh-out-loud funny and filled with sharp observations, Really Good, Actually is a tender and bittersweet comedy that lays bare the uncertainties of modern love, friendship, and our search for that thing we like to call “happiness”. This is a remarkable debut from an unforgettable new voice in fiction.
  • Art
Book Cover
10 copies
Print
Art historian Cate Adamson, still grieving the death of her brother and desperate to succeed, leaves her troubled parents in the Midwest to complete her doctorate in New York, only to find herself assigned to a misogynist advisor. She attempts to impress him until she discovers a hidden painting, possibly a Baroque masterpiece, in the university basement. Risking her career, financial disaster, and further alienation from her family, she flees to Spain with the painting to consult art experts.


Antonio, an impoverished duke, clings to the decaying legacy of the House of Olivares. When he meets Cate on the train to Seville, he joins her search, and together they uncover evidence in his five hundred-year old library to support the painting's provenance including a document about the artist's final years that will shock the titans of art history. But Cate vacillates about revealing the truth, fearful that it may destroy her career, her family's expectations, and her future with Antonio.



Written with vivid prose, rich references to seventeenth century Spanish art, compelling characters and a historical puzzle, Attribution is the story of one contemporary woman's journey to understand the past--and unlock her future.
  • Art
  • Historical fiction
Book Cover
100 copies
Print
The Sisterhood: a group of women from all walks of life bound by friendship and years of adventure. Armed with vast resources, top-notch expertise, and a loyal network of allies around the globe, the Sisterhood will not rest until every wrong is made right.

In the course of both their official careers and their top-secret missions, the Sisterhood—and their menfolk—have acquired enemies. Myra has been feeling uneasy of late, and her fears are justified when her adopted daughter, Nikki, is seriously injured. With Nikki in a coma, and signs that the organization’s online security has been breached, the women of the Sisterhood are more vulnerable than they’ve ever been.

On their trail is a vicious felon with scores to settle and a network of accomplices willing to do his bidding, for a price. He’s set his sights on vengeance, and the attack on Nikki is just the beginning. Though frantic with worry about her daughter, Myra and her beloved Charles know it’s time to summon the others and figure out how to take the fight to the enemy’s door. Because no one targets one of their own and gets away with it . . .
  • Fiction
  • Art
Book Cover
100 copies
Print
For readers of The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah who are hungry for a non-fiction account of Nazi-occupied Paris, Star Crossed is an epic true story of love and resistance during WWII from the award-winning author of 999. Part historical portrait of life during the Occupation, part valentine to The City of Light and the resilience of its people, this true love story follows the romance between the Romeo and Juliet of war-torn Paris - a Catholic Resistance fighter and a Holocaust victim who meet at the famous Caf� Flore before war, prejudice, and disapproving families set them on divergent and tragically inevitable paths.

Paris, 1940. The City of Light has fallen under German Occupation. Among patriotic Parisians, the pursuit of art, culture, and jazz have become bold acts of defiance. So has forbidden romance for talented and spirited Jewish teenager Annette Zelman, a student at the Beaux-Arts, and dashing young Catholic poet Jean Jausion. Despite their devout families' vehement opposition, the young couple finds acceptance at the famed Caf� de Flore, whose habitues include Simone de Beauvoir, Jean-Paul Sartre, Pablo Picasso, Django Reinhardt, and other luminaries of the Latin Quarter's creative world.

For a time, Annette and Jean feel they have eluded the brute might of the relentless Nazis -- and more immediately, their parents' threats and demands. But as restrictions on the Jewish community escalate to arrests and deportations, the maleficent forces gathering around the young lovers set them on divergent and tragically inevitable paths.

Drawn from never-before-published family letters and other treasures, as well as archival sources and exclusive interviews, Star-Crossed offers us precious insight into the Holocaust and the lives French people bravely led under the Hitler regime. This breathtaking true story of beauty, art, liberation, and the transformative power of love resonates with an intimate story of undying devotion, seen through the prism of history.
  • Non-fiction
  • Art
Book Cover
100 copies
Kindle
In this book, I present tales of true crime and bizarre applications of justice (or injustice, as the case may be). They include:
The real story behind “Arsenic and Old Lace” and why the reality isn’t as lighthearted as Hollywood made it out to be.
A case in which a dream helped solve a gruesome murder. Or did it?
When a staunch Irish sea captain murdered almost his entire crew on the high seas and what happened afterward.
Did an Ouija board drive an Alabama mother and daughter to commit murder?
The story of Jane Toppan and what drove her to kill so many of her patients.
The story of Blanche Monnier, whose family locked her away for decades to keep her from marrying the wrong man.
Was the Devil responsible for the murder of Alan Bono?
The true story of the Vampire of Le Muy and his bizarre need to steal corpses.
The story of Bridget Cleary, whose husband killed her in the belief that she had been replaced by fairies.
And this is just a sampling of the stories you will find
  • Art
Displaying 1 - 5 of 6 giveaways