Young Adult

Young-adult fiction (often abbreviated as YA) is fiction written for, published for, or marketed to adolescents and young adults, roughly ages 13 to 18.

Young-adult fiction, whether in the form of novels or short stories, has distinct attributes that distinguish it from the other age categories of fiction. The vast majority of YA stories portray an adolescent as the protagonist, rather than an adult or a child. The subject matter and story lines are typically consistent with the age and experience of the main character, but beyond that YA stories span the entire spectrum of fiction genres. The
...more

A Lesson in Vengeance
As Good As Dead (A Good Girl's Guide to Murder, #3)
The Dead and the Dark
How We Fall Apart (How We Fall Apart, #1)
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
The Desert Prince
The Witch Haven
The Woods Are Always Watching
A Dance with the Fae Prince (Married to Magic, #2)
The Devil Makes Three
The Wild Ones
Bad Witch Burning
Cheer Up: Love and Pompoms
Poison for Breakfast
Fresh
  • Vial of Tears by Cristin  Bishara
    Vial of Tears
    by

    Release date: Oct 05, 2021
    A Phoenician underworld adventure that fantasy fans do not want to miss. Enter for a chance to win one of five copies of Cristin Bishara's tale. ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1818 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 14 - Sep 24, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Sustain by Valerie Claussen
    Sustain
    by

    Release date: Jul 23, 2014
    We're giving away five paperback copies of Sustain. It was first printed in 2014 with a limited release. It has been updated this year. ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1376 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 03 - Sep 24, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Where There's a Whisk by Sarah J. Schmitt
    Where There's a Whisk
    by

    Release date: Oct 12, 2021
    We're giving away 5 copies of a new YA about the joy and drama of a teen baking reality show! For fans of The Great British Baking Show and Chopped ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1661 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 17 - Sep 24, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)
    The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air, #3)
    The People We Keep
    One of Us Is Next (One of Us Is Lying, #2)
    Half a Heart
    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8)
    A Thousand Boy Kisses
    Turtles All the Way Down
    The Crown (The Selection, #5)
    Fake It 'Til You Break It
    Long Way Down
    King's Cage (Red Queen, #3)
    The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
    The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo, #1)
    Todo lo que nunca fuimos (Deja que ocurra, #1)
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsCatching Fire by Suzanne CollinsDivergent by Veronica RothMockingjay by Suzanne CollinsInsurgent by Veronica Roth
    YA Dystopia Novels
    1,591 books — 11,432 voters
    City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra ClareThe One by Kiera CassCress by Marissa MeyerIgnite Me by Tahereh MafiThe Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan
    YA Novels of 2014
    1,557 books — 9,144 voters

    Lord of Shadows by Cassandra ClareKing's Cage by Victoria AveyardCaraval by Stephanie GarberCarve the Mark by Veronica RothFlame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh
    YA Novels of 2017
    1,105 books — 8,355 voters
    Insurgent by Veronica RothCity of Lost Souls by Cassandra ClareThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenPandemonium by Lauren OliverRapture by Lauren Kate
    YA Novels of 2012
    1,318 books — 10,632 voters

    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingThe Lightning Thief by Rick RiordanCity of Bones by Cassandra ClareThe Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsDivergent by Veronica Roth
    Best Series
    3,205 books — 9,727 voters
    Chain of Thorns by Cassandra ClareUntitled by Cassandra ClareUntitled by Leigh BardugoAristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World by Benjamin Alire SáenzRequiem by Maggie Stiefvater
    Most Exciting Upcoming YA Books
    114 books — 17,255 voters

    The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
    Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)
    Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)
    The Fault in Our Stars
    Divergent (Divergent, #1)
    Twilight (The Twilight Saga, #1)
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)
    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)
    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6)
    New Moon (The Twilight Saga, #2)
    Insurgent (Divergent, #2)

    Related News

      Every year in the U.S., we observe National Hispanic Heritage Month, which runs from September 15 through October 15. And this is the perfect...
    Maggie Stiefvater
    Gansey had once told Adam that he was afraid most people didn't know how to handle Ronan. What he meant by this was that he was worried that one day someone would fall on Ronan and cut themselves. ...more
    Maggie Stiefvater, The Raven Boys

    Cassandra Clare
    I should have guessed you were Jace's sister," he said. "You both have the same artistic talent." Clary paused, her foot on the lowest stair. She was taken aback. "Jace can draw?" Nah." When Alec smiled, his eyes lit like blue lamps and Clary could see what Magnus had found so captivating about him. "I was just kidding. He can't draw a straight line. ...more
    Cassandra Clare, City of Bones

    More quotes...
    YA Buddy Readers' Corner ♥ “We read to know that we are not alone.” ― C.S. Lewis ----------------------- WHAT DO WE DO …more
    15,733 members, last active 24 minutes ago
    Ranters and Reviewers ❝𝙿𝚎𝚘𝚙𝚕𝚎 𝚜𝚊𝚢 𝚝𝚑𝚊𝚝 𝚕𝚒𝚏𝚎 𝚒𝚜 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚝𝚑𝚒𝚗𝚐, 𝚋𝚞𝚝 𝙸 𝚙𝚛𝚎𝚏𝚎𝚛 𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚍𝚒𝚗𝚐.❞ Ranters and Reviewers is a safe spac…more
    465 members, last active an hour ago
    Teen Book Club A place to discuss anything and everything. Meet new people with interests similar to yours. Get…more
    2,476 members, last active 2 hours ago
    ❀The Never-ending TBR❀ To All 1780+ Active Members: You Are Loved Teens? Bookaholics? Adventure seekers? Activists? Wizards? Faes? Witches? Aliens? Humans? Welc…more
    1,786 members, last active a moment ago
    Did You Miss Me?
    25 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:34PM — 10 people liked it
    The Chosen One
    22 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:33PM — 100 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: young-adult, children-young-adult, ya, ya-books, ya-fiction, ya-lit, yafiction, young-adult-books, young-adult-fiction, young-adult-lit, young-adult-literature, young-adults, youngadult, and youth