Young Adult

Young-adult fiction (often abbreviated as YA) is fiction written for, published for, or marketed to adolescents and young adults, roughly ages 13 to 18.

Young-adult fiction, whether in the form of novels or short stories, has distinct attributes that distinguish it from the other age categories of fiction. The vast majority of YA stories portray an adolescent as the protagonist, rather than an adult or a child. The subject matter and story lines are typically consistent with the age and experience of the main character, but beyond that YA stories span the entire spectrum of fiction genres. The
...more

A Lesson in Vengeance
As Good As Dead (A Good Girl's Guide to Murder, #3)
The Dead and the Dark
How We Fall Apart (How We Fall Apart, #1)
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
The Desert Prince
The Witch Haven
The Woods Are Always Watching
A Dance with the Fae Prince (Married to Magic, #2)
The Devil Makes Three
The Wild Ones
Bad Witch Burning
Cheer Up: Love and Pompoms
Poison for Breakfast
Fresh
  • Vial of Tears by Cristin  Bishara
    Vial of Tears
    by

    Release date: Oct 05, 2021
    A Phoenician underworld adventure that fantasy fans do not want to miss. Enter for a chance to win one of five copies of Cristin Bishara's tale. ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1818 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 14 - Sep 24, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Sustain by Valerie Claussen
    Sustain
    by

    Release date: Jul 23, 2014
    We're giving away five paperback copies of Sustain. It was first printed in 2014 with a limited release. It has been updated this year. ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1375 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 03 - Sep 24, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Where There's a Whisk by Sarah J. Schmitt
    Where There's a Whisk
    by

    Release date: Oct 12, 2021
    We're giving away 5 copies of a new YA about the joy and drama of a teen baking reality show! For fans of The Great British Baking Show and Chopped ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1661 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 17 - Sep 24, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)
    The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air, #3)
    The People We Keep
    One of Us Is Next (One of Us Is Lying, #2)
    Half a Heart
    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8)
    A Thousand Boy Kisses
    Turtles All the Way Down
    The Crown (The Selection, #5)
    Fake It 'Til You Break It
    Long Way Down
    King's Cage (Red Queen, #3)
    The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
    The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo, #1)
    Todo lo que nunca fuimos (Deja que ocurra, #1)
    City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra ClareClockwork Prince by Cassandra ClareForever by Maggie StiefvaterSilence by Becca FitzpatrickPassion by Lauren Kate
    YA Novels of 2011
    1,156 books — 7,109 voters
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsTwilight by Stephenie MeyerCity of Bones by Cassandra ClareThe Truth About Forever by Sarah DessenJust Listen by Sarah Dessen
    Young Adult Romance
    3,416 books — 9,150 voters

    Allegiant by Veronica RothClockwork Princess by Cassandra ClareRequiem by Lauren OliverThe Indigo Spell by Richelle MeadThe Elite by Kiera Cass
    YA Novels of 2013
    1,576 books — 11,005 voters

    Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini TaylorDelirium by Lauren OliverDarkfever by Karen Marie MoningBrainwalker by Robyn MundellMagic Bites by Ilona Andrews
    Original Stories . . . a Breath of Fresh Air
    7,830 books — 10,986 voters
    The Fault in Our Stars by John GreenThe Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen ChboskyAnna and the French Kiss by Stephanie PerkinsLooking for Alaska by John GreenThirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
    Best Young Adult Realistic Novels
    2,395 books — 12,232 voters

    The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
    Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)
    Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)
    The Fault in Our Stars
    Divergent (Divergent, #1)
    Twilight (The Twilight Saga, #1)
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)
    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)
    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6)
    New Moon (The Twilight Saga, #2)
    Insurgent (Divergent, #2)

    Related News

      Every year in the U.S., we observe National Hispanic Heritage Month, which runs from September 15 through October 15. And this is the perfect...
    Neil Gaiman
    Stories you read when you're the right age never quite leave you. You may forget who wrote them or what the story was called. Sometimes you'll forget precisely what happened, but if a story touches you it will stay with you, haunting the places in your mind that you rarely ever visit. ...more
    Neil Gaiman, M Is for Magic

    Maggie Stiefvater
    Gansey had once told Adam that he was afraid most people didn't know how to handle Ronan. What he meant by this was that he was worried that one day someone would fall on Ronan and cut themselves. ...more
    Maggie Stiefvater, The Raven Boys

    More quotes...
    Fanatieke Nederlandse Lezers Welkom bij de Fanatieke Nederlandse Lezers groep! Wij staan open voor iedereen. De voertaal is…more
    989 members, last active an hour ago
    YA Readers This group is a space to talk about YA books and authors.
    2 members, last active 2 days ago
    Mums and Dads Who (try to) Read This is a group for tired out parents longing to sit down and read but never seen to find the ti…more
    2 members, last active 17 hours ago
    For Love of a Book This group was created to connect lovers of stories across the internet with their characters an…more
    4,525 members, last active 9 minutes ago
    A Game of My Own
    8 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:38PM — 0 people liked it
    Did You Miss Me?
    25 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:34PM — 10 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: young-adult, children-young-adult, ya, ya-books, ya-fiction, ya-lit, yafiction, young-adult-books, young-adult-fiction, young-adult-lit, young-adult-literature, young-adults, youngadult, and youth