Young Adult

Young-adult fiction (often abbreviated as YA) is fiction written for, published for, or marketed to adolescents and young adults, roughly ages 13 to 18.

Young-adult fiction, whether in the form of novels or short stories, has distinct attributes that distinguish it from the other age categories of fiction. The vast majority of YA stories portray an adolescent as the protagonist, rather than an adult or a child. The subject matter and story lines are typically consistent with the age and experience of the main character, but beyond that YA stories span the entire spectrum of fiction genres. The
...more

A Lesson in Vengeance
As Good As Dead (A Good Girl's Guide to Murder, #3)
The Dead and the Dark
How We Fall Apart (How We Fall Apart, #1)
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
The Desert Prince
The Witch Haven
The Woods Are Always Watching
A Dance with the Fae Prince (Married to Magic, #2)
The Devil Makes Three
The Wild Ones
Bad Witch Burning
Cheer Up: Love and Pompoms
Poison for Breakfast
Fresh
  • Vial of Tears by Cristin  Bishara
    Vial of Tears
    by

    Release date: Oct 05, 2021
    A Phoenician underworld adventure that fantasy fans do not want to miss. Enter for a chance to win one of five copies of Cristin Bishara's tale. ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 2005 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 14 - Sep 24, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Sustain by Valerie Claussen
    Sustain
    by

    Release date: Jul 23, 2014
    We're giving away five paperback copies of Sustain. It was first printed in 2014 with a limited release. It has been updated this year. ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1573 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 03 - Sep 24, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Where There's a Whisk by Sarah J. Schmitt
    Where There's a Whisk
    by

    Release date: Oct 12, 2021
    We're giving away 5 copies of a new YA about the joy and drama of a teen baking reality show! For fans of The Great British Baking Show and Chopped ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1942 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 17 - Sep 24, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)
    The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air, #3)
    The People We Keep
    One of Us Is Next (One of Us Is Lying, #2)
    Half a Heart
    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8)
    A Thousand Boy Kisses
    Turtles All the Way Down
    The Crown (The Selection, #5)
    Fake It 'Til You Break It
    Long Way Down
    King's Cage (Red Queen, #3)
    The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
    The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo, #1)
    Todo lo que nunca fuimos (Deja que ocurra, #1)
    Operation Hail Storm by Brett ArquetteUna Historia de Ayer by Sergio CoboAccidental Leigh by Melanie  JamesNobody's Perfect by Kallypso MastersNobody's Hero by Kallypso Masters
    Indie Authors to Watch
    6,988 books — 7,618 voters
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsCatching Fire by Suzanne CollinsDivergent by Veronica RothMockingjay by Suzanne CollinsInsurgent by Veronica Roth
    YA Dystopia Novels
    1,591 books — 11,434 voters

    Insurgent by Veronica RothCity of Lost Souls by Cassandra ClareThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenPandemonium by Lauren OliverRapture by Lauren Kate
    YA Novels of 2012
    1,318 books — 10,631 voters
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsHarry Potter Series Box Set by J.K. RowlingTwilight by Stephenie MeyerCatching Fire by Suzanne CollinsCity of Bones by Cassandra Clare
    Best Young Adult Fiction
    3,440 books — 7,639 voters

    Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini TaylorDelirium by Lauren OliverDarkfever by Karen Marie MoningBrainwalker by Robyn MundellMagic Bites by Ilona Andrews
    Original Stories . . . a Breath of Fresh Air
    7,830 books — 10,992 voters
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingThe Lightning Thief by Rick RiordanCity of Bones by Cassandra ClareThe Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsDivergent by Veronica Roth
    Best Series
    3,205 books — 9,734 voters

    The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
    Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)
    Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)
    The Fault in Our Stars
    Divergent (Divergent, #1)
    Twilight (The Twilight Saga, #1)
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)
    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)
    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6)
    New Moon (The Twilight Saga, #2)
    Insurgent (Divergent, #2)

    Related News

    There's something so special about each class of debut YA authors; after all, young adult fiction is all about the hopefulness of new...
    Jess C. Scott
    A fit, healthy body—that is the best fashion statement
    Jess C Scott

    Laini Taylor
    I think you’re a fairy tale. I think you’re magical, and brave, and exquisite. And I hope you'll let me be in your story. ...more
    Laini Taylor, Strange the Dreamer

    More quotes...
    Adult Readers of YA Fantasy & Magic and Fae A place for those of us over 21 ...me over 51 (haha) who love Young Adult, Magic and other Fanta…more
    2 members, last active 4 days ago
    Books and Tea If you are a teenager or pre-teen who love to read, as well as drink tea (doesn't have to be at …more
    43 members, last active an hour ago
    Hillcrest Book Club This is for Hillcrest Book club to discuss everything books! We can share recommendations, thoug…more
    2 members, last active a day ago
    A Million More Pages Welcome to A Million More Pages. We are a challenge-based reading group that runs seasonal chall…more
    1,720 members, last active 2 minutes ago
    Echoing Silence
    10 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:30PM — 86 people liked it
    Deloitte Stories
    14 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:24PM — 35 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: young-adult, children-young-adult, ya, ya-books, ya-fiction, ya-lit, yafiction, young-adult-books, young-adult-fiction, young-adult-lit, young-adult-literature, young-adults, youngadult, and youth