Science

Science (from the Latin scientia, meaning “knowledge”) is the effort to discover, and increase human understanding of how the physical world works. Through controlled methods, science uses observable physical evidence of natural phenomena to collect data, and analyzes this information to explain what and how things work.

Paradise: One Town's Struggle to Survive an American Wildfire
The Secret History of Food: Strange but True Stories About the Origins of Everything We Eat
The Family Firm: A Data-Driven Guide to Better Decision Making in the Early School Years
Being a Human: Adventures in Forty Thousand Years of Consciousness
Every Minute Is a Day: A Doctor, an Emergency Room, and a City Under Siege
We're Not Broken: Changing the Autism Conversation
Dangerous Ground (Fiona Carver, #1)
The Quiet Zone: Unraveling the Mystery of a Town Suspended in Silence
The Arbornaut: A Life Discovering the Eighth Continent in the Trees Above Us
Pando: A Living Wonder of Trees
Silent Earth: Averting the Insect Apocalypse
How to Make an Apple Pie from Scratch: In Search of the Recipe for Our Universe
This is Your Mind on Plants
Fox & I
Seek You: A Journey Through American Loneliness
  • A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth by Henry Gee
    A (Very) Short History of Life on Earth: 4.6 Billion Years in 12 Pithy Chapters
    by

    Release date: Nov 02, 2021
    In the tradition of Richard Dawkins, Bill Bryson, and Simon Winchester—An entertaining and uniquely informed narration of Life's life story.

    In the beg
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 50 copies available, 2551 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 03 - Sep 20, 2021

    Countries available: U.S. and Canada

  • Back to Earth by Nicole Stott
    Back to Earth: What Life in Space Taught Me About Our Home Planet—And Our Mission to Protect It

    Release date: Oct 12, 2022
    Enter for a chance to win a copy of Nicole Stott's BACK TO EARTH: WHAT LIFE IN SPACE TAUGHT ME ABOUT OUR HOME PLANET–AND OUR MISSION TO PROTECT IT. ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 25 copies available, 1726 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Aug 23 - Sep 20, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • This Is How You Vagina by Nicole E.  Williams
    This Is How You Vagina: All About Your Vajayjay and Why You Probably Shouldn't Call It That

    Release date: Sep 21, 2021
    Enter to win one of one hundred copies of This is How You Vagina by Nicole E. Williams, MD on Kindle!
    View Details »

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 741 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Sep 06 - Sep 20, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Premonition: A Pandemic Story
    Bad Blood: Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup
    Transcendent Kingdom
    The Anthropocene Reviewed
    Migrations
    What Happened To You?: Conversations on Trauma, Resilience, and Healing
    This is Your Mind on Plants
    The Overstory
    Dangerous Ground (Fiona Carver, #1)
    Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World – and Why Things Are Better Than You Think
    Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams
    The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women
    The Naturalist (The Naturalist, #1)
    Fuzz: When Nature Breaks the Law
    Digital Minimalism: Choosing a Focused Life in a Noisy World
    A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill BrysonA Brief History of Time by Stephen HawkingThe Selfish Gene by Richard DawkinsGuns, Germs, and Steel by Jared DiamondCosmos by Carl Sagan
    Best General Science Books
    513 books — 533 voters
    The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula K. Le GuinDo Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. DickMemories, Dreams, Reflections by C.G. JungA Midsummer Night's Dream by William ShakespeareThe Absolute Sandman, Volume One by Neil Gaiman
    best books concerning dreams
    296 books — 254 voters

    Hopebreaker by Dean F. WilsonThe Golden Compass by Philip PullmanThe Subtle Knife by Philip PullmanThe Amber Spyglass by Philip PullmanSoulless by Gail Carriger
    Best Steampunk and Gaslight Works
    307 books — 441 voters
    Dune by Frank HerbertHyperion by Dan SimmonsFoundation by Isaac AsimovEnder's Game by Orson Scott CardRevelation Space by Alastair Reynolds
    Space Opera
    466 books — 432 voters

    Gödel, Escher, Bach by Douglas R. HofstadterFermat's Enigma by Simon SinghFlatland by Edwin A. AbbottThe Code Book by Simon SinghZero by Charles Seife
    Best Books About Mathematics
    393 books — 611 voters
    Stiff by Mary RoachThe Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca SklootA Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill BrysonThe Poisoner's Handbook by Deborah BlumThe Disappearing Spoon by Sam Kean
    Modern Science Nonfiction
    337 books — 266 voters

    A Brief History of Time
    A Short History of Nearly Everything
    The Selfish Gene
    Astrophysics for People in a Hurry
    Cosmos
    Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind
    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
    What If? Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions
    The Origin of Species
    The Elegant Universe: Superstrings, Hidden Dimensions, and the Quest for the Ultimate Theory
    The Demon-Haunted World: Science as a Candle in the Dark
    Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers
    "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!": Adventures of a Curious Character
    The Gene: An Intimate History
    The Grand Design

    Related News

    You’d never know it from reading the books listed here, but good science writing is incredibly difficult to pull off. There is both an art...
    Albert Einstein
    Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. ...more
    Albert Einstein

    Terry Pratchett
    In the beginning there was nothing, which exploded.
    Terry Pratchett, Lords and Ladies

    More quotes...
    Lecturas que nos interesan leer
    2 members, last active 6 days ago
    Non Fiction Book Club This group is for anyone who enjoys Non Fiction. Genres discussed here include Histories, Autobi…more
    3,340 members, last active 3 hours ago
    A group of friends with an interest in psychology that we'd like to satisfy by reading all kinds…more
    2 members, last active 2 months ago
    The Hitchhiker's Guide to Books ------
    3 members, last active 5 months ago
    The Warrior's Claim
    17 chapters — updated Dec 14, 2018 10:21AM — 0 people liked it
    ©the L.A.Z.E.R.U.S. project
    1 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:35PM — 2 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: science, sciences, scientific, and scienza