Nonfiction

Nonfiction is an account or representation of a subject which is presented as fact. This presentation may be accurate or not; that is, it can give either a true or a false account of the subject in question. However, it is generally assumed that the authors of such accounts believe them to be truthful at the time of their composition. Note that reporting the beliefs of others in a nonfiction format is not necessarily an endorsement of the ultimate veracity of those beliefs, it is simply saying that it is true that people believe that (for such topics as mythology, religion). Nonfiction can als ...more

Stay Sexy & Don’t Get Murdered: The Definitive How-To Guide
Everything is F*cked: A Book About Hope
Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee
The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West
Underland: A Deep Time Journey
The Castle on Sunset: Life, Death, Love, Art, and Scandal at Hollywood's Chateau Marmont
Sea Stories: My Life in Special Operations
Rough Magic: Riding the World's Loneliest Horse Race
Sorry I'm Late, I Didn't Want to Come: An Introvert’s Year of Living Dangerously
A Well-Read Woman: The Life, Loves, and Legacy of Ruth Rappaport
Out East: Memoir of a Montauk Summer
No Visible Bruises: What We Don’t Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us
The British Are Coming: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777
Brave Face
Black Death at the Golden Gate: The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague
  • Stronghold by Tucker Malarkey
    Stronghold: One Man's Quest to Save the World's Wild Salmon
    by
    Release date: Jul 23, 2019
    Enter for a chance to win 50 advance copies of STRONGHOLD by Tucker Malarkey!

    In the tradition of Mountains Beyond Mountains and The Orchid Thief, Stro
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 50 copies available, 1086 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jun 04 - Jun 18, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Geometry Proofs Essential Practice Problems Workbook with Ful... by Chris McMullen
    Geometry Proofs Essential Practice Problems Workbook with Full Solutions
    by
    Release date: May 24, 2019
    Enter for a chance to win a newly released geometry workbook by Chris McMullen, Ph.D., experienced university instructor and author of the Improve You ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 973 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: May 28 - Jun 18, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • The Modern Art and Science of Mobility by Aurelien Broussal-Derval
    The Modern Art and Science of Mobility
    by
    Release date: Jun 19, 2019
    Enter for a chance to win one of eight copies of the Modern Art and Science of Mobility!

    Live pain free and maximize your training potential with The
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 8 copies available, 991 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: May 20 - Jun 18, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Educated
    The Tattooist of Auschwitz (The Tattooist of Auschwitz, #1)
    The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life
    This Is Going to Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior Doctor
    Born a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood
    We Should All Be Feminists
    Siege: Trump Under Fire
    Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions
    Can't Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds
    The Dark Heart: A True Story of Greed, Murder, and an Unlikely Investigator
    From Scratch: A Memoir of Love, Sicily, and Finding Home
    Reasons to Stay Alive
    Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World – and Why Things Are Better Than You Think
    Brief Answers to the Big Questions
    Yes Please
    To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee1984 by George OrwellThe Great Gatsby by F. Scott FitzgeraldHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingAnimal Farm by George Orwell
    Best Books of the 20th Century
    7,710 books — 48,452 voters
    The Book Thief by Markus ZusakThe Diary of a Young Girl by Anne FrankNight by Elie WieselThe Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John BoyneNumber the Stars by Lois Lowry
    Well-Written Holocaust Books
    666 books — 2,621 voters

    The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne FrankThe Glass Castle by Jeannette WallsNight by Elie WieselAngela's Ashes by Frank McCourtEat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
    Best Memoir / Biography / Autobiography
    4,435 books — 4,913 voters
    The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas AdamsGood Omens by Terry PratchettLamb by Christopher MooreThe Princess Bride by William GoldmanMe Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris
    Best Humorous Books
    3,801 books — 6,894 voters

    To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper LeePride and Prejudice by Jane AustenHarry Potter Series Box Set by J.K. RowlingJane Eyre by Charlotte BrontëThe Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
    Best Woman-Authored Books
    6,304 books — 4,282 voters
    A Walk in the Woods by Bill BrysonInto the Wild by Jon KrakauerEat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth GilbertInto Thin Air by Jon KrakauerIn a Sunburned Country by Bill Bryson
    Favourite Travel Books
    1,751 books — 4,022 voters

    The Diary of a Young Girl
    Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything
    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
    The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair That Changed America
    Outliers: The Story of Success
    Bossypants
    Into the Wild
    A Short History of Nearly Everything
    The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference
    Night (The Night Trilogy, #1)
    Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
    Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind
    In Cold Blood
    Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies
    Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption

    Roxane Gay

    Author of Bad Feminist

    Roxane Gay’s writing has appeared in Best American Short Stories 2012, Best Sex Writing 2012, Oxford American, American Short Fiction, West Branch, Virginia Quarterly Review, NOON, The New York Times Book Review, Bookforum, The Los Angeles Times, The Nation, The Rumpus, Salon, The Wall Street Journal’s Speakeasy culture blog, and many others.

    Ask a Question

    More Featured Authors Taking Questions…
    David Foster Wallace
    To be a mass tourist, for me,...is, in lines and gridlock and transaction after transaction, to confront a dimension of yourself that is as inescapable as it is painful: As a tourist, you become economically significant but existentially loathsome, an insect on a dead thing.
    David Foster Wallace, Consider the Lobster and Other Essays

    Kurt Vonnegut
    No matter how corrupt, greedy, and heartless our government, our corporations, our media, and our religious & charitable institutions may become, the music will still be wonderful.
    kurt vonnegut, A Man Without a Country

    More quotes...
    Non Fiction Book Club This group is for anyone who enjoys Non Fiction. Genres discussed here include Histories, Autobi…more
    1,965 members, last active an hour ago
    Welcome to the Youth Services Department of South Huntington Public Library. Find out what we're…more
    1 member, last active 14 days ago
    The History Book Club "Interested in history - then you have found the right group". The History Book Club is the lar…more
    17,312 members, last active 39 minutes ago
    Goodreads Reviewers' Group This group helps to bring Reviewers and Authors together! Reviewers can make their own thread to…more
    5,966 members, last active 9 minutes ago
    Nicholas
    4 chapters — updated Nov 28, 2011 08:27PM — 4 people liked it
    Wobots Don't Hold Baws
    8 chapters — updated Jul 27, 2010 12:49AM — 13 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: non-fiction, adult-non-fiction, adult-nonfiction, general---nonfiction, non-fic, non-fiction-books, nonfic, and nonfiction