Historical Romance

Historical romance (also historical novel) is a broad category of fiction in which the plot takes place in a setting located in the past. Walter Scott helped popularise this genre in the early 19th-century, with works such as Rob Roy and Ivanhoe. Literary fiction historical romances continue to be published, and a notable recent example is Wolf Hall (2009), a multi-award winning novel by English historical novelist Hilary Mantel. It is also a genre of mass-market fiction, which is related to the broader romantic love genre.

The terms "romance novel" and "historical romance" are ambiguous, becau
...more

The Second Mrs. Astor
Bombshell (Hell's Belles, #1)
Blind Tiger
The Riviera House
The Show Girl: A Novel
At Summer's End
Her Heart for a Compass
Miss Lattimore's Letter
The Merchant and the Rogue (The Dread Penny Society #3)
The Gold in These Hills
The Steal
Under the Bayou Moon
John Eyre: A Tale of Darkness and Shadow
I'm Only Wicked with You (The Palace of Rogues, #3)
To Write a Wrong (The Bleeker Street Inquiry Agency, #2)
The Carson City Bride (The Marshals Mail Order Brides, #1)
The Girls in the Attic
Duke of Knight (Gentlemen of Knights, #1)
The Skylark's Secret
To Be Wicked With You (League of Unweddable Gentlemen #4)
The Heart of an Earl (Box of Draupnir, #1)
Bringing Down the Duke (A League of Extraordinary Women, #1)
The Other Miss Bridgerton (Rokesbys, #3)
Take What You Can Carry
A Scot Mess (The Hots for Scots, #1)
Above the Bay of Angels
The Riviera House
The Captain's Confidant  (Larkhall Letters #2)
A Marriage Made in Devon (Noble Intentions, #1)
Honeysuckle Season
Beauty by Robin McKinleyLord of Scoundrels by Loretta ChaseBeastly by Alex FlinnWhen Beauty Tamed the Beast by Eloisa JamesLover Awakened by J.R. Ward
Beauty and the Beast
606 books — 1,887 voters
Dirty Headlines by L.J. ShenBlock Shot by Kennedy RyanThe Glue by K. WebsterWhen We Kiss by Tia LouisePerversion by T.M. Frazier
September 2018 Most-Anticipated Romances
148 books — 2,386 voters

The Twilight Saga by Stephenie MeyerFifty Shades of Grey by E.L. JamesThe Catcher in the Rye by J.D. SalingerEat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth GilbertTwilight by Stephenie Meyer
I Don't Understand All That Fuss
809 books — 2,426 voters
Pride and Prejudice by Jane AustenOutlander by Diana GabaldonDevil in Winter by Lisa KleypasJane Eyre by Charlotte BrontëGone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
Favorite Historical Romance Novels
3,212 books — 6,306 voters

Real by Katy EvansDriven by K. BrombergBully by Penelope DouglasCollide by Gail McHughBeautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren
Romance Debuts 2013
465 books — 4,144 voters

The Duke and I (Bridgertons, #1)
Devil in Winter (Wallflowers, #3)
The Viscount Who Loved Me (Bridgertons, #2)
Secrets of a Summer Night (Wallflowers, #1)
Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Bridgertons, #4)
Mine Till Midnight (The Hathaways, #1)
An Offer From a Gentleman (Bridgertons, #3)
It Happened One Autumn (Wallflowers, #2)
Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake (Love By Numbers, #1)
Scandal in Spring (Wallflowers, #4)
To Sir Phillip, With Love (Bridgertons, #5)
When He Was Wicked (Bridgertons, #6)
The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie (Mackenzies & McBrides, #1)
Tempt Me at Twilight (The Hathaways, #3)
Love in the Afternoon (The Hathaways, #5)

Related News

If you've already burned all the way through the Bridgertons series (both the books and the Netflix show) and find yourself still longing for...
Sylvia Day
I have wanted you for so long now,” he said roughly, “I’ve no memory of how it feels to be devoid of the craving. But you must know what you do. I need you to think of who you are and where you are and who I am. Think of how things will be once we’ve crossed this threshold. Think of how you will leave this cabin—disheveled and well fucked.
Sylvia Day, Seven Years to Sin

Tessa Dare
Would you like more sauce, sweeting?” His fingers strangled the stem of his wineglass. She could practically hear the grapes calling for help. She hoped that was a good sign. “If you don’t cease that nonsense,” he said, “you will regret it.” “Is that so, my heart?” “What about ‘precious’?” she suggested. “No.” “‘Angel’?” “God, no.” “‘Muffin’?” In response to that, he hit the shuttlecock so hard, it sailed all the way to the back wall and thwacked one of his ancestors right in the powdered wig. S ...more
Tessa Dare, The Duchess Deal

More quotes...
Heavenly Historians A group of history lovers from all around the world. We read and have discussions about historic…more
5 members, last active 2 months ago
Gotta Have Romance with a Kick Love J.R. Ward, Nora Roberts, Jeaniene Frost, Karen Marie Moning, Kristen Ashley, Lisa Kleypas …more
1,143 members, last active 15 minutes ago
1000 Lives Read 1000 Lives Read is a book club based on George R R Martin's quote: "A reader lives 1000 lived b…more
2 members, last active 53 days ago
Fans of Eloisa James & Julia Quinn With the Eloisa James & Julia Quinn Bulletin Board going dark next week, some of us from the boa…more
1,311 members, last active 4 hours ago
The Siren's Tale (Book 2 of Home Schooling trilogy)
1 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:36PM — 0 people liked it
The Trouble With Harry
1 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:34PM — 0 people liked it

Tags

Tags contributing to this page include: historical-romance, genre__historical_romance, genre-historical-romance, historical-romances, historicalromance, hr, romance-historical, romance-historique, romanzo-storico, tag--romance-historical, and tag-romance-historical