Adventure

Adventure fiction is a genre of fiction in which an adventure, an exciting undertaking involving risk and physical danger, forms the main storyline. Adventure novels and short stories were popular subjects for American pulp magazines, which dominated American popular fiction between the Progressive Era and the 1950s. Adventure fiction often overlaps with other genres, notably war novels, crime novels, sea stories, Robinsonades, spy stories (as in the works of John Buchan, Eric Ambler and Ian Fleming), science fiction, fantasy, (Robert E. Howard and J.R.R. Tolkien both combined the secondary wo ...more

Billy Summers
Nolyn (The Rise and Fall, #1)
The Guide
The Witch Haven
The Woods Are Always Watching
A Dance with the Fae Prince (Married to Magic, #2)
Breaking Badger (Honey Badger Chronicles, #4)
Getaway
Enola Holmes and the Black Barouche (Enola Holmes #7)
Forestborn (Forestborn, #1)
Paper & Blood (Ink & Sigil, #2)
There's a Hole in my Bucket: A Journey of Two Brothers
Maiden Voyages: Magnificent Ocean Liners and the Women Who Traveled and Worked Aboard Them
Dark Waters (Small Spaces, #3)
The Steal
Project Hail Mary
The President's Daughter
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)
Bloodless (Pendergast, #20)
The Traitor Queen (The Bridge Kingdom, #2)
The Forest of Vanishing Stars
West with Giraffes
Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King, #1)
Daughter of the Siren Queen (Daughter of the Pirate King, #2)
The Guide
Caraval (Caraval, #1)
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (The Hunger Games, #0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5)
Ready Player Two (Ready Player One, #2)
Great Circle
Divergent by Veronica RothThe Moon Dwellers by David EstesThe Maze Runner by James DashnerGraceling by Kristin CashoreUglies by Scott Westerfeld
If You Loved The Hunger Games
659 books — 1,541 voters
Jurassic Park by Michael CrichtonThe Hobbit, or There and Back Again by J.R.R. TolkienThe Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsThe Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. TolkienThe Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown
Best Action-Adventure Novels
2,117 books — 2,966 voters

Una Historia de Ayer by Sergio CoboSecrets of the Realm by Bev StoutThe Outlands by Tyler EdwardsDark Demands by Nell HendersonLost In Time by Bridgitte Lesley
Indie/Self-Published Books
3,207 books — 2,227 voters
The Kite Runner by Khaled HosseiniMemoirs of a Geisha by Arthur GoldenA Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled HosseiniThe Book Thief by Markus ZusakLife of Pi by Yann Martel
Foreign Lands
2,153 books — 2,619 voters

Soulless by Gail CarrigerThe Iron Duke by Meljean BrookClockwork Angel by Cassandra ClareChangeless by Gail CarrigerBlameless by Gail Carriger
Steampunk/Romance
356 books — 938 voters
The Zombie Room by R.D. RonaldOne Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest by Ken KeseyThe Elephant Tree by R.D. RonaldInvisible Monsters by Chuck PalahniukThe Wasp Factory by Iain Banks
Beach Reads - Mysteries & Thrillers
1,197 books — 1,467 voters

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
The Hobbit, or There and Back Again
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)
Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)
Treasure Island
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6)
The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, #1)
The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2)

Jack Kerouac
What is that feeling when you're driving away from people and they recede on the plain till you see their specks dispersing? - it's the too-huge world vaulting us, and it's good-bye. But we lean forward to the next crazy venture beneath the skies. ...more
Jack Kerouac, On the Road

J.R.R. Tolkien
I am looking for someone to share in an adventure that I am arranging, and it's very difficult to find anyone.' I should think so — in these parts! We are plain quiet folk and have no use for adventures. Nasty disturbing uncomfortable things! Make you late for dinner! ...more
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit, or There and Back Again

More quotes...
World, Writing, Wealth Friends, would you care to partake in a learned discussion of current events, the global economy…more
3,395 members, last active 20 minutes ago
Books by Erin Reese Discussion Group A book discussion group for readers of Erin Reese's books, Truth Seeker: A Spiritual Adventure o…more
2 members, last active 4 months ago
Fantasy/Adventure/Sci Fi BOOK GROUP A group to recommend and talk about FANTASY, ADVENTURE, and SCI FI books! Join the group!
5 members, last active 2 months ago
EVERYONE Has Read This but Me - The Catch-Up Book Club Click HERE for the latest group announcements. "It reminded me of ____ but in space." "I re…more
19,704 members, last active 2 hours ago
The Shadows
37 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:33PM — 261 people liked it
The Invisibles (The Invisibles #1)-Finished
70 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:36PM — 0 people liked it

Tags

Tags contributing to this page include: adventure, fiction-adventure, and przygodowe