Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Megalopolis: And the Visitor from Outer Space” as Want to Read:
Megalopolis: And the Visitor from Outer Space
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Megalopolis: And the Visitor from Outer Space

4.40  ·  Rating details ·  48 ratings  ·  7 reviews
For centuries, the wondrous imaginary city of Megalopolis has attracted visitors from all over the world. Then one day, a strange visitor arrives from another galaxy, and everything changes. He tours the zoo, meets the mayor at City Hall, enjoys a parade, and eventually meets a mermaid and falls in love. Readers will delight in a book which unfolds from thirty-eight pages ...more
Hardcover, 38 pages
Published May 10th 2016 by Thames Hudson (first published May 9th 2016)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Megalopolis, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Megalopolis

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-7
Average rating 4.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  48 ratings  ·  7 reviews


Sort order
Start your review of Megalopolis: And the Visitor from Outer Space
Gail Cooke
Jun 01, 2016 rated it it was amazing
When most of us hear the word megalopolis we think of a large densely populated city. Well, from now on when we hear Megalopolis many may think of this incredibly illustrated book that will totally captivate young readers. Kudos to illustrator Clea Dieudonne for providing hours of pleasure for youngsters and in all probability adults as well.

Megalopolis and the Visitor from Outer Space arrives in a handsome hardcover measuring approximately 9 by 12 inches - looks innocuous. However it is an
...more
Lisa Pett
May 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: childrens
I work in a library and checked this out from another library. It came incorrectly folded (easy to do) so my coworkers and I had to sort it out how to read the book while looking at the gorgeously intricate illustrations.

We ended up watching a YouTube video (in Chinese) to figure out how to read this French illustrator's book in English. (Whew!)

It's so unique and beautiful that I have to give it 4 stars. For fans of "I Spy" or "Where's Waldo" there are probably hours of fun finding the numerous,
...more
Mathew
Opening out, vertically, to a whopping three metres this concertina-styled story is one that unfurls as you turn over the pages. On one side of the book is the story, a few bright and bold sentences which ask the reader to look carefully at the corresponding picture on the opposite side. It's very cleverly done and although the story is not deep (it isn't out to be deep), the way that the city of Megalopolis opens up and the story, in a cumulative fashion, continues is so clever. The whole ...more
Trish
Aug 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: je, 2019
This is a cool book that folds out into a long picture.
Kathleen
Sep 22, 2016 rated it really liked it
Cute, if a bit gimmicky! Good for people who like search-and-find picturebooks. I had to spread it out on the floor to get the picture! The story ended too abruptly for my taste, but really, it's all about the art.
Jesse Richards
Jun 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Stunningly beautiful.
Tara
Jul 19, 2016 rated it really liked it
Easily one of the most bizarre picture books that I have ever read.
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Escort (Three Tales of a Silver Fox)
  • The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century
  • Out
See similar books…