Cory’s review of Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #1) > Likes and Comments

193 likes · 
Comments (showing 1-50 of 119) (119 new)    post a comment »

message 1: by AH (new)

AH You got me at your use of the word alliteration. Awesome.


message 2: by Cory (new)

Cory AH wrote: "You got me at your use of the word alliteration. Awesome."

Thank you :D


message 3: by Vinaya (new)

Vinaya Cory hw cud u be so mean abt an awsum buk like Shiver? if u dint lyk it u shud just keep it 2 urself n nt say nasty thngs abt a buk u dnt even rmembr!

... did I get it right? Did I get it right? Am I real troll, Mommy?


message 4: by Cory (new)

Cory Vinaya wrote: "Cory hw cud u be so mean abt an awsum buk like Shiver? if u dint lyk it u shud just keep it 2 urself n nt say nasty thngs abt a buk u dnt even rmembr!

... did I get it right? Did I get it right? A..."


Very well. You get an A in Troll 101.


message 5: by Brandi ;) (new)

Brandi ;) LOL! I love it!!! Perfect review :)
I read this book before reading any reviews and I too hated it. It was a struggle to get through, I think my eyes almost got stuck in the back of my head from rolling them SO much.
Everyone is entitled to an opinion, that's what makes this world interesting. We don't have to all agree with each others opinions or even like them.
I happen to LOVE your opinion Cory on this waste of good trees, er.. I mean book.


message 6: by I am Bastet (new)

I am Bastet Love the review, with quotes from the text no less to prove your points. Also, love the carrot-on-a-stick you left up there for the trolls... I hope they come flocking!

Honestly, I could not get two pages into this book. Part of the reason was that I heard about it SO MUCH, about HOW GREAT IT WAS, that I just could not believe something in which a boy tries to EAT a girl as a wolf could possibly be that good. Plus the writing... oy, it was most of the reason I couldn't get past page three.

This has sold so big why exactly?


message 7: by Cory (new)

Cory Brandi ;) wrote: "LOL! I love it!!! Perfect review :)
I read this book before reading any reviews and I too hated it. It was a struggle to get through, I think my eyes almost got stuck in the back of my head from ..."


@Brandi: Thanks a million. When I first read it, I wondered if it was just me who hated it. And yes, this is a huge waste of trees. Just think of all the animals that lost their homes because of this book. And Steifvater claims to love wolves.


message 8: by Cory (new)

Cory Lindsey wrote: "Now see, I LOVE this review. You used examples and totally proved your points! I'm jealous I want to write reviews this good LOL"

Just find a book you really hate. It's funny, because my negative reviews get a lot more attention than my positive reviews.


message 9: by Cory (last edited Feb 15, 2011 02:19PM) (new)

Cory Isis wrote: "Love the review, with quotes from the text no less to prove your points. Also, love the carrot-on-a-stick you left up there for the trolls... I hope they come flocking!

Honestly, I could not get t..."


I think the artificial hype made this so bad. And the fact that the majority of people will read just about anything. Thankfully, I did not spend one cent on this book. And I couldn't get past page three either. I skimmed. Thank god for skimming.


message 10: by I am Bastet (new)

I am Bastet I may take to skimming it relatively soon so I can see how much I hate it...


message 11: by AH (last edited Feb 15, 2011 02:22PM) (new)

AH Isis wrote: "I may take to skimming it relatively soon so I can see how much I hate it..."

Me too! I am very curious now. Maybe I'll write a glowing review, LOL. I am finding that I have less and less patience for YA books.


message 12: by Joyzi (new)

Joyzi Haha I love you Cory


message 13: by Lucy (new)

Lucy Great review, excellent breakdown. The way Grace treated Isabelle and Jack always pissed me off. I bet MS is regretting that leaky womb business.


message 14: by Cory (new)

Cory Lucy wrote: "Great review, excellent breakdown. The way Grace treated Isabelle and Jack always pissed me off. I bet MS is regretting that leaky womb business."

I hope so. It ruined the book for me. That, and his horrible songs and poetry.

@Joyzi: :D


message 15: by Ceilidh (new)

Ceilidh Great review! Grace's selfishness bugged me so much. The entire concept of single minded, all consuming, obsessive love for a freaking teenager just annoys me in general. Not to say there can't be good teen romances because they do exist but having it be the be all and end all of a teenage girl's life worries me. The leaking womb bit made me O_O harder than I had ever done in my entire life.


message 16: by Lucy (new)

Lucy The songs were the worst. It was like watching a comedy where you were too embarrased for the main character to keep watching.

This might be a weird complaint, but you remember the scene where they go to the candy store on their first date? The little vapid clerk telling them the world needed more love at first sight made me want to rip my teeth with a spoon just so that the pain would come to the surface. I can't even put my finger on why it bothered me, except maybe that it was an attempt on outside validation of the relationship which was totally built in a closed off loop.


message 17: by Cory (last edited Feb 22, 2011 03:25PM) (new)

Cory @Ceilidh: I didn't even believe he said leaky womb until I read it. I was reading the reviews and I was like, no way. What guy would ever say that, let alone what person?

@Lucy: That bothered me too. It's like her brain was turned off when she wrote that scene. Love at first sight is lust. Unless I'm mistaken. But I've always thought Sam was better with Grace's mom anyway. Weird, but true.


message 18: by Lucy (last edited Feb 22, 2011 11:07AM) (new)

Lucy Did you read the second one where Grace's absentee parents suddenly sit up and disapprove of Sam? As a plot device I get why an author might be tempted to give absent parents. It gives them more freedom even if it's completely lazy and short-sighted. I dislike the absentee parents gambit. I hate the paternal flip-flop Grace's parents undergo just to give their romance a more Romeo and Juliet quality.


message 19: by [deleted user] (last edited Feb 22, 2011 10:40AM) (new)

Ok, I have some questions. I don't mean any of these to like say at all that the book is good or anything. I have not read the book and I really don't think I want to lol.

But I know that personally as a teenager I was selfish as all hell! I didn't listen to my parents at all, I had two obsessive love interests in high school that I wrote HORRIBLE poetry about <---- I can admit it is horrible now LOL!

I didn't have absentee parents though, they were in a constant state of trying to point me in the right direction which I of course ignored as a really rebellious teen (It wasn't a drug thing I was an athlete, so my rebellion didn't go towards drugs just not listening and staying out to late).

So technically, isn't their behavior accurate in this book? Is it the fact that she just wrote it poorly and one sided that makes this book crap? Because I personally see most teenagers as self absorbed asses. There are exceptions to the rule of course as in everything but for the most part they are pretty stupid lol


message 20: by AH (new)

AH I haven't read the book Lindsey but the absentee parent story line is often found in YA novels. I have teenage boys and there is no way that they would be allowed to bring girls into their rooms and have privacy (yes, I am well aware that when there is a will there is a way but I am not going to make it easier under my watch). So often you see a story where the girl and boy will be in the girl's bedroom and the parents won't say a thing. Now, these books are geared at teenagers. I wouldn't want a teenager thinking that was the norm, because I don't believe it is.

Here are some examples - The Body Finder - Jay practically lives at the girl's house, even takes showers there.

Twilight - Edward is in Bella's bedroom at night

Beautiful Creatures - Lena does have a creepy family, but Ethan is in her room.

Evermore - No parents, just an aunt who is never home.

I had started a thread about this in one of the YA discussion groups last year. The authors that commented said that the absentee parent makes the story progress...


message 21: by Cory (new)

Cory @Lucy: Nope, I haven't read Linger. I don't think I could force myself to either. I can't believe they have a flip out. Like Charlie and Edward. It's so stupid.

@Lindsey: Their behavior isn't believable to me. I think it's the way that she wrote it. I'm in the middle of finishing a novel right now, and I have a guy character that's totally obsessed with his love interest. And he writes horrible poetry.

But he doesn't come off as a self-obsessed ass. I think that's the problem with Steivater. Her characters weren't believable to me because I wasn't able to empathize with them.

Sure, teenagers are self-obsessed, or at least some of them are. But who wants to read a book about them being self obsessed jerks? I think Barry Lyga, John Green, and CK Kelly Martin do a much better job making their teens sound and act like teens, without making them come off like jerks.

Btw, I'm sure your poetry wasn't as bad as Sams. And I hope I answered your question. :D


message 22: by Cory (new)

Cory Complete agreement AH. It's sort of weird, but along with the stalking and the complete a-hole attitudes, there's a lot YA boys are allowed to get away with.

Lindsey, a book on your life would probably be heaps more interesting than Shiver. I love family/parental conflict when it's done properly. And I hate weak or shallow parent caricatures.


message 23: by Lucy (last edited Feb 22, 2011 11:21AM) (new)

Lucy @AH great examples of absentee parent hooks. I've got a ton of others.

Hush, Hush has a single working mother who took a job involving a lot of plot convenient travel even though she has a teenage daughter. Marginally compensated for by a housekeeper who has been fired by the second book.

Rampant is basically a lot of teenage girls roaming around Italy with one guy in his mid-twenties functioning as a chaperon.

City of Bones the single working mother spends all but the first few chapters of the first book and the last few chapters of the third book in a coma. Comas! Useful for putting your character's parents on a time out.

Lindsey/Cory: Cory's got a great list of YA authors who make likable self-obsessed characters, but I don't even think self-obsessed qualifies for describing Grace so much as off her rocker. What we see from Grace is an almost pathological lack of empathy for people on two legs. Before Grace even knows the wolves are actually people she places a large value on their lives over the life of a dead classmate. Yeah, Jack was an assface, but he got attacked by wolves and died a painful death -- a death Grace almost suffered from too. You'd think her empathy would be with Jack and Jack's family. I didn't see a self-centered teenager I could connect to. I saw someone with a personality disorder. It was very 'how do you think a pack of animals actively hunting people needs your protection when they've already mauled your ass... oh well maybe they'll snuff you this time. Go Shelby!'


message 24: by Lucy (new)

Lucy I once read that Suzanne Collines wrote the first 50 pages of the Hunger Games in both first person and third to see which worked best. That is dedication. I'd love to see some YA writers do the first 50 pages with parents before disposing of them. I get the feeling most of them start a novel and go 'hmmm these pesky parents. I'll make one dead from years past that way there's only one for me to dance around.'

Also, I couldn't possibly say it better than this author:
"Lots of kids in books are only-child orphans, but I think it’s fun to have family as part of the adventure, to have familial love be as important as romantic love, and to show that love can go through fire and darkness - not unchanged, because experiences like that change everyone - but never faltering"
— Sarah Rees Brennan


message 25: by Sandy (new)

Sandy Stellar review. I loathed Shiver and its purple-prose-vomit sister, Linger.

These books are just overflowing with overwrought, melodramatic writing and plot chasms.

Sam is SO annoyingly emo through every book, and Grace only gets more selfish.


message 26: by Cory (new)

Cory All of you guys couldn't have said it better. Especially your point about Grace, Lucy.

And thank you Sandy.

And Lindsey, I've read Blue Bloods too. It was a total let down. The name dropping really bothered me.


message 27: by Vinaya (new)

Vinaya Lol, that really gets to me too! Like Kit Marlowe from (I think) Karen Chance's novels, and a bunch of these other vamp novels. I'm just like, dude they're DEAD, can we stop making them UNdead and let them rest in peace?! :)


message 28: by AH (new)

AH I got up to the 5th Blue Bloods book and it was a sleeper. I felt that by that book she should have tied up all the loose ends and finished the series. But no. I'm done with that series. Can't do it any more.


message 29: by Lucy (new)

Lucy I gave up after book 3? I don't know how old I was when I started Blue Bloods but if I started int now I'd probably kill it at the point where they started modeling.


message 30: by AH (new)

AH I liked the concept at first. I stuck through the first 4 and didn't mind the story. The 5th book was dullsville for me.


message 31: by Cory (new)

Cory I gave up on Blue Bloods when Mimi and Jack realized they didn't want to be matched, or whatever it was. I mean, twincest is just weird but I hate Schyuler more than I hate the idea of Mimi being happy. And god do I hate Jack.

I wish this series focused on Mimi and Kingsley because everyone else puts me to sleep.


message 32: by Lucy (new)

Lucy I think Blue Bloods was worlds less entertaining for me because I am from NYC. No one pay as much attention to the much lauded society pages of the New York Times as YA fiction and Gossip Girl would have you believe.


message 33: by Cory (new)

Cory I figured as much Lucy. It felt like I was reading the CliffNotes to the Devil Wears Prada, only with vampires.


message 34: by Lucy (last edited Feb 23, 2011 07:52AM) (new)

Lucy I'm going to end up re-reading the Blue Bloods books to see if the world building is as bad as I remember. I love goodreads, but sometimes she hurts me.

EDIT ohgawd that makes goodreads my paranormal YA romance unhuman soulmate.


message 35: by Cory (new)

Cory And she's cheating on you with 2000 other people. Ooh, that's low. Even for her.


message 36: by Ceilidh (new)

Ceilidh I didn't hate the first Blue Bloods book, I just thought it was a good idea run into the ground with cliches and questionable moments (15 year old girls doing topless photoshoots? Seriously?). I also hated the constant name dropping of brands and whatever was current just to make it seem more 'authentic' for teenagers, which if failed spectacularly in doing. I liked the mythos though, it was unique and I liked the incorporation of historical events, but there was too much time devoted to brand name dropping and cheap Gossip Girl riffs for me to care. It also isn't a good sign when you're favourite character is the bitchy female antagonist and the bitchy cold grandmother.


message 37: by Cory (new)

Cory Ceilidh wrote: "I didn't hate the first Blue Bloods book, I just thought it was a good idea run into the ground with cliches and questionable moments (15 year old girls doing topless photoshoots? Seriously?). I al..."

All very true. And of course the grandmother had to die, leaving us with more reasons for Schyluer to angst. How far did you get in the series? I made it to book five till I gave up.


message 38: by AH (new)

AH Book 5 should have been the last book in that series. It was a whole lot of nothing happening.


message 39: by Ceilidh (new)

Ceilidh I only read the first book, it was part of my original review project (I belive it was the 2nd book I reviewed IIRC.) I gave it credit for originality but why create a genuinely unique and interesting mythos if all you want to talk about is fads and designer jeans? How many books are supposed to be in the series?


message 40: by AH (new)

AH I was surprised to see that there were about 9 or 10 books planned.


message 41: by Lucy (new)

Lucy 9 or 10? Even packaged books end eventually. Although I guess the fact that they're not 400+ page tomes gives people the idea to serialize.


message 42: by AH (new)

AH I don't mind serialized books, however, there is a time when a series should end. End it on the high notes. Don't drive it to the ground milking every penny out of it. Some series can go on and on and still be successful. Others just need to end.


message 43: by Lucy (last edited Feb 24, 2011 05:11AM) (new)

Lucy I haven't found a long lasting YA serial that I've loved (maybe the Everworld books but I'm too afraid rereading will equal the death of a pleasant memory). I do, however, have a lot of respect for the woman who wrote the Traveling Pants books. She ended it where she felt it needed to be ended and tied it up in a way where the packaging company couldn't just snag a ghost writer to continue them. It's hard for any writer to walk away from a steady paycheck they get for doing something they've loved.


message 44: by AH (new)

AH I understand that but there are plenty of examples of authors ending their series well - Harry Potter - the kids grew up and got married. There are still opportunities to continue writing, maybe about Harry's kids, but the series ended on a high note. Shadowfever is another example of a 5 book series that ended on a high note, but left the reader wanting more. Leave them wanting more is my motto.


message 45: by Lyndsey (new)

Lyndsey Yeah. Some series get better as they go but a lot of them get worse. Case in point, the Study series. And as much as I LOVE Indiana Jones, they just NEVER should have made that last movie.


message 46: by Cory (new)

Cory The study series got really, really bad. I didn't think it could worse after Magic Study. Then Fires Study came along. The Animorphs was 55 books long. It's middle grade, but it wasn't that bad. Books 30-50 were ghost written though, so your mileage may vary.


message 47: by Lyndsey (last edited Feb 24, 2011 07:05AM) (new)

Lyndsey Still. One author wrote the first 30 books? Even if they are short, that's a lot of time to spend in one series. And Sue Grafton and her Alphabet series. GEEZ. I haven't read any of them but even if I was a fan of her books, I imagine I'd get bored with after the first few in the series. But I'm not much for looooong series. 6 or 7 is usually enough for me. Harry Potter and Fever both had ideal length and story-arch for me.


message 48: by Cory (new)

Cory There are only around 15 out of those that are really good. I think one came out every 3 months. But it was like a Goosebumps thing.

I agree though.I'd rather have 7 really good books than 30 so-so books, 10 really bad books, and 15 good ones. It ruins series credibility. K.A Applegate's husband is Michael Grant, who wrote Gone btw. Has anyone read that?


message 49: by Tatiana (last edited Feb 24, 2011 07:17AM) (new)

Tatiana I have read the 1st Gone book. Not bad, although I don't feel particularly compelled to continue on with that series.

And 7 books seems like a good cut-off for any series. All longer ones run out of steam and end up killing the whole experience eventually.


message 50: by Lyndsey (last edited Feb 24, 2011 07:24AM) (new)

Lyndsey I think some authors need to realize that after so long with the same events and characters, things start to feel over done. It's not that we are tired of the world or characters. Just the circumstances and the recycling of them. Just because we are over the series, doesn't mean we are over the world within it.

I LOVE spin-offs. I think the key is knowing when you have something good. Like why in the world wasn't there an Ari and Janco spin-off series or at least stand alone book? They were a gold mine in the Study books.


« previous 1 3
back to top