Books similar to The Beauty Myth

The Beauty Myth
3.91 avg. rating
· 15469 Ratings
The bestselling classic that redefined our view of the relationship between beauty and female identity. In today's world, women have more power, legal recognition, and professional success than ever…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Manifesta: Young Women, Feminism, and the Future
A powerful indictment from within of the current state of feminism, and a passionate call to arms

From Lilith Fair to Buffy the Vampire Slayer to the WNBA--everywhere you look, girl culture is clearly…
Rate it:
Backlash: The Undeclared War Against American Women
Skillfully Probing the Attack on Women’s Rights

“Opting-out,” “security moms,” “desperate housewives,” “the new baby fever”—the trend stories of 2006 leave no doubt that American women are still being…
Rate it:
Yes Means Yes!: Visions of Female Sexual Power and A World Without Rape
In this groundbreaking new look at rape edited by writer and activist Jaclyn Friedman and Full Frontal Feminism and He’s A Stud, She’s A Slut author Jessica Valenti, the way we view rape in our cultu…
Rate it:
Against Our Will: Men, Women and Rape
"The most comprehensive study of rape ever offered to the public...It forces readers to take a fresh look at their own attitudes toward this devastating crime." -NEWSWEEK

As powerful and timely now as…
Rate it:
The Body Project: An Intimate History of American Girls
"Timely and sympathetic . . . a work of impassioned advocacy."         --People

A hundred years ago, women were lacing themselves into corsets and teaching their daughters to do the same. The ideal of…
Rate it:
Unbearable Weight: Feminism, Western Culture, and the Body
"Unbearable Weight is brilliant. From an immensely knowledgeable feminist perspective, in engaging, jargonless (!) prose, Bordo analyzes a whole range of issues connected to the body—weight and weigh…
Rate it:
Fat Is a Feminist Issue
3.75 avg. rating
· 1586 Ratings
When it was first published, Fat Is A Feminist Issue became an instant classic and it is as relevant today as it was then. Reflecting on our increasingly diet and body-obsessed society, Susie Orbach'…
Rate it:
He's a Stud, She's a Slut, and 49 Other Double Standards Every Woman Should Know
Double standards are nothing new. Women deal with them every day. Take the common truism that women who sleep around are sluts while men are studs. Why is it that men grow distinguished and sexily gr…
Rate it:
Bitchfest: Ten Years of Cultural Criticism from the Pages of Bitch Magazine
In the wake of Sassy and as an alternative to the more staid reporting of Ms. Magazine, Bitch was launched in the mid-nineties as a Xerox-and-staple zine covering the landscape of popular culture fro…
Rate it:
How the Pro-Choice Movement Saved America: Freedom, Politics, and the War on Sex
With a new preface by the author. In the tradition of Backlash and The Morning After, and in a political climate where Roe v. Wade is in serious jeopardy, a young activist reveals that the Pro-Life M…
Rate it:
Bitches, Bimbos, and Ballbreakers: The Guerrilla Girls' Illustrated Guide to Female Stereotypes
Whatever life a woman leads, from biker chick to society girl, there's a stereotype she'll have to live down. The Guerrilla Girls, notorious for their outrageous take on women's issues, now tackle th…
Rate it:
Enlightened Sexism: The Seductive Message That Feminism's Work Is Done
From the author of Where the Girls Are, a sharp and irreverent critique of how women are portrayed in today's popular culture

Women today are inundated with conflicting messages from the mass media: t…
Rate it:
Can't Buy My Love: How Advertising Changes the Way We Think and Feel
Many advertisements these days make us feel as if we have an intimate, even passionate relationship with a product. But as Jean Kilbourne points out in this fascinating and shocking expose, the dream…
Rate it:
Listen Up: Voices From the Next Feminist Generation
Exploring and revealing the lives of today's young feminists--the Third Wave--a collection of essays by thirty diverse members of the twenty-something generation covers a wide range of topics includi…
Rate it:
Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions
Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions--a phenomenal success that sold nearly half a million copies since its original publication in 1983--is Gloria Steinem's most diverse and timeless collection o…
Rate it:
Click: When We Knew We Were Feminists
When did you know you were a feminist? Whether it happened at school, at work, while watching TV, or reading a book, many of us can point to a particular moment when we knew we were feminists. In Cli…
Rate it:
For Her Own Good: Two Centuries of the Experts' Advice to Women
First published in 1978, this classic history, now revised and updated, brilliantly exposes the constraints imposed on women in the name of science. Authors Barbara Ehrenreich and Deirdre English hav…
Rate it:
Body Outlaws: Rewriting the Rules of Beauty and Body Image
Pick up a magazine, turn on the TV, and you'll find few women who haven't been fried, dyed, plucked, or tucked. In short, you'll see no body outlaws.
The writers in this groundbreaking anthology reve…
Rate it:
Mismeasure of Woman: Why Women Are Not the Better Sex, the Inferior Sex, or the Opposite Sex
When "man is the measure of all things," woman is forever trying to measure up. In this enlightening book, Carol Tavris unmasks the widespread but invisible custom -- pervasive in the social sciences…
Rate it:
Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture
Meet the Female Chauvinist Pig – the new brand of "empowered woman" who embraces "raunch culture" wherever she finds it. In her groundbreaking book, New York magazine writer Ariel Levy argues that, i…
Rate it:
Transforming a Rape Culture
4.35 avg. rating
· 573 Ratings
First published in 1993, Transforming a Rape Culture has provided a new understanding of sexual violence and its origins in this culture. This groundbreaking work seeks nothing less than fundamental…
Rate it:
Jane Sexes It Up: True Confessions of Feminist Desire
In Jane Sexes It Up, 20 young, progressive feminists reflect on the limitations they think are imposed by establishment feminism on their bodies and their behavior. In these essays, headed up by edit…
Rate it:
Pink Think: Becoming a Woman in Many Uneasy Lessons
Deluged by persuasive advertisements and meticulous (though often misguided) advice experts, women from the 1940s to the 1970s were coaxed to "think pink" when they thought of what it meant to be a w…
Rate it: