Books similar to Unseen Body Blows: The "Fighting LST 479" and its Seven Pacific Campaigns, 1943-1945

Unseen Body Blows: The "Fighting LST 479" and its Seven Pacific Campaigns, 1943-1945
Between 1942 and 1945, 1,051 amphibious tank-landing ships were rapidly produced. These were anonymous vessels, slow and unwieldy, and in the words of one crewmember, they looked like bathtubs. At…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Grace
4.20 avg. rating
· 20 Ratings
"We're all flawed and confronted daily with sometimes slight but often apparently insurmountable challenges. But if we dig deep, what we unearth from the depths of our souls, if we're lucky, can…
Rate it:
King Clown
4.45 avg. rating
· 73 Ratings
Adam Stern is a sixty-four-year-old husband, father, and architect whose dad passes away and leaves Adam nothing but a shoe box containing four strange and seemingly worthless items. There is a brass…
Rate it:
The Fire and the Darkness: The Bombing of Dresden, 1945
A gripping work of narrative nonfiction recounting the history of the Dresden Bombing, one of the most devastating attacks of World War II.

On February 13th, 1945 at 10:03 PM, British bombers began…
Rate it:
No Bad Deed
3.87 avg. rating
· 224 Ratings
Packed with the electrifying pacing and pulse-pounding suspense of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, a thrilling debut about a mother desperate to find the connections between her missing husband and a…
Rate it:
Last Day
3.60 avg. rating
· 1879 Ratings
From celebrated New York Times bestselling author Luanne Rice comes a riveting story of a seaside community shaken by a violent crime and a tragic loss.

Years ago, Beth Lathrop and her sister Kate…
Rate it:
The UnAmerican Dream
4.50 avg. rating
· 6 Ratings
What is the real price of our modern, hustle-all-all-cost business culture? Something terrible has happened to the American Dream. For so many entrepreneurs and professionals, the relentless pursuit…
Rate it:
Cardiac Arrest: Five Heart-Stopping Years as a CEO On the Feds' Hit-List
Who polices America's prosecutors? And when they set their sights on an innocent CEO, can he survive a 5-year, $25 million legal labyrinth to save the company he built, and himself from prison?…
Rate it:
The Virtual Talent Scout (World Football Domination #1)

It's 2050 and the renaissance of football (soccer) thinking has just begun.

This is the first installment of a football science fiction journey shared by two countries from opposite ends of the…

Rate it:
We Will Rise: A True Story of Tragedy and Resurrection in the American Heartland
The inspiring true story of the tragic loss and triumphant resurrection of a basketball team and its coach at the heart of a small Indiana town.

By 1977 the University of Evansville’s Purple Aces…
Rate it:
Stop Random Acts of Marketing: Deliberate & Practical Growth Strategies for Mid-Market CEOs
Many mid-market companies in today's digital era lack a comprehensive growth plan. They launch sales initiatives that are reactive and ineffective, not supported by solid marketing plans, lack KPIs,…
Rate it:
Denali: A Man, a Dog, and the Friendship of a Lifetime
The story of a dog, his human, and the friendship that saved both of their lives.

When Ben Moon moved from the Midwest to Oregon, he hadn't planned on getting a dog. But when he first met the soulful…
Rate it:
But I'm Not An Expert!: Go from newbie to expert and radically skyrocket your influence without feeling like a fraud
How are some solopreneurs able tocommand attention?

How do some become experts, while others fade into the background as simply white noise?

How do you stop feeling like an imposter or fraud when you…
Rate it:
The Startup Playbook: Founder-to-Founder Advice From Two Startup Veterans
Nine out of ten startups fail.

It’s the statistic most frequently ignored by first-time entrepreneurs because they think their idea is better, their target market is bigger, or they’ll just work…
Rate it:
Quit Like a Woman: The Radical Choice to Not Drink in a Culture Obsessed with Alcohol
The founder of a female-focused recovery program offers a radical new path to sobriety.

“You don’t know how much you need this book, or maybe you do. Either way, it will save your life.”—Melissa…
Rate it:
Harvest the Vote: How Democrats Can Win Again in Rural America
From Democratic Party rising star Jane Kleeb, an urgent and stirring road map showing how the Democratic Party can, and should, engage rural America

The Democratic Party has lost an entire generation…
Rate it:
American Rebels: How the Hancock, Adams, and Quincy Families Fanned the Flames of Revolution
Nina Sankovitch's American Rebels explores, for the first time, the intertwined lives of the Hancock, Quincy, and Adams families, and the role each person played in sparking the American Revolution.

Rate it:
How to Get Successful by F*cking Up Your Life: Essays on Addiction and Recovery
From THE NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of BY SOME MIRACLE I MADE IT OUT OF THERE and PARTY GIRL comes an uproarious and gritty read which shows that no matter how dark it gets, the light can…
Rate it:
Code Red: How Progressives and Moderates Can Unite to Save Our Country
Rate it:
The Oysterville Sewing Circle
3.83 avg. rating
· 3874 Ratings
The #1 New York Times bestselling author brings us her most ambitious and provocative work yet—a searing and timely novel that explores the most volatile issue of our time—domestic violence.

At the…
Rate it:
Arcadia
4.62 avg. rating
· 97 Ratings
It's a chilling fact that suicide is today's number two cause of death for young people. Arcadia is a story about suicide, but it's also a story about life. This is the fascinating tale of a suicidal…
Rate it:
Follow Me
3.93 avg. rating
· 162 Ratings
From the author of Are You Sleeping—soon to be an Apple TV series—comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’s You.

Everyone wants…
Rate it:
Bloodline and Wine (Dana Pierson Book 2)
A new novel from the author of THE WOMAN WHO HEARD COLOR and LOST AND FOUND IN PRAGUE. Dana Pierson, an American journalist, and Father Giovanni Borelli, an Italian priest, are introduced to readers…
Rate it:
Avocado Mustache
4.67 avg. rating
· 3 Ratings
Mealtime with baby can be messy, fun and downright hilarious! Introduce foodies of all ages to this delightfully silly book.
Rate it:
The Resisters
3.76 avg. rating
· 148 Ratings
An audacious marvel of a novel about baseball and a future America, from the always inventive and exciting author of The Love Wife and Who's Irish

The time: a not-so-distant future. The place:…
Rate it:
The Black Book
4.52 avg. rating
· 107 Ratings
A new edition of the classic New York Times bestseller edited by Toni Morrison, offering an encyclopedic look at the black experience in America from 1619 through the 1940s with the original cover…
Rate it:
The God Game
3.88 avg. rating
· 1496 Ratings
You are invited!
Come inside and play with G.O.D.
Bring your friends!
It’s fun!
But remember the rules. Win and ALL YOUR DREAMS COME TRUE. Lose, you die!


With those words, Charlie and his friends enter…
Rate it:
The Firsts: The Women Who Shook Capitol Hill
A lively, behind-the-scenes look at the historic cohort of diverse, young, and groundbreaking women newly elected to the House of Representatives in 2018 as they arrive in Washington, D.C., and start…
Rate it:
La Petite Mort
4.50 avg. rating
· 10 Ratings
After the death of her estranged grandmother, Marisa Marrero finds herself bequeathed a surprising inheritance: a house in the New Orleans French Quarter, left to her with a variety of bizarre…
Rate it:
Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights
From award-winning author Karen Blumenthal, comes a deep and passionate look at the riveting history of the fight for reproductive rights in the United States.

Tracing the path to the landmark…
Rate it:
Long Way Home
3.79 avg. rating
· 339 Ratings
From the scion of Hollywood royalty--son of Michael Douglas, grandson of Kirk Douglas--a moving, often shocking, ultimately inspiring memoir detailing his struggle to regain his dignity, humanity,…
Rate it: