Books similar to The Boy With the Butterfly Mind

The Boy With the Butterfly Mind
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
The Deepest Breath
4.65 avg. rating
· 94 Ratings
Stevie is eleven and loves reading and sea-creatures. She lives with her mum, and she's been best friends with Andrew since forever. Stevie's mum teases her that someday they'll get married, but…
Rate it:
How High the Moon
4.05 avg. rating
· 453 Ratings
To Kill a Mockingbird meets One Crazy Summer in this powerful, bittersweet debut about one girl's journey to reconnect with her mother and learn the truth about her father in the tumultuous times of…
Rate it:
High-rise Mystery
4.09 avg. rating
· 128 Ratings
The detective duo everyone is dying to meet!

Summer in London is hot, the hottest on record, and there's been a murder in THE TRI: the high-rise home to resident know-it-alls, Nik and Norva. Who…
Rate it:
The Million Pieces of Neena Gill
3.90 avg. rating
· 183 Ratings
How can I hold myself together, when everything around me is falling apart?

Neena's always been a good girl - great grades, parent-approved friends and absolutely no boyfriends. But ever since her…
Rate it:
Gribblebob's Book of Unpleasant Goblins

“Do you believe in goblins and fairies and dragons and all that malarkey?”
“No,” replied Anna and “Yes,” said Nils, both at the same time. They looked at each other and grinned.


The tranquil charms of…
Rate it:
Jemima Small Versus the Universe
4.36 avg. rating
· 159 Ratings
Jemima Small just wants to be like other girls. She hates being called "Jemima Big", being forced to join the school health group - aka Fat Club - and that she can't apply for her favourite TV show…
Rate it:
In the Shadow of Heroes
3.76 avg. rating
· 46 Ratings
Fourteen-year-old Cadmus has been scholar Tullus’s slave since he was a baby – his master is the only family he knows.

But when Tullus disappears and a taciturn slave called Tog – formerly a British…
Rate it:
Potkin and Stubbs (Potkin and Stubbs #1)
In the corrupt metropolis of Peligan City, Lil Potkin, a determined young reporter, is on the lookout for a scoop. One rainy night she meets Nedly, the ghost of a boy that no one else can see. Nedly…
Rate it:
Asha & the Spirit Bird
3.94 avg. rating
· 95 Ratings
Asha lives on the family farm with her mother in rural India.

Her father is away working in the city, and when the money he sends stops suddenly, a wicked aunt arrives. She’s determined to seize the…
Rate it:
The Middler
4.34 avg. rating
· 199 Ratings
“I was special. I was a hero. I lost the best friend I ever had.”

Eleven-year-old Maggie lives in Fennis Wick, enclosed and protected from the outside world by a boundary, beyond which the Quiet War…
Rate it:
"I Will Not Be Erased": Our stories about growing up as people of colour
Fourteen joyous, funny and life-affirming essays from gal-dem, the award-winning magazine created by young women and non-binary people of colour.

gal-dem, the award-winning online and print magazine,…
Rate it:
We Won an Island
3.96 avg. rating
· 56 Ratings
When Luna’s family win an island, Luna thinks it will solve everything AND she can finally get a donkey! But things don’t go entirely to plan – no one expects Luna’s younger brother to win a Sheep…
Rate it:
All the Invisible Things
3.79 avg. rating
· 266 Ratings
A warm, witty, important story about being a young woman today, and what it's like to find a real connection amid all the noise. Perfect for fans of Holly Bourne and Laura Steven's The Exact Opposite…
Rate it:
The Secret Starling
4.12 avg. rating
· 57 Ratings
Clara has lived a life of solitude, home schooled under her mean uncle's strict regime . . . until now!

The day that Uncle abandons Clara, leaving her with nothing but a wedge of 'guilt money' and a…
Rate it:
The Girl Who Speaks Bear
4.44 avg. rating
· 461 Ratings
Found abandoned in a bear cave as a baby, 12-year-old Yanka has always felt out of place in her small village. When she wakes up to find that her legs have become bear legs, she sets off into the…
Rate it:
Bearmouth
4.15 avg. rating
· 71 Ratings
‘One of the most ambitious and darkly brilliant YA books I’ve read. It’s provocative, tender, claustrophobic and epic. It blew my mind’ Kiran Millwood Hargrave

It only taykes one person to start a…
Rate it:
The Twisted Tree
3.77 avg. rating
· 1553 Ratings
Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of Coraline and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their…
Rate it:
The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods

This is the story of a sleepy town called Suds. A place where stories fill the air of children who keep turning grey and disappearing without a trace…


Poppy and Erasmus are certain there's something…

Rate it:
Our Castle by the Sea
4.13 avg. rating
· 450 Ratings
In this haunting and compelling follow-up to the instant classic The Secret of Nightingale Wood. Lucy Strange takes a seafaring myth and grounds it in the stark reality of World War II.
Growing up in…
Rate it:
The Umbrella Mouse
3.97 avg. rating
· 177 Ratings
A timeless tale of courage, resistance and friendship, The Umbrella Mouse is a heart-stopping adventure drawing on the true stories of animals caught in the conflict of WWII.

1944, and London is…
Rate it:
Charlie Changes Into a Chicken
4.37 avg. rating
· 185 Ratings
The first book in a hilarious new series perfect for fans of David Walliams, Kid Normal and Tom Gates.

Charlie McGuffin tries to be an optimist, but in reality he's a bit of a worrier.

Some of the…
Rate it:
Why You Should Read Children's Books, Even Though You Are So Old and Wise
Katherine Rundell – Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford, and prize-winning author of five novels for children – explores how children's books ignite, and can re-ignite, the imagination; how…
Rate it:
The Last Spell Breather
3.82 avg. rating
· 123 Ratings
A stunning fantasy debut, enter the unique world of the Spell Breathers.
Spell Breathing does not come naturally to Rayne - she loathes the hours of practice, the stacks of scrolls, and the snapping…
Rate it:
Frostheart (Frostheart #1)
4.12 avg. rating
· 489 Ratings

Bursting with brilliant characters, heart-stopping adventure and tons of laughs, this magical tale is perfect for fans of Nevermoor, Frozen and How to Train Your Dragon!

Way out in the furthest part…
Rate it:
How to Rob a Bank
3.73 avg. rating
· 62 Ratings
Some people rob banks because they’re greedy. Others enjoy the adrenalin rush. Me? I robbed a bank because of guilt. Specifically: guilt and a Nepalese scented candle…

---

When fifteen-year-old Dylan…
Rate it:
Slay
4.26 avg. rating
· 1967 Ratings
By day, seventeen-year-old Kiera Johnson is an honors student, a math tutor, and one of the only Black kids at Jefferson Academy. But at home, she joins hundreds of thousands of Black gamers who duel…
Rate it:
Jacob's Ladder
2.77 avg. rating
· 39 Ratings
We have heard your call.

You no longer need to fear.

You will receive five messages, of which this is the first.

The last message will inform you of the time and place of your salvation.

The year is…
Rate it:
I, Cosmo
4.20 avg. rating
· 210 Ratings
A golden retriever narrates a hilarious, heart-tugging tale of a dog and his humans as he tries to keep his family together while everything around them falls apart.

Ever since Cosmo became a big…
Rate it:
Jasper and Scruff
4.04 avg. rating
· 24 Ratings
Smart kitty. Mucky pup. Here comes trouble...

Jasper has everything he could want – a fancy apartment, bow ties in every colour and a large book collection. The only thing he’s missing is the right…
Rate it:
Jelly
3.33 avg. rating
· 76 Ratings
After a traumatic event that no one can talk about or even quite remember, they're stuck on a giant killer jellyfish, tantalisingly close to the shore and safety. They've had enough of it. They've…
Rate it: