Books similar to A Shooting Star

A Shooting Star
3.37 avg. rating
· 525 Ratings
Sabrina Castro, an attractive woman with a strong New England heritage, is married to a wealthy, older California physician who no longer fulfills her dreams. An almost accidental misstep leads her do…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
The Winter of Our Discontent
4.00 avg. rating
· 34606 Ratings
Ethan Allen Hawley, the protagonist of Steinbeck’s last novel, works as a clerk in a grocery store that his family once owned. With Ethan no longer a member of Long Island’s aristocratic class, his wi…
Rate it:
The Plover
4.16 avg. rating
· 1560 Ratings
A compelling, marvelous novel by the acclaimed author of Mink River

Declan O Donnell has left Oregon aboard his boat, the Plover, to escape the life that’s so troubled him on land. He sets course west…
Rate it:
Chicago
3.88 avg. rating
· 1048 Ratings
On the last day of summer, some years ago, a young college graduate moves to Chicago and rents a small apartment on the north side of the city, by the vast and muscular lake. This is the story of the …
Rate it:
The Adventures of John Carson in Several Quarters of the World: A Novel of Robert Louis Stevenson
The young Robert Louis Stevenson, living in a boarding house in San Francisco while waiting for his beloved’s divorce from her feckless husband, dreamed of writing a soaring novel about his landlady’s…
Rate it:
Martin Marten
4.31 avg. rating
· 1595 Ratings
Dave is fourteen years old, living with his family in a cabin on Oregon's Mount Hood (or as Dave prefers to call it, like the Native Americans once did, Wy'east). He is entering high school, adulthood…
Rate it:
Mink River
4.18 avg. rating
· 5235 Ratings
Like Dylan Thomas' "Under Milk Wood" and Sherwood Anderson's "Winesburg, Ohio, " Brian Doyle's stunning fiction debut brings a town to life through the jumbled lives and braided stories of its people.…
Rate it:
Nobody's Fool (Sully #1)
4.11 avg. rating
· 23158 Ratings
Richard Russo's slyly funny and moving novel follows the unexpected operation of grace in a deadbeat town in upstate New York—and in the life of one of its unluckiest citizens, Sully, who has been doi…
Rate it:
The Shadows
3.72 avg. rating
· 24431 Ratings
You knew a teenager like Charlie Crabtree. A dark imagination, a sinister smile--always on the outside of the group. Some part of you suspected he might be capable of doing something awful. Twenty-fiv…
Rate it:
The King's Justice (Maggie Hope #9)
Could a stolen violin be linked to a serial killer terrorizing London during World War II? Only secret agent extraordinaire Maggie Hope knows in this riveting mystery from the New York Times bestselli…
Rate it:
The Power Worshippers: Inside the Dangerous Rise of Religious Nationalism
For readers of Democracy in Chains and Dark Money, a revelatory investigation of the Religious Right's rise to political power.

For too long the Religious Right has masqueraded as a social movement pre…
Rate it:
Florence Adler Swims Forever
3.90 avg. rating
· 8624 Ratings
Over the course of one summer that begins with a shocking tragedy, three generations of the Adler family grapple with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets.

Every summer, Esther and Jo…
Rate it:
The Seventh Mansion
4.24 avg. rating
· 147 Ratings
From the author of the story collections Heartbreaker and Rag comes a powerful and propulsive debut novel that examines activism, love, and purpose.

When fifteen-year-old Xie moves from California to a…
Rate it:
Tending Roses (Tending Roses, #1)
3.90 avg. rating
· 4184 Ratings
Librarian Note: This is the updated cover for ISBN 9780451203076

Author Lisa Wingate drew upon her relationship with her grandmother for inspiration in writing "Tending Roses". Her sensitive and able c…
Rate it:
Hard Times
3.54 avg. rating
· 49038 Ratings
"My satire is against those who see figures and averages, and nothing else," proclaimed Charles Dickens in explaining the theme of this classic novel. Published in 1854, the story concerns one Thomas …
Rate it:
Wildest Dreams (Thunder Point, #9)
4.00 avg. rating
· 4443 Ratings
Blake Smiley searched the country for just the right place to call home. The professional triathlete has traveled the world, but Thunder Point has what he needs to put down the roots he's never had. I…
Rate it:
Apropos of Nothing
3.94 avg. rating
· 3742 Ratings
The Long-Awaited, Enormously Entertaining Memoir by One of the Great Artists of Our Time—Now a New York TimesUSA Today, Los Angeles Times, and Publisher’s Weekly Bestseller.
 
In this candid and oft…
Rate it:
girls
3.45 avg. rating
· 373 Ratings
A wealthy father of two deserts his family in order to spend the night in a college girl's dorm room. A CEO visiting his friends' villa feigns a sprained ankle in order to have sex with their teenage …
Rate it:
The Emerald Horizon (The Star and the Shamrock #2)
Berlin, 1944. Ariella Bannon is being hunted. Someone is determined to betray her as a Jew, but she has survived against incredible odds, and the end is in sight. She will be reunited with her preciou…
Rate it:
Treason: A Novel
4.26 avg. rating
· 1058 Ratings


Leading politician and bestselling author Newt Gingrich and novelist Pete Earley are back with the gripping sequel to Duplicity .

Islamic terrorism is growing on American soil, and in Newt Gin…
Rate it:
That Silent Night: A Lady Emily Christmas Story
'Tis the season for murder, mayhem, and mistletoe across the pond from New York Times bestselling author Tasha Alexander

In this new short story from Tasha Alexander, Lady Emily -- called "Victorian Lo…
Rate it:
The Persian Pickle Club
3.78 avg. rating
· 16516 Ratings
It is the 1930s, and hard times have hit Harveyville, Kansas, where the crops are burning up, and there's not a job to be found. For Queenie Bean, a young farm wife, a highlight of each week is the ga…
Rate it:
A Gathering Place (Cape Light #3)
4.31 avg. rating
· 716 Ratings
Now that the Cape Light election is over, Mayor Emily Warwick can finally focus on her burgeoning relationship with Sara-the daughter she gave up for adoption twenty years ago. Seeing her after all th…
Rate it:
Autobiography of a Hunted Priest
4.29 avg. rating
· 157 Ratings
Truth is stranger than fiction. And nowhere in literature is it so apparent as in this classic work, "The Autobiography of a Hunted Priest." This autobiography of a Jesuit priest in Elizabethan Englan…
Rate it:
Home Song (Cape Light #2)
4.29 avg. rating
· 1025 Ratings
Caught up in the responsibilities of her job and the incessant demands of her elderly mother, mayor Emily Warwick doesn't allow herself to dream. Then there's her younger sister Jessica, who's about t…
Rate it:
Someplace to Call Home
3.90 avg. rating
· 327 Ratings
2021-2021 Texas Bluebonnet Master List 2020 Women Writing the West Willa Award (tied for 1st place)

In 1933, what's left of the Turner family--twelve-year-old Hallie and her two brothers--finds itself …
Rate it:
The Pleasure of My Company
3.79 avg. rating
· 13606 Ratings
Daniel Pecan Cambridge, 30, 35, 38, or 27, depending on how he feels that day, is a young man whose life is rich and full, provided he never leaves his Santa Monica apartment. After all, outside there…
Rate it:
Be Frank With Me
3.83 avg. rating
· 15522 Ratings
Reclusive literary legend M. M. “Mimi” Banning has been holed up in her Bel Air mansion for years, but now she’s writing her first book in decades and to ensure timely completion her publisher sends a…
Rate it:
Last Night at the Lobster
3.56 avg. rating
· 8693 Ratings

The Red Lobster perched in the far corner of a run-down New England mall hasn't been making its numbers and headquarters has pulled the plug. But manager Manny DeLeon still needs to navigate a tricky …

Rate it:
The Wise Men Know What Wicked Things Are Written on the Sky
In a series of 11 essays, Russell Kirk explores the question, "Is the American Republic descending into decadence, or are the American people entering upon a renewal of belief and hope?" 5 cassettes.
Rate it:
Star of the East (Lady Emily, #9.5)
3.72 avg. rating
· 894 Ratings
From New York Times bestselling author Tasha Alexander comes STAR OF THE EAST, a Lady Emily holiday story that will enchant readers and keep them guessing until the very last page...

 

Emily and Colin H…
Rate it: