Books similar to A Shooting Star

A Shooting Star
3.35 avg. rating
· 493 Ratings
Sabrina Castro, an attractive woman with a strong New England heritage, is married to a wealthy, older California physician who no longer fulfills her dreams. An almost accidental misstep leads her do…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
All the Birds, Singing
3.63 avg. rating
· 8268 Ratings
From one of Granta's Best Young British Novelists, a stunningly insightful, emotionally powerful new novel about an outsider haunted by an inescapable past: a story of loneliness and survival, guilt a…
Rate it:
Apropos of Nothing
3.90 avg. rating
· 1676 Ratings
The Long-Awaited, Enormously Entertaining Memoir by One of the Great Artists of Our Time—Now a New York TimesUSA Today,
Los Angeles Times
, and Publisher’s Weekly
Bestseller.
 
In this candid and oft…
Rate it:
This House of Sky: Landscapes of a Western Mind
Ivan Doig grew up in the rugged wilderness of western Montana among the sheepherders and denizens of small-town saloons and valley ranches. What he deciphers from his past with piercing clarity is not…
Rate it:
The Country of the Pointed Firs and Other Stories
In 1896, at the age of forty-seven, Sarah Orne Jewett published this classic novel of a female writer looking for seclusion and inspiration in the coastal town of Dunnet Landing, Maine. Returning to t…
Rate it:
Pierced (Henning Juul, #2)
3.88 avg. rating
· 504 Ratings
The acclaimed author of Burned is back with more heart-stopping suspense in a gritty and thrilling sequel that pits Norwegian crime reporter Henning Juul against an international crime ring.

Oslo’s top…
Rate it:
Peep Show
3.11 avg. rating
· 336 Ratings
David Arbus will be graduating from high school in the spring of 1975. His divorced parents offer two options: embrace his mother’s Hasidic sect or go into his father’s line of work, running a porn th…
Rate it:
Stones from the River (Burgdorf Cycle, #1)
4.09 avg. rating
· 90206 Ratings
From the highly acclaimed, award-winning author of Floating in My Mother's Palm comes a stunning novel about ordinary people living in extraordinary times.

Trudi Montag is a Zwerg—a dwarf—short, undesi…
Rate it:
The Worst Hard Time by Timothy Egan l Summary & Study Guide
This study guide includes the following sections: Plot Summary, Chapter Summaries & Analysis, Characters, Objects/Places, Themes, Style, Quotes, and Topics for Discussion.
Rate it:
Våpenskjold (Henning Juul, #4)
3.85 avg. rating
· 107 Ratings
When Hedda Hellberg fails to return from a retreat in Italy, where she has been grieving for her recently dead father, her husband discovers that his wife’s life is tangled in mystery. Hedda never lef…
Rate it:
The Weight of This World
3.91 avg. rating
· 1283 Ratings
Critically acclaimed author David Joy, whose debut, Where All Light Tends to Go, was hailed as "a savagely moving novel that will likely become an important addition to the great body of Southern lite…
Rate it:
Gourmet Rhapsody
3.25 avg. rating
· 5642 Ratings
In the heart of Paris, in the posh building made famous in The Elegance of the Hedgehog, Pierre Athens, the greatest food critic in the world, is dying. Revered by some and reviled by many, Monsieur A…
Rate it:
There Was Still Love
3.96 avg. rating
· 1336 Ratings
The profoundly moving new novel from the critically acclaimed and Miles Franklin shortlisted author of PAST THE SHALLOWS and WHEN THE NIGHT COMES. A tender and masterfully told story of memory, family…
Rate it:
Founding Mothers
3.78 avg. rating
· 817 Ratings
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Cokie Roberts comes New York Times bestseller Founding Mothers, an intimate and illuminating look at the fervently patriotic and passionate women whose tirele…
Rate it:
The Hour I First Believed
3.81 avg. rating
· 50740 Ratings
Wally Lamb's two previous novels, She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True, struck a chord with readers. They responded to the intensely introspective nature of the books, and to their lively na…
Rate it:
Grasshopper Pueblo: A Story of Archaeology and Ancient Life
Located in the mountains of east-central Arizona, Grasshopper Pueblo is a prehistoric ruin that has been excavated and interpreted more thoroughly than most sites in the Southwest: more than 100 rooms…
Rate it:
Magnificent Vibration
3.28 avg. rating
· 792 Ratings
Why are we here? What is love? Is there a loch ness monster? Does God send text messages?

These are the kinds of questions Horatio Cotton, aka Bobby, asks in New York Times bestseller Rick Springfield'…
Rate it:
The Fall of Princes
3.38 avg. rating
· 798 Ratings
In the Spellbinding new novel for #1 New York Times bestselling author Robert Goolrick, 1980’s Manhattan shimmers like the mirage it was, as money, power, and invincibility seduce a group of young Wal…
Rate it:
Middle Age: A Romance
3.54 avg. rating
· 1681 Ratings
In Salthill-on-Hudson, a half-hour train ride from Manhattan, everyone is rich, beautiful, and -- though they look much younger -- middle-aged. But when Adam Berendt, a charismatic, mysterious sculpto…
Rate it:
Augustus
4.20 avg. rating
· 6294 Ratings
A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters,…
Rate it:
The Memory of Music
3.82 avg. rating
· 71 Ratings
The Memory of Music tells the story of one Irish family spanning 100 turbulent years: 1916 to 2016

Betty O Fogarty is proud and clever. Spurred on by her belief in husband Seamus's talent as a violin…
Rate it:
A Bookshop in Berlin
3.77 avg. rating
· 1252 Ratings
WINNER OF THE JQ-WINGATE LITERARY PRIZE

"A beautiful and important book" (The Independent) in the tradition of rediscovered works like Suite Française and The Nazi Officer's Wife, the prize-winning mem…
Rate it:
Imaginary Men
3.22 avg. rating
· 925 Ratings
This charming novel about a Bengali-American matchmaker in San Francisco who creates an imaginary fiancé in order to satisfy her marriage-minded traditional parents offers a fresh variation on the tim…
Rate it:
Burned (Henning Juul #1)
3.70 avg. rating
· 1267 Ratings
Uncovering class divisions, racial conflicts, and tangled emotions, this gritty, shocking novel of suspense heralds the arrival of a major new talent.

Henning Juul is a veteran investigative crime repo…
Rate it:
Blues Lessons
3.52 avg. rating
· 198 Ratings
In the lush countryside of 1950s Michigan, young Martin Dijksterhuis has everything he could ever want, living among his extended family and working in his family's orchard fields. Despite his mother'…
Rate it:
Searching for Sunday: Loving, Leaving, and Finding the Church
From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Held Evans comes a book that is both a heartfelt ode to the past and hopeful gaze into the future of what it means to be a part of the Church.


Like million…
Rate it:
Wallace Stegner: His Life and Work
When Jackson Benson's biography of John Steinbeck was published in 1984, it was hailed as definitive and reviewed on the front page of every major newspaper in the country. Now, in an equally groundbr…
Rate it:
Believing is Seeing: Observations on the Mysteries of Photography
Selected by The New York Times Book Review as a Notable Book of the Year Academy Award-wining filmmaker Errol Morris investigates the hidden truths behind a series of documentary photographs.

In Beli…
Rate it:
The Mistress of Spices
3.50 avg. rating
· 10472 Ratings
Magical, tantalizing, and sensual, The Mistress of Spices is the story of Tilo, a young woman born in another time, in a faraway place, who is trained in the ancient art of spices and ordained as a mi…
Rate it:
The Known World
3.83 avg. rating
· 30156 Ratings
One of the most acclaimed novels in recent memory, The Known World is a daring and ambitious work by Pulitzer Prize winner Edward P. Jones.

The Known World tells the story of Henry Townsend, a black fa…
Rate it:
Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis
How a lone man's epic obsession led to one of America's greatest cultural treasures: Prize-winning writer Timothy Egan tells the riveting, cinematic story behind the most famous photographs in Native …
Rate it: