Books similar to Augustine Came to Kent

Augustine Came to Kent
3.65 avg. rating
· 280 Ratings
It is the year 597 and Pope Gregory is sending a select number of his monks, led by Fr. Augustine, to re-evangelize England. Young Wolf, born in that land but raised in Rome, accompanies his father, W…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Fingal's Quest
3.74 avg. rating
· 61 Ratings
Rate it:
The Door in the Wall
3.76 avg. rating
· 14294 Ratings
The bells clang above plague-ridden London as Robin lies helpless, cold, and hungry. The great house is empty, his father is fighting the Scots in the north, his mother is traveling with the Queen, an…
Rate it:
Hittite Warrior
3.76 avg. rating
· 2322 Ratings
When Uriah Tarhund's Hititte home is destroyed by invading Greeks, his dying father tells him to go seek a Canaanite named Sisera. "He will help you. For my sake...." When Uriah reaches Judea and save…
Rate it:
The Lost Baron: A Story of England in the Year 1200
In the year 1200 in Cornwall, thirteen-year-old Martin's first day as page and squire to Baron Eric of Less Mortain is also his last when the Baron mysteriously disappears and his visiting distant rel…
Rate it:
The Bronze Bow
3.96 avg. rating
· 19008 Ratings
He trains my hands for war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze. –from the Song of David (2 Samuel 22:35)
The Bronze Bow, written by Elizabeth George Speare (author of The Witch of Blackbird Pond…
Rate it:
Adam of the Road
3.78 avg. rating
· 8153 Ratings
"A road's a kind of holy thing," said Roger the Minstrel to his son, Adam. "That's why it's a good work to keep a road in repair, like giving alms to the poor or tending the sick. It's open to the sun…
Rate it:
D'Aulaires' Book of Norse Myths
4.39 avg. rating
· 3618 Ratings
The Caldecott medal-winning d'Aulaires once again captivate their young audience with this beautifully illustrated introduction to Norse legends, telling stories of Odin the All-father, Thor the Thund…
Rate it:
The Cross of Lead (Crispin, #1)
by
3.61 avg. rating
· 22239 Ratings
"Asta's Son" is all he's ever been called. The lack of a name is appropriate, because he and his mother are but poor peasants in 14th century medieval England. But this thirteen-year-old boy who thoug…
Rate it:
God King: A Story in the Days of King Hezekiah
A never-before published tale by the author of the best -selling Hittite Warrior, carries the reader back to Ancient Egypt and biblical Jerusalem. It is 701 B.C - rule of the Kushite dynasty in ancien…
Rate it:
The Shakespeare Stealer (Shakespeare Stealer, #1)
Widge is an orphan with a rare talent for shorthand. His fearsome master has just one demand: steal Shakespeare's play "Hamlet"--or else. Widge has no choice but to follow orders, so he works his way …
Rate it:
Misty of Chincoteague (Misty, #1)
4.05 avg. rating
· 39676 Ratings
"You'll never catch the Phantom," says Grandpa. "That horse is fast as the wind. She's escaped from every roundup on the island!"
But Paul and Maureen want the beautiful wild mare for their very own.
"I…
Rate it:
The Hidden Treasure of Glaston
3.90 avg. rating
· 767 Ratings
Amidst great mystery, Hugh is left in the care of Glastonbury Abbey by his father who must flee to England too swiftly to be burdened by a crippled son.

Dicckon struck flint and lit a candle, then led …
Rate it:
Sea Star: Orphan of Chincoteague (Misty, #2)
An orphaned Chincoteague colt restores happiness to his new owners in this beloved horse story from Newbery Award–winning author Marguerite Henry.

Movie men have come to Chincoteague to film the annual…
Rate it:
The Red Keep: A Story of Burgundy in 1165
In the country of Burgundy, the Sauval brothers have begun to terrorize the surrounding lands in an attempt to bring the area under their control. They raid the Red Keep, in hope of gaining it for the…
Rate it:
By the Great Horn Spoon!
4.08 avg. rating
· 5417 Ratings
For fans of the I Survived series, this classic rollicking adventure about the California Gold Rush and one determined twelve-year-old has sold nearly a million copies!
When Jack's aunt is forced to se…
Rate it:
The Penderwicks at Last (The Penderwicks, #5)
Nine years, five older siblings, a few beloved dogs, and an endless array of adventures--these are the things that have shaped Lydia's journey since readers first met her in The Penderwicks in Spring.…
Rate it:
The Ides of April (Roman Empire Sequence, #2)
Hylas is young Greek slave in the household of Caius Pomponius, a Roman Senator involved in political schemes. When the senator is found mysteriously murdered, the household slaves (including Hylas an…
Rate it:
The Hidden Keys
3.77 avg. rating
· 1038 Ratings
Parkdale’s Green Dolphin is a bar of ill repute, and it is there that Tancred Palmieri, a thief with elegant and erudite tastes, meets Willow Azarian, an aging heroin addict. She reveals to Tancred th…
Rate it:
Erased, Volume 2
4.38 avg. rating
· 722 Ratings
Satoru Fujinuma's power of Revival has sent him eighteen years into his past to relive his middle school days and prevent the death of his classmate Kayo Hinazuki. But even with the advantage of forek…
Rate it:
Shakespeare's Scribe (Shakespeare Stealer, #2)
When an outbreak of the deadly Black Plague closes the Globe Theatre, William Shakespeare's acting troupe sets off on a tour of England. Widge, the orphan-turned-actor, knows that he'll be useful on t…
Rate it:
The Candy Shop War (The Candy Shop War, #1)
What if there were a place where you could get magical candy? Moon rocks that made you feel weightless. Jawbreakers that made you unbreakable. Or candy that gave animals temporary human intelligence a…
Rate it:
Arcade Catastrophe (The Candy Shop War, #2)
It will take more than magical candy to win this war!

Something fishy is going on over at the new amusement centre in Walnut Hills. The trouble seems linked to the mysterious disappearance of Mozag and…
Rate it:
Shakespeare's Spy (Shakespeare Stealer, #3)
Things are disappearing mysteriously from Will Shakespeare's acting company, and it looks like an inside job. Everyone's eyes are on Widge, the orphan boy turned actor, and former thief. Widge knows b…
Rate it:
In Freedom's Cause: A Story of Wallace and Bruce
At the end of the thirteenth century, the oppressed people of Scotland rebelled against their despised English ruler, Edward Longshanks. In Freedom's Cause recounts the Scots' desperate but ultimately…
Rate it:
Beyond the Desert Gate (Roman Empire Sequence, #4)
Sequel to The Ides of April. Palestine in the first century A.D. is as disturbed and divided as it is today. The Jews have revolted against Roman occupation and as they grow more restive, Rome clamps …
Rate it:
Madeleine Takes Command
3.77 avg. rating
· 814 Ratings
Madeleine Verchere's story is based on a true account of colonial French Canada of the 1690's. Harassed by Iroquois, the Verchere family's fort must keep a continual guard. 14-year-old Madeleine is le…
Rate it:
Gone Crazy in Alabama (Gaither Sisters, #3)
The Coretta Scott King Award–winning Gone Crazy in Alabama by Newbery Honor and New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia tells the story of the Gaither sisters as they travel from the st…
Rate it:
The Usual Suspects
3.60 avg. rating
· 10 Ratings
Fans of Jason Reynolds and Sharon M. Draper will love this oh-so-honest middle grade novel from writer and educator Maurice Broaddus.

Thelonius Mitchell is tired of being labeled. He’s in special ed, …
Rate it:
Teaching from Rest: A Homeschooler's Guide to Unshakable Peace
In the book of Philippians we are told to be anxious over nothing, and yet we are anxious over everything. We worry that our students will be "behind," that they won't score well on the SAT, get into …
Rate it:
The Landing of the Pilgrims
3.39 avg. rating
· 649 Ratings
In England in the early 1600s, everyone was forced to join the Church of England. Young William Bradford and his friends believed they had every right to belong to whichever church they wanted. In the…
Rate it: