Books similar to Read My Lips: Sexual Subversion and the End of Gender

Read My Lips: Sexual Subversion and the End of Gender
Riki Anne Wilchins has written the book that may take the discussion of gender over the top. Read My Lips: Sexual Subversion and the tend of Gender, a frontal assault on both the status quo in academi…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
I'm Afraid of Men
4.27 avg. rating
· 3980 Ratings
A trans artist explores how masculinity was imposed on her as a boy and continues to haunt her as a girl--and how we might re-imagine gender for the twenty-first century.

Vivek Shraya has reason to be …
Rate it:
Good Talk: A Memoir in Conversations
4.50 avg. rating
· 9175 Ratings
Mira Jacob's touching, often humorous, and utterly unique graphic memoir takes readers on her journey as a first-generation American. At an increasingly fraught time for immigrants and their families,…
Rate it:
Gender Failure
4.34 avg. rating
· 1492 Ratings
"Being a girl was something that never really happened for me."—Rae Spoon

Ivan E. Coyote and Rae Spoon are accomplished, award-winning writers, musicians, and performers; they are also both admitted "g…
Rate it:
Butch Is a Noun
3.93 avg. rating
· 892 Ratings
Written by award-winning playwright and inveterate storyteller S. Bear Bergman, Butch Is a Noun picks up where gender theory leaves off. It makes butchness accessible to those who are new to the conce…
Rate it:
The Tea Dragon Society (Tea Dragon, #1)
4.36 avg. rating
· 12303 Ratings
From the award-winning author of Princess Princess Ever After comes The Tea Dragon Society, a charming all-ages book that follows the story of Greta, a blacksmith apprentice, and the people she meets …
Rate it:
Jasper & Ollie
3.86 avg. rating
· 305 Ratings
Best friends Jasper and Ollie decide to go to the pool. On your mark, get set . . . WAIT! As Jasper races ahead--crashing into the mailman, speeding past the ice cream truck--Ollie takes his sweet tim…
Rate it:
The Nearest Exit May Be Behind You
3.95 avg. rating
· 914 Ratings
Alternately unsettling and affirming, devastating and delicious, The Nearest Exit May Be Behind You is a new collection of essays on gender and identity by S. Bear Bergman that is irrevocably honest a…
Rate it:
Giant Days, Vol. 11
4.19 avg. rating
· 1467 Ratings
It’s Daisy, Esther and Susan’s third year at university, and with that comes new beaus, new jobs, and new adventures.

The third (and final!) year of university is finally here, and BFFs Daisy, Esther, …
Rate it:
Gender Queer
4.36 avg. rating
· 4417 Ratings
In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comf…
Rate it:
Gender Outlaw: On Men, Women and the Rest of Us
Part coming-of-age story, part mind-altering manifesto on gender and sexuality, coming directly to you from the life experiences of a transgender woman, Gender Outlaw breaks all the rules and leaves t…
Rate it:
The Remedy: Queer and Trans Voices on Health and Health Care
Winner, Lambda Literary Award (LGBT Anthology)

The Remedy invites writers and readers to imagine what we need to create healthy, resilient, and thriving LGBTQ communities. This anthology is a diverse c…
Rate it:
Loose End
4.33 avg. rating
· 391 Ratings
Ivan E. Coyote has developed a reputation as one of North America’s most disarming storytellers; her tales of life as an out dyke on the roads and trails of the North as well as rural America are rich…
Rate it:
Bloodlust & Bonnets
3.92 avg. rating
· 1199 Ratings
From the creator of the hit webcomic My Life As a Background Slytherin comes a hilarious graphic novel pastiche of classic Romantic literature led by a trio of queer misfits—and several angry vampires…
Rate it:
Kid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos
4.37 avg. rating
· 5277 Ratings
If you work hard enough, if you want it enough, if you’re smart and talented and “good enough,” you can do anything.

Except get pregnant.

Her whole life, Lucy Knisley wanted to be a mother. But when it …
Rate it:
Quiet Girl in a Noisy World: An Introvert's Story
Sweet, funny, and quietly poignant, Debbie Tung’s comics reveal the ups and downs of coming of age as an introvert.

This illustrated gift book of short comics illuminates author Debbie Tung's experienc…
Rate it:
Love Lives Here: A Story of Thriving in a Transgender Family
All Amanda Jetté Knox ever wanted was to enjoy a stable life. She never knew her biological father, and while her mother and stepfather were loving parents, the situation was sometimes chaotic. While …
Rate it:
One Man's Trash
4.21 avg. rating
· 305 Ratings
In Close to Spider Man—which won a Danuta Gleed Literary Award—readers were introduced to the crystalline storytelling voice of Ivan Coyote. The talent evident in that first collection is confirmed wi…
Rate it:
Mother Camp: Female Impersonators in America
For two years Ester Newton did field research in the world of drag queens—homosexual men who make a living impersonating women. Newton spent time in the noisy bars, the chaotic dressing rooms, and the…
Rate it:
Kiste (Kiste, #1)
4.00 avg. rating
· 37 Ratings
Mattis ist Bastler. Und Erfinder. Da kann er die Kiste natu rlich bestens brauchen, die er eines Tages vor dem Haus findet. Er staunt allerdings nicht schlecht, als die ihn plo tzlich fro hlich begru …
Rate it:
An Age of License: A Travelogue
3.81 avg. rating
· 5116 Ratings
Midnight picnics at the Eiffel Tower; wine tastings paired with blowgun lessons; and romance in cafés, cemeteries, and at the Brandenberg Gate--these are just some of New York Times best-selling carto…
Rate it:
What's Normal Anyway?
3.95 avg. rating
· 39 Ratings
How would you define normal? Is it when you wear shoes on your feet at the mall or eat toast for breakfast? Is it when you’re female and feel like a woman? What happens when you go somewhere else and …
Rate it:
Persistence: All Ways Butch and Femme
4.03 avg. rating
· 1018 Ratings
Lambda Literary Award finalist

American Library Association Stonewall Honor Book

In the summer of 2009, butch writer and storyteller Ivan Coyote and gender researcher and femme dynamo Zena Sharman wrote…
Rate it:
Our Super Adventure Vol. 1: Press Start to Begin
Fans of Kate Beaton and Sarah Andersen will love this collection of the hit webcomic Our Super Adventure by Sarah Graley (Rick and Morty, Kim Reaper)! Eating too much pizza together. Smelling your cat…
Rate it:
Missed Her
4.30 avg. rating
· 685 Ratings
Ivan E. Coyote is a master storyteller and performer; their beautiful, funny stories about growing up a lesbian butch in the Canadian north have attracted big audiences whether gay, straight, or other…
Rate it:
First Spring Grass Fire
3.98 avg. rating
· 337 Ratings
Transgender indie electronica singer-songwriter Rae Spoon has six albums to their credit, including 2012’s I Can’t Keep All of Our Secrets. This first book by Rae (who uses "they" as a pronoun) is a c…
Rate it:
Black Powder War (Temeraire, #3)
3.88 avg. rating
· 25113 Ratings
Picking up where book two left off (in China, Macau) Captain Will Laurence and his extraordinary dragon, Temeraire, are ordered to retrieve and escort a precious cargo of valuable dragon eggs from Ist…
Rate it:
Throne of Jade (Temeraire, #2)
3.88 avg. rating
· 31089 Ratings
When Britain intercepted a French ship and its precious cargo–an unhatched dragon’s egg–Capt. Will Laurence of HMS Reliant unexpectedly became master and commander of the noble dragon he named Temerai…
Rate it:
Families We Choose: Lesbians, Gays, Kinship
This classic text, originally published in 1991 and now revised and updated to include a new preface, draws upon fieldwork and interviews to explore the ways gay men and lesbians are constructing thei…
Rate it:
Out of the Past: Gay and Lesbian History from 1869 to the Present
A unique and hugely absorbing narrative history of gay life—from Oscar Wilde to the first gay marriage performed in San Francisco in 2004—by the award-winning journalist and distinguished author of Ou…
Rate it:
East Dragon, West Dragon
3.71 avg. rating
· 339 Ratings
Two giant, imposing dragons confront their greatest fears…each other!

East Dragon and West Dragon live on opposite sides of the world. They have never met—and they like it that way. East Dragon is sure…
Rate it: