Books similar to The Compleat Gentleman: The Modern Man's Guide to Chivalry

The Compleat Gentleman: The Modern Man's Guide to Chivalry
The Compleat Gentleman: The Modern Man's Guide to Chivalry
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Habit 3 Put First Things First: The Habit of Integrity and Execution
Habit 3: Put First Things First is about the day-in, day-out, moment-by-moment doing it-the difference between managing time and managing ourselves. After becoming proactive (with Habit 1) and definin…
Rate it:
The Wild Truth: A Memoir
3.68 avg. rating
· 7129 Ratings
The spellbinding story of Chris McCandless, who gave away his savings, hitchhiked to Alaska, walked into the wilderness alone, and starved to death in 1992, fascinated not just New York Times bestsell…
Rate it:
The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West
Pulitzer Prize–winning historian David McCullough rediscovers an important and dramatic chapter in the American story—the settling of the Northwest Territory by dauntless pioneers who overcame incredi…
Rate it:
Mere Christianity
4.44 avg. rating
· 48252 Ratings
Mere Christianity is C.S. Lewis's forceful and accessible doctrine of Christian belief. First heard as informal radio broadcasts and then published as three separate books - The Case for Christianity,…
Rate it:
Shakespeare and the Resistance: The Earl of Southampton, the Essex Rebellion, and the Poems that Challenged Tudor Tyranny
A brilliant and provocative reinterpretation of Shakespeare's largely forgotten epic poems, and the political controversy they incited.

As the year 1600 approached, unrest was stirring in post-Reformat…
Rate it:
Black Tudors: The Untold Story
3.78 avg. rating
· 650 Ratings
A black porter publicly whips a white English gentleman in a Gloucestershire manor house. A heavily pregnant African woman is abandoned on an Indonesian island by Sir Francis Drake. A Mauritanian dive…
Rate it:
City at World's End
3.71 avg. rating
· 841 Ratings
A surprise nuclear war may cause the End of the World, but not the way anyone could have imagined.

"Terrific... Mark Nelson’s narration is super-listenable... very keen Science Fiction." - SFFaudio

Appr…
Rate it:
Crucial Conversations: Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High
Learn how to keep your cool and get the results you want when emotions flare.

When stakes are high, opinions vary, and emotions run strong, you have three choices: Avoid a crucial conversation and suff…
Rate it:
First Principles: What America's Founders Learned from the Greeks and Romans and How That Shaped Our Country
New York Times Bestseller
Editors' Choice 
New York Times Book Review

"Ricks knocks it out of the park with this jewel of a book. On every page I learned something new. Read it every night if you want t…
Rate it:
Extreme Ownership: How U.S. Navy SEALs Lead and Win
The #1 New York Times bestseller

"An incredible book... you teach guys and gals about leadership and you've helped not only military guys but families." - Megyn Kelly

"You show in the book how to motiva…
Rate it:
The Forest Unseen: A Year’s Watch in Nature
A biologist reveals the secret world hidden in a single square meter of forest.

In this wholly original book, biologist David Haskell uses a one-square-meter patch of old-growth Tennessee forest as a w…
Rate it:
Camp Half-Blood Confidential (The Trials of Apollo, #2.5)
In response to an awful camp orientation video created by the god Apollo, Percy Jackson and other residents of Camp Half-Blood answer such questions as “What is this place?” and “Do I get to keep the …
Rate it:
The Ruthless Elimination of Hurry: How to Stay Emotionally Healthy and Spiritually Alive in the Chaos of the Modern World
"Who am I becoming?"

That was the question nagging pastor and author John Mark Comer. Outwardly, he appeared successful. But inwardly, things weren't pretty. So he turned to a trusted mentor for guida…
Rate it:
Man and His Symbols
4.16 avg. rating
· 19970 Ratings
Man and His Symbols owes its existence to one of Jung's own dreams. The great psychologist dreamed that his work was understood by a wide public, rather than just by psychiatrists, and therefore he ag…
Rate it:
The Last Pirate of New York: A Ghost Ship, a Killer, and the Birth of a Gangster Nation
Was he New York City's last pirate...or its first gangster? This is the true story of the bloodthirsty underworld legend who conquered Manhattan, port by port--for fans of Gangs of New York and Boardw…
Rate it:
The Legion of Lazarus (Sci-fi Thriller)
Being expelled from an air lock into deep space was the legal method of execution. But it was also the only way a man could qualify for—The Legion of Lazarus
Rate it:
The New Inductive Study Bible: Discovering the Truth For Yourself -New American Standard Version
Designed to help readers gain a more intimate understanding of God and His Word, this Bible is based entirely on the inductive study approach - providing the tools for observing what the text says, in…
Rate it:
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
Born a slave circa1818 (slaves weren't told when they were born) on a plantation in Maryland, Douglass taught himself to read and write. In 1845, seven years after escaping to the North, he published …
Rate it:
The Problem of Pain
4.26 avg. rating
· 6674 Ratings
For centuries Christians have questioned why, if God is good and all-powerful, he allows us to suffer pain. C.S. Lewis sets out to disentangle this knotty issue, but adds that, in the end, no intellec…
Rate it:
Coolidge
3.71 avg. rating
· 6009 Ratings
Calvin Coolidge, who served as president from 1923 to 1929, never rated highly in polls. The shy Vermonter, nicknamed "Silent Cal," has long been dismissed as quiet and passive. History has remembered…
Rate it:
Miracles
4.15 avg. rating
· 1223 Ratings
‘The central miracle asserted by Christians is the Incarnation. They say that God became Man. Every other miracle prepares the way for this, or results from this.’

This is the key statement of ‘Miracle…
Rate it:
The Legend of Sleepy Hollow
3.73 avg. rating
· 40369 Ratings
Ichabod Crane, a schoolteacher, came to Tarry Town in the glen of Sleepy Hollow to ply his trade in educating young minds. He was a gullible and excitable fellow, often so terrified by locals' stories…
Rate it:
Lion in the White House: A Life of Theodore Roosevelt
New York State Assemblyman, Assistant Secretary of the Navy, New York City Police Commissioner, Governor of New York, Vice President and, at forty-two, the youngest President ever-in his own words, Th…
Rate it:
Scalia Speaks: Reflections on Law, Faith, and Life Well Lived
This definitive collection of beloved Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia's finest speeches covers topics as varied as the law, faith, virtue, pastimes, and his heroes and friends. Featuring a forewo…
Rate it:
Vindiciae Contra Tyrannos (Defense of Liberty Against Tyrants)
(Orig. Fr. 1581, Eng. tr. 1622, 1689) — In 1683 it was ordered to be burned.
Rate it:
It's Even Worse Than It Looks: How the American Constitutional System Collided With the Politics of Extremism
Acrimony and hyperpartisanship have seeped into every part of the political process. Congress is deadlocked and its approval ratings are at record lows. America’s two main political parties have given…
Rate it:
Under the Dome
3.90 avg. rating
· 242136 Ratings
On an entirely normal, beautiful fall day in Chester’s Mill, Maine, the town is inexplicably and suddenly sealed off from the rest of the world by an invisible force field. Planes crash into it and fa…
Rate it:
The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket
Poe found the germ of the story he would develop into ARTHUR GORDON PYM in 1836 in a newspaper account of the shipwreck and subsequent rescue of the two men on board. Published in 1838, this rousing s…
Rate it:
Intellectuals and Race
4.35 avg. rating
· 918 Ratings
Thomas Sowell's incisive critique of the intellectuals' destructive role in shaping ideas about race in America

Intellectuals and Race is a radical book in the original sense of one that goes to the ro…
Rate it: