Books similar to Armageddon Averted: The Soviet Collapse, 1970-2000

Armageddon Averted: The Soviet Collapse, 1970-2000
In the Cold War era that dominated the second half of the twentieth century, nobody envisaged that the collapse of the Soviet Union would come from within, still less that it would happen meekly, with…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Everyday Stalinism: Ordinary Life in Extraordinary Times: Soviet Russia in the 1930s
Here is a pioneering account of everyday life under Stalin, written by a leading authority on modern Russian history. Focusing on the urban population, Fitzpatrick depicts a world of privation, overcr…
Rate it:
On Democracy
3.74 avg. rating
· 619 Ratings
The last half of the 20th century has been an era of democratic triumph. The main anti-democratic regimes - communist, fascist, Nazi - have disappeared, and new democracies are emerging vigorously or …
Rate it:
Russia in Revolution: An Empire in Crisis, 1890 to 1928
The Russian Revolution of 1917 transformed the face of the Russian empire, politically, economically, socially, and culturally, and also profoundly affected the course of world history for the rest of…
Rate it:
Twilight of Democracy: The Seductive Lure of Authoritarianism
The Pulitzer Prize-winning author, professor, and historian offers an expert guide to understanding the appeal of the strongman as a leader and an explanation for why authoritarianism is back with a m…
Rate it:
Between Two Fires: Truth, Ambition, and Compromise in Putin's Russia
From a leading journalist in Moscow and correspondent for The New Yorker, a groundbreaking portrait of modern Russia and the inner struggles of the people who sustain Vladimir Putin's rule

"Unforgetta…
Rate it:
Stalin: New Biography of a Dictator
The most authoritative and engrossing biography of the notorious dictator ever written

Josef Stalin exercised supreme power in the Soviet Union from 1929 until his death in 1953. During that quarter-c…
Rate it:
Black Earth: The Holocaust as History and Warning
A brilliant, haunting, and profoundly original portrait of the defining tragedy of our time.

In this epic history of extermination and survival, Timothy Snyder presents a new explanation of the gre…
Rate it:
The Struggle to Save the Soviet Economy: Mikhail Gorbachev and the Collapse of the USSR
For half a century the Soviet economy was inefficient but stable. In the late 1980s, to the surprise of nearly everyone, it suddenly collapsed. Why did this happen? And what role did Soviet leader Mik…
Rate it:
Ten Days that Shook the World
3.98 avg. rating
· 3339 Ratings
"Brilliant and entertaining."
The New York Times Book Review

This first-person chronicle by John Reed, a legendary journalist who was present at the flash point of the Russian Revolution in 1917, provi…
Rate it:
Break Shot: My First 21 Years
3.95 avg. rating
· 3751 Ratings
"I’m James Taylor and I’m a professional autobiographer," says the celebrated folk singer at the start of this tender audio memoir. Through decades of music by one of the best-selling musicians of all…
Rate it:
Cold War in the Islamic World: Saudi Arabia, Iran and the Struggle for Supremacy
For decades Saudi Arabia and Iran have vied for influence, above all in the Islamic world, by sponsoring proxy religious and military forces in the Middle East, South Asia and Africa. At the heart of …
Rate it:
Empires of the Silk Road: A History of Central Eurasia from the Bronze Age to the Present
The first complete history of Central Eurasia from ancient times to the present day, Empires of the Silk Road represents a fundamental rethinking of the origins, history, and significance of this majo…
Rate it:
Patterns of Democracy: Government Forms and Performance in Thirty-Six Countries
Examining 36 democracies from 1945 to 1996, this text arrives at important - and unexpected - conclusions about what type of democracy works best. It demonstrates that consensual systems stimulate eco…
Rate it:
Problems of Democratic Transition and Consolidation: Southern Europe, South America, and Post-Communist Europe
Since their classic volume The Breakdown of Democratic Regimes was published in 1978, Juan J. Linz and Alfred Stepan have increasingly focused on the questions of how, in the modern world, nondemocrat…
Rate it:
The 'Russian' Civil Wars, 1916-1926: Ten Years That Shook the World
This book offers a comprehensive and original analysis and reconceptualization of the compendium of struggles that wracked the collapsing Tsarist empire and the emergent USSR, profoundly affecting the…
Rate it:
Journey into the Whirlwind
4.33 avg. rating
· 2378 Ratings
Eugenia Ginzburg's critically acclaimed memoir of the harrowing eighteen years she spent in prisons and labor camps under Stalin's rule

By the late 1930s, Eugenia Semyonovna Ginzburg had been a loyal a…
Rate it:
Вся кремлевская рать: Краткая история современной России
Эта книга рассказывает об истории России на всем протяжении правления Владимира Путина, с 2000 по 2015 год. В основу книги легли документы, открытые источники и десятки уникальных личных интервью, кот…
Rate it:
The Science of Sci-Fi: From Warp Speed to Interstellar Travel
Science fiction allows listeners to go places they can only dream of seeing—other worlds, distant stars, entirely different galaxies. While not every story is concerned with the hard science behind sp…
Rate it:
Henrietta & Eleanor: A Retelling of Jekyll and Hyde
First published to critical acclaim in 1886, Robert Louis Stevenson’s mesmerising thriller is a terrifying study of the duality of man's nature, and it is the book which established Stevenson's reputa…
Rate it:
Seeing Like a State: How Certain Schemes to Improve the Human Condition Have Failed
Compulsory ujamaa villages in Tanzania, collectivization in Russia, Le Corbusier’s urban planning theory realized in Brasilia, the Great Leap Forward in China, agricultural "modernization" in the Trop…
Rate it:
Caffeine: How Caffeine Created the Modern World
Pollan takes us on a journey through the history of the drug, which was first discovered in a small part of East Africa and within a century became an addiction affecting most of the human species. Ca…
Rate it:
Mr. Either/Or
4.21 avg. rating
· 68 Ratings
Aaron Poochigian's Mr. Either/Or is an ingenious debut, a verse novel melding American mythology, noir thriller, and classical epic into gritty rhythms, foreboding overtones, and groovy jams surroundi…
Rate it:
Cynical Theories: How Activist Scholarship Made Everything about Race, Gender, and Identity—and Why This Harms Everybody
Have you heard that language is violence and that science is sexist? Have you read that certain people shouldn’t practice yoga or cook Chinese food? Or been told that being obese is healthy, that ther…
Rate it:
Kapteeni Tserep
2.62 avg. rating
· 26 Ratings
Huumorituotantojen ohella Pertti Jarlan kiinnostuksen kohteisiin lukeutuu historiantutkimus. Tätä kautta sai alkunsa seikkailutarina Venäjän sisällissodan taisteluihin vuonna 1919 joukkojaan marssitta…
Rate it:
Competitive Authoritarianism: Hybrid Regimes after the Cold War
Competitive authoritarian regimes - in which autocrats submit to meaningful multiparty elections but engage in serious democratic abuse - proliferated in the post-Cold War era. Based on a detailed stu…
Rate it:
Voting For Autocracy: Hegemonic Party Survival And Its Demise In Mexico
This book provides a theory of the logic of survival of the Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI), one of the most resilient autocratic regimes in the twentieth century. An autocratic regime hid beh…
Rate it:
Squid Empire: The Rise and Fall of the Cephalopods
Before there were mammals on land, there were dinosaurs. And before there were fish in the sea, there were cephalopods - the ancestors of modern squid and Earth’s first truly substantial animals. Ceph…
Rate it:
The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution
The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn…
Rate it:
党员、党权与党争:1924—1949年中国国民党的组织形态
《党员、党权与党争:1924—1949年中国国民党的组织型态》中讲述了国民党政权是中国历史上出现的第一个党治政权。它的建立,标志着中国政治形态在漫长的王朝帝制崩溃后,开始向一种新的党国体制转型。中国从此步入党治时代。蒋介石多次公开强调,国民党组织内部的“涣散松懈之弊”已经到了非常严重的程度。这种“涣散松懈”,源于它的“以军统党”的组织形态;源于基层建设的薄弱:城市有党,农村无党;源于党派的纷争离析…
Rate it:
Transitions from Authoritarian Rule: Tentative Conclusions about Uncertain Democracies

"Rich in nuanced, contextually sensitive analysis, and each of the case studies is written by a leading authority." -- Abraham F. Lowenthal, from the foreword1986 Southern Europe - 232 pp.0-8018-3190-…

Rate it: