Books similar to A Good Man in Africa

A Good Man in Africa
3.88 avg. rating
· 3238 Ratings
In the small African republic of Kinjanja, British diplomat Morgan Leafy bumbles heavily through his job. His love of women, his fondness for drink, and his loathing for the country prove formidable o…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Trio
3.61 avg. rating
· 957 Ratings
A producer. A novelist. An actress.

It is summer in 1968, the year of the assassinations of Martin Luther King and Robert Kennedy. While the world is reeling our trio is involved in making a rackety Sw…
Rate it:
Fludd
3.51 avg. rating
· 3652 Ratings
One dark and stormy night in 1956, a stranger named Fludd mysteriously turns up in the dismal village of Fetherhoughton. He is the curate sent by the bishop to assist Father Angwin-or is he?

In the mo…
Rate it:
Whit
3.83 avg. rating
· 6397 Ratings
Isis Whit is no ordinary teenager. An innocent in the ways of the world, an ingenue when it comes to fashion, she does however rejoice in some neat healing powers, a way with animals and the exalted s…
Rate it:
A Flag for Sunrise
3.88 avg. rating
· 753 Ratings
An Astonishing Saga of Politics, War, and Americans Out of Place, by a National Book Award Winner!

Possessed of astonishing dramatic, emotional, and philosophical resonance, A Flag for Sunrise is a no…

Rate it:
The Steep Approach to Garbadale
3.68 avg. rating
· 4499 Ratings
Dark family secrets, a long-lost love affair and a multi-million pound gaming business lie at the heart of Iain Banks's fabulous new novel. The Wopuld family built its fortune on a board game called E…
Rate it:
The Life of the Mind
3.53 avg. rating
· 243 Ratings
A disaffected adjunct's life is disrupted by a miscarriage, forcing her to reckon with her body, work, relationships, and sense of self

As an adjunct professor of English with no hope of finding a …
Rate it:
The Quarry
3.59 avg. rating
· 3708 Ratings
Kit doesn’t know who his mother is. What he does know, however, is that his father, Guy, is dying of cancer.

Feeling his death is imminent, Guy gathers around him his oldest friends – or at least the f…
Rate it:
Espedair Street
3.88 avg. rating
· 6021 Ratings
Daniel Weir used to be a famous - not to say infamous - rock star. Maybe still is. At thirty-one he has been both a brilliant failure and a dull success. He's made a lot of mistakes that have paid off…
Rate it:
World's End
4.04 avg. rating
· 3427 Ratings
This multi-generational novel ranges over the history of the Hudson River Valley from the late seventeenth century to the late 1960s with low humor, high seriousness, and magical, almost hallucinatory…
Rate it:
The Road to Wellville
3.68 avg. rating
· 5437 Ratings
Will Lightbody is a man with a stomach ailment whose only sin is loving his wife, Eleanor, too much. Eleanor is a health nut of the first stripe, and when in 1907 she journeys to Dr. John Harvey Kello…
Rate it:
Fool on the Hill
4.10 avg. rating
· 3859 Ratings
It is a literary event when a genuinely new fictional voice comes along. When that voice achieves its newness not through a certain formal facility but through the freshness of its vision, there is tr…
Rate it:
The Inner Circle
3.59 avg. rating
· 4330 Ratings
Fresh on the heels of his New York Times bestselling and National Book Award- nominated novel, Drop City, T.C. Boyle has spun an even more dazzling tale that will delight both his longtime devotees an…
Rate it:
Fall: The Mystery of Robert Maxwell
4.25 avg. rating
· 102 Ratings
A dramatic, gripping account of the rise and fall of the notorious business tycoon Robert Maxwell from the acclaimed author of A Very English Scandal - available for pre-order now

In February 1991, Ro…
Rate it:
Changing Places
3.89 avg. rating
· 6141 Ratings
Anyone intrigued by differences between American and British academic institutions will find this an amusing and accurate send-up. David Lodge, portraying two American and British professors who repla…
Rate it:
City of Margins
3.85 avg. rating
· 245 Ratings
In City of Margins, the lives of several lost souls intersect in Southern Brooklyn in the early 1990s. There’s Donnie Parascandolo, a disgraced ex-cop with blood on his hands; Ava Bifulco, a widow who…
Rate it:
T'rific
4.00 avg. rating
· 16 Ratings
Since his overnight success over thirty-five years ago, after appearing on national TV in The Comedians, Mike Reid has remained one of Britain's most popular and best-loved comics. His popularity soar…
Rate it:
The Cockroach
3.32 avg. rating
· 3503 Ratings

That morning, Jim Sams, clever but by no means profound, woke from uneasy dreams to find himself transformed into a gigantic creature.

Jim Sams has undergone a metamorphosis. In his previous life h…

Rate it:
The Betrayal (The Siege #2)
3.96 avg. rating
· 1583 Ratings
A riveting and emotionally absorbing portrait of post-war Soviet Russia, a world of violence and terror, where the severest acts of betrayal can come from the most trusted allies.

Internationally-accla…
Rate it:
Something Like Perfect
3.67 avg. rating
· 1215 Ratings
From #1 New York Times bestselling author S.C. Stephens comes a complex romance about finding your purpose, living your dreams, and loving your soul mate.

Valerie would never do anything to hurt her si…
Rate it:
The Crow Road
4.06 avg. rating
· 18596 Ratings
"It was the day my grandmother exploded. I sat in the crematorium, listening to my Uncle Hamish quietly snoring in harmont to bach's Mass in B Minor, and I reflected that it always seemed to be death …
Rate it:
Stolen: How Finance Destroyed the Economy and Corrupted our Politics
A readable polemic on the growing dominance of the finance industry over the UK economy, and what the left can do to challenge it.

The last time there had been run a on a British bank was 1886, when Ov…
Rate it:
A Handful of Dust
3.93 avg. rating
· 20589 Ratings
Laced with cynicism and truth, "A Handful of Dust" satirizes a certain stratum of English life where all the characters have wealth, but lack practically every other credential. Murderously urbane, it…
Rate it:
Ayoade on Top
3.86 avg. rating
· 3866 Ratings
At last, the definitive book about perhaps the best cabin crew dramedy ever filmed: View From the Top starring Gwyneth Paltrow.

In Ayoade on Top, Richard Ayoade, perhaps one of the most ‘insubstantial’…
Rate it:
The Consequences of Love
4.26 avg. rating
· 206 Ratings
PRE-ORDER THIS HEARTBREAKING AND UPLIFTING STORY OF FAMILY LOSS, HOPE AND HEALING

'One of the best books I've read about grief. Exquisitely written. Profoundly moving' Robert Peston

When Gavanndra Hodge…
Rate it:
The Last Thing to Burn
4.32 avg. rating
· 1094 Ratings
A woman being held captive is willing to risk everything to save herself, her unborn child, and her captor’s latest victim in this claustrophobic thriller in the tradition of Misery and Room.

On an is…
Rate it:
Inside Story
3.95 avg. rating
· 290 Ratings
This extraordinary novel gives the reader the heart-to-heart testimony of one of our finest writers – a wonder of literary invention and a boisterous modern classic

His most intimate and epic work to d…
Rate it:
Empireland: How Imperialism Has Shaped Modern Britain
In his brilliantly illuminating new book Sathnam Sanghera demonstrates how so much of what we consider to be modern Britain is actually rooted in our imperial past. In prose that is, at once, both cle…
Rate it:
This Is Happiness
4.14 avg. rating
· 2465 Ratings
About This Is Happiness
The most enchanting novel you'll read this year, from the acclaimed author of Man Booker-longlisted History of the Rain

Change is coming to Faha, a small Irish parish that hasn't…
Rate it:
Bloodline
3.80 avg. rating
· 15140 Ratings
Perfect town. Perfect homes. Perfect families. It’s enough to drive some women mad…

In a tale inspired by real events, pregnant journalist Joan Harken is cautiously excited to follow her fiancé back to…
Rate it: