Books similar to Mother's Milk

Mother's Milk
3.79 avg. rating
· 3173 Ratings
Writing with the scathing wit and bright perceptiveness for which he has become known, celebrated English author Edward St. Aubyn creates a complex family portrait that examines the shifting allegian…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Carry Me Down
3.33 avg. rating
· 2330 Ratings
John Egan is a misfit — "a twelve year old in the body of a grown man with the voice of a giant" — who diligently keeps a "log of lies." John's been able to detect lies for as long as he can remember…
Rate it:
La dama número trece
3.76 avg. rating
· 512 Ratings
Salomón Rulfo, profesor de literatura en paro y gran amante de la poesía, sufre noche tras noche una inquietante y aterradora pesadilla. En sus sueños aparece una casa desconocida, personas extrañas…
Rate it:
I'll Go to Bed at Noon
3.74 avg. rating
· 432 Ratings
Colette Jones has had problems of her own with alcohol, but now it seems as though her whole family is in danger of turning to booze. Her oldest son, Janus, the family's golden boy, has wasted his ta…
Rate it:
Kieron Smith, Boy
3.53 avg. rating
· 217 Ratings
I had cousins at sea. One was in the Cadets. I was wanting to join. My maw did not want me to but my da said I could if I wanted, it was a good life and ye saved yer money, except if ye were daft and…
Rate it:
Cataract
3.59 avg. rating
· 22 Ratings
Includes extensive notes on Osadchys trials and some of his contemporaries plus a biographical and critical introduction. An appendix "The Aftermath" includes documents by and about Osadchy.
Rate it:
The Book About Blanche and Marie
3.40 avg. rating
· 606 Ratings
In The Book about Blanche and Marie, Enquist has once again found inspiration from the historical record, this time exploring the fascinatingly complex relationship between two of the twentieth centu…
Rate it:
Doting
3.85 avg. rating
· 155 Ratings
Written almost completely in dialogue, Henry Green's final novel is a biting comedy of manners that exposes the deceptive difference between those who love and those who "dote." Arthur Middleton is a…
Rate it:
Selected Poems
4.40 avg. rating
· 175 Ratings
Blessed is the nation that in the course of a century could give the world two poets of Czeslaw Milosz's and Zbigniew Herbert's scope. Doubly blessed is the English-reader, for in this volume he gets…
Rate it:
Oxygen
3.30 avg. rating
· 919 Ratings
Oxygen is a contemporary tale of courage, love and liberation. It is the latest novel from the winner of the James Tait Black Memorial, International Impac and Grinzane Cavour Prizes and one of the m…
Rate it:
Searches and Seizures
4.17 avg. rating
· 111 Ratings
In Searches & Seizures, Elkin tells the story of the criminal, the lovelorn, and the grieving, each searching desperately for fulfillment, while on the verge of receiving much more than they barg…
Rate it:
The Successor
3.51 avg. rating
· 643 Ratings
A new novel from the acclaimed winner of the inaugural Man Booker International Prize for achievement in fiction.

The Successor is a powerful political novel based on the sudden, mysterious death of t…

Rate it:
Pallieter
3.38 avg. rating
· 240 Ratings
Der lebensfrohe und naturverbundene Pallieter, über dessen Alter und bisheriges Leben der Leser nichts Genaueres erfährt, lebt auf einem kleinen Hof im Tal des Flüsschens Nethe zusammen mit seiner fr…
Rate it:
Memoirs of a Peasant Boy
3.85 avg. rating
· 81 Ratings
A peasant boy, Balbino, tries to flee the repressive Galician society of the 30s and 40s by questioning, answering, and criticizing every aspect of social and religious restrictions.
Rate it:
The Wonders Of The Invisible World
3.94 avg. rating
· 309 Ratings
The author of the highly acclaimed novels Jernigan (Pulitzer Prize Finalist) and Preston Falls (National Book Critics Cirlce Award Finalist) offers up a mordantly funny collection of short stories ab…
Rate it:
Vintage Baldwin
4.35 avg. rating
· 212 Ratings
Vintage Readers are a perfect introduction to some of the great modern writers presented in attractive, accessible paperback editions.

“One of the few genuinely indispensable writers.” —The Saturday R…
Rate it:
The Children of Dynmouth
3.95 avg. rating
· 478 Ratings
A small, pretty seaside town is harshly exposed by a young boy's curiosity. His prurient interest, oddly motivated, leaves few people unaffected - and the consequences cannot be ignored.
Rate it:
The Commandant
3.50 avg. rating
· 54 Ratings
In the 1830s, the penal settlement of Moreton Bay on the Brisbane River is under the command of Patrick Logan. His administration has been denounced by the liberal press in Sydney, but he scorns such…
Rate it:
The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief
This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its r…
Rate it:
Flaubert and Madame Bovary
3.97 avg. rating
· 168 Ratings
Francis Steegmuller's beautifully executed double portrait of Madame Bovary and her maker is a remarkable and unusual biographical study, a sensitive and detailed account of how an unpromising young…
Rate it:
The Deadbeats
3.52 avg. rating
· 42 Ratings
This is the story of a married couple who have lived in semi-isolation in a tumbledown shack on the outskirts of a town. Theirs has become almost an animal existence. Silvester, the husband, does not…
Rate it:
Margot en de engelen
3.21 avg. rating
· 81 Ratings
'Je mag niets verdringen,' heeft Margot van haar mama geleerd. 'Je moet over alles praten, want als je iets verdringt, krijg je kanker of kom je bij een psychiater terecht.'
'Ik verdring niets. Wat zo…
Rate it:
The Cathedral
4.07 avg. rating
· 166 Ratings
Rate it:
Fool's Gold (Modern Greek Writers)
3.45 avg. rating
· 38 Ratings
Myrsini Panayotou, an Athenian girl about to start university, learns of the coup d'etat that brought to power the infamous dictatorship of the "Colonels" in her country in the early hours of Friday,…
Rate it:
Escapes
4.24 avg. rating
· 308 Ratings
These prize winning stories confirm what readers of 'State Of Grace' and 'Taking Care' already suspected: that Joy Williams is a writer of unparalleled empathy and emotional candor, who can render th…
Rate it:
Collected Stories and Later Writings
4.41 avg. rating
· 129 Ratings
Paul Bowles had already established himself as an important composer when at age 39 he published The Sheltering Sky and became recognized as one of the most powerful writers of the postwar period. Fr…
Rate it: