Books similar to Death by Drowning and the Other Stories

Death by Drowning and the Other Stories
Four stories of mysteries solved by Miss Marple, that elderly white-haired lady with the faded blue eyes and quiet nature. As well as "Death by Drowning", there are "The Thumbmark of St Peter", "The H…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
You Have Arrived at Your Destination
3.50 avg. rating
· 9165 Ratings
Nature or nurture? Neither. Discover a bold new way to raise a child in this unsettling story of the near future by the New York Times bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow.

When Sam’s wife first…
Rate it:
Emergency Skin
4.07 avg. rating
· 13586 Ratings
What will become of our self-destructed planet? The answer shatters all expectations in this subversive speculation from the Hugo Award–winning author of the Broken Earth trilogy.

An explorer returns t…
Rate it:
Pawsitively Poisonous (Witch of Edgehill, #1)
Every town has its secrets, but no one has a secret like hers.

Amber Blackwood, lifelong resident of Edgehill, Oregon, has earned a reputation for being a semi-reclusive odd duck. Her store, The Quirk…
Rate it:
Evil Has A Name: The Untold Story of the Golden State Killer Investigation
The Golden State Killer. The East Area Rapist. The Original Night Stalker. The Visalia Ransacker.

The monster who preyed on Californians from 1976 to 1986 was known by many aliases. And while numerous …
Rate it:
The Fatal Flying Affair (A Lady Hardcastle Mystery #7)
August 1911. Emily Hardcastle and her inimitable lady’s maid Florence Armstrong are enjoying a fine summer until Harry, Lady H’s brother, turns up out of the blue with a mystery for them to solve.

A ro…
Rate it:
Randomize
3.46 avg. rating
· 10655 Ratings
In the near future, if Vegas games are ingeniously scam-proof, then the heists have to be too, in this imaginative and whip-smart story by the New York Times bestselling author of The Martian.

An IT wh…
Rate it:
Little Darlings
3.64 avg. rating
· 6196 Ratings
“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. …
Rate it:
The Nightmare Room (The Messy Man, #1)
3.76 avg. rating
· 1676 Ratings
A boy in a basement, a man in a booth and a darkness that threatens to swallow them both...

New York audiobook narrator Peter Larson and his wife Hannah head to his hometown of Maple City to help Pete…
Rate it:
An Elderly Lady is Up to No Good
3.76 avg. rating
· 7025 Ratings
Alternate cover edition of ISBN 9781641290111

Content:
- An elderly lady has accommodation problems
- An elderly lady on her travels
- An elderly lady seeks peace at Christmas time
- The antique dealer'…
Rate it:
A Shot in the Dark (Mydworth Mysteries  #1)
From the authors of the best-selling series CHERRINGHAM

Sussex, England, 1929. Mydworth is a sleepy English market town just 50 miles from London. But things are about to liven up there, when young and…
Rate it:
The Killer Next Door
3.63 avg. rating
· 6055 Ratings
No. 23 has a secret. In this bedsit-riddled south London wreck, lorded over by a lecherous landlord, something waits to be discovered. Yet all six residents have something to hide.

Collette and Cher ar…
Rate it:
Noughts & Crosses (Noughts & Crosses, #1)
Two young people are forced to make a stand in this thought-provoking look at racism and prejudice in an alternate society.

Sephy is a Cross -- a member of the dark-skinned ruling class. Callum is a No…
Rate it:
The Unpleasant Profession of Jonathan Hoag
Every evening, Jonathan Hoag finds a mysterious reddish substance under his fingernails, with no memory of how it got there. He hires the husband-and-wife detective team of Ted and Cynthia Randall to …
Rate it:
The Wolves in the Walls
4.00 avg. rating
· 15786 Ratings
Lucy hears sneaking, creeping,
crumpling noises
coming from inside
the walls.

She is sure there are
wolves living in
the walls
of her house.

But, as everybody says, if the wolves come out of the walls, it's…
Rate it:
The Tower Treasure (The Hardy Boys, #1)
The first of an enduring series.

The Hardy Boys will soon celebrate their 100th anniversary, but they remain the quintessential mystery and detective stories for young readers. This first one, "The Tow…
Rate it:
A Life on Our Planet: My Witness Statement and a Vision for the Future
See the world. Then make it better.

I am 94. I've had an extraordinary life. It's only now that I appreciate how extraordinary.

As a young man, I felt I was out there in the wild, experiencing the untou…
Rate it:
The Last Mrs. Summers (Her Royal Spyness, #14)
Georgie is just back from her honeymoon with Darcy when a friend in need pulls her into a du Maurier-like murder in this all-new installment in the New York Times bestselling Royal Spyness series from…
Rate it:
Andrea Vernon and the Corporation for UltraHuman Protection (Andrea Vernon, #1)
Andrea Vernon always thought she would spend her life living in Paris writing thought-provoking historical novels all day and sipping wine on the Seine all night. But the reality is she's drowning in …
Rate it:
3,096 Days
3.88 avg. rating
· 5746 Ratings
On 2 March 1998 ten-year-old Natascha Kampusch was snatched off the street by a stranger and bundled into a white van. Hours later she found herself in a dark cellar, wrapped in a blanket. When she em…
Rate it:
High Fidelity
3.94 avg. rating
· 156288 Ratings
Do you know your desert-island, all-time, top five most memorable split-ups?

Rob does. He keeps a list, in fact. But Laura isn't on it - even though she's just become his latest ex. He's got his life b…
Rate it:
Menace at the Christmas Market (Murder on Location #4.5)
With the holidays nearing, Kate has time off, a rare occurrence for a location scout. The Jane Austen documentary series is in a production lull, and she plans to spend her time searching for the perf…
Rate it:
The Printed Letter Bookshop
3.95 avg. rating
· 6893 Ratings
Love, friendship, and family find a home at the Printed Letter Bookshop

One of Madeline Cullen’s happiest childhood memories is of working with her Aunt Maddie in the quaint and cozy Printed Letter Boo…
Rate it:
Father Christmas’s Fake Beard
3.71 avg. rating
· 401 Ratings
Have you ever wanted Christmas to be different?

Turkey and carols, presents and crackers - they all start to feel a bit . . . samey.

How about a huge exploding mince pie, a pet abominable snowman, or a …
Rate it:
Dachshund Through the Snow (Andy Carpenter #20)
This Christmas, lawyer Andy Carpenter and his golden retriever, Tara, can't say no to helping young Danny and his dachshund, Murphy.

Lawyer Andy Carpenter and his wife, Laurie, have started a new Chri…
Rate it:
The Murders of Richard III (Jacqueline Kirby, #2)
In a remote English manor house, modern admirers of the much-maligned King Richard III—one of Shakespeare's most extraordinary villains—are gathered for a grand weekend of dress-up and make-believe mu…
Rate it:
Death in the English Countryside (Murder on Location #1)
Location scout and Jane Austen aficionado, Kate Sharp, is thrilled when the company she works for lands the job of finding locations for a new film adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, but then her boss…
Rate it:
Dragons at Crumbling Castle: And Other Stories
Dragons have invaded Crumbling Castle, and all of King Arthur’s knights are either on holiday or visiting their grannies. It’s a disaster!

Luckily, there’s a spare suit of armour and a very small boy c…
Rate it:
Dexter in the Dark (Dexter, #3)
3.59 avg. rating
· 31357 Ratings
In his work as a Miami crime scene investigator, Dexter Morgan is accustomed to seeing evil deeds...particulary because, on occasion, he rather enjoys committing them himself. Guided by his dark Passe…
Rate it:
Real Murders (Aurora Teagarden, #1)
3.67 avg. rating
· 23012 Ratings
Though a small town at heart, Lawrenceton, Georgia, has its dark side-and crime buffs. One of whom is librarian Aurora "Roe" Teagarden, a member of the Real Murders Club, which meets once a month to a…
Rate it:
Death in an Elegant City (Murder on Location #4)
Sightseeing can be murder…

Location scout Kate Sharp is thrilled to be part of a scouting trip to the historic city of Bath, England to research the location for a Jane Austen documentary. But before…

Rate it: