Joan DidionMiamiSimilar books

Books similar to Miami

Miami
3.70 avg. rating
· 1200 Ratings
It is where Fidel Castro raised money to overthrow Batista and where two generations of Castro's enemies have raised armies to overthrow him, so far without success. It is where the bitter opera of Cu…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
The Last Love Song: A Biography of Joan Didion
In New York Times bestselling The Last Love Song, Tracy Daugherty, the critically acclaimed author of Hiding Man (a New Yorker and New York Times Notable book) and Just One Catch, delves deep into the…
Rate it:
Down These Mean Streets
4.16 avg. rating
· 4124 Ratings
Memoir, coming of age on the streets of Spanish Harlem by Puerto Rican. Dark-skinned morenito had family who ignored African blood. Consolation from drugs, street fighting, and armed robbery end when …
Rate it:
The Trip to Echo Spring
3.71 avg. rating
· 1754 Ratings
Why is it that some of the greatest works of literature have been produced by writers in the grip of alcoholism, an addiction that cost them personal happiness and caused harm to those who loved them?…
Rate it:
A Village After Dark
3.76 avg. rating
· 528 Ratings
Short Story: "A Village After Dark" (The New Yorker, 2001)
Rate it:
Funny Weather: Art in an Emergency
4.07 avg. rating
· 1015 Ratings
“One of the finest writers of the new non-fiction” (Harper’s Bazaar) explores the role of art in the tumultuous twenty-first century.

In the age of Trump and Brexit, every crisis is instantly overridde…
Rate it:
Baader-Meinhof
3.96 avg. rating
· 24 Ratings
Rate it:
Infinite Country
4.07 avg. rating
· 8883 Ratings
Alternate cover edition of ISBN 9781982159467.

For readers of Valeria Luiselli and Edwidge Danticat, an urgent and lyrical novel about a Colombian family fractured by deportation, offering an intimate …
Rate it:
Exiting the Vampire Castle
4.10 avg. rating
· 327 Ratings
This summer, I seriously considered withdrawing from any involvement in politics. Exhausted through overwork, incapable of productive activity, I found myself drifting through social networks, feeling…
Rate it:
Little Weirds
3.81 avg. rating
· 14232 Ratings
Hello and welcome to my book. Inside you will find:

× The smell of honeysuckle
× Heartbreak
× A French-kissing rabbit
× A haunted house
× Death
× A vagina singing sad old songs
× Young geraniums in an ancien…
Rate it:
Act without words
3.77 avg. rating
· 115 Ratings
Rate it:
The Amplified (The Amplified #1)
3.98 avg. rating
· 532 Ratings
15-year-old Mari Quillen is about to become invincible. Just like everyone else.

For years, Mari has been anxiously awaiting the day when she will receive her Amplifier; a small device implanted behi…
Rate it:
Joe Biden: The Life, the Run, and What Matters Now
A concise, brilliant, and trenchant examination of Democratic Nominee Joseph R. Biden Jr.’s lifelong quest for the presidency by New Yorker political reporter and National Book Award winner Evan Osnos…
Rate it:
Un-Trumping America: A Plan to Make America a Democracy Again
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Yes We (Still) Can and cohost of Pod Save America, a sharp political playbook for how Democrats can take on Trump, McConnell, Fox News, and the rest of…
Rate it:
Regarding the Pain of Others
4.07 avg. rating
· 9381 Ratings
Twenty-five years after her classic On Photography, Susan Sontag returns to the subject of visual representations of war and violence in our culture today. How does the spectacle of the sufferings of …
Rate it:
Intimations
4.13 avg. rating
· 9820 Ratings
Deeply personal and powerfully moving, a short and timely series of essays on the experience of lock down, by one of the most clear-sighted and essential writers of our time

“There will be many books w…
Rate it:
Appointment in Samarra
3.83 avg. rating
· 12733 Ratings
O’Hara did for fictional Gibbsville, Pennsylvania what Faulkner did for Yoknapatawpha County, Mississippi: surveyed its social life and drew its psychic outlines, but he did it in utterly worldly term…
Rate it:
52 Pickup
3.98 avg. rating
· 6132 Ratings
Detroit businessman Harry Mitchell is a self-made man, happily married for over twenty-two years and a pillar of the community. But then he slips--he meets a young "model" and begins an affair. One ni…
Rate it:
Caravaggio: The Complete Works
4.65 avg. rating
· 137 Ratings
Sublime blasphemy?  The complete œuvre of the dark genius who revolutionized European painting
  Caravaggio, or more accurately Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio (1571–1610), was a legend even in his …
Rate it:
The King's General
3.95 avg. rating
· 1497 Ratings
Honor Harris is only eighteen when she first meets Richard Grenvile, proud, reckless - and utterly captivating. But following a riding accident, Honor must reconcile herself to a life alone. As the En…
Rate it:
The Language of Food: A Linguist Reads the Menu
Why do we eat toast for breakfast, and then toast to good health at dinner? What does the turkey we eat on Thanksgiving have to do with the country on the eastern Mediterranean? Can you figure out how…
Rate it:
Essayism
4.22 avg. rating
· 331 Ratings
The essay is a venerable form that may well be the genre of the future. It has its origins in a mode of self-examination and even self-obsession - 'it is many years now that I have had only myself as …
Rate it:
High Five
3.79 avg. rating
· 874 Ratings
A #1 New York Times bestseller from the creators of the beloved Dragons Love Tacos comes a rollicking, rhyme-tastic, interactive high five competition--starring YOU!

Discover the lost art of the high f…
Rate it:
Flappers and Philosophers
4.01 avg. rating
· 3263 Ratings
By the Irish American Jazz Age novelist and short story writer regarded as one of the greatest American writers of the twentieth century. He was the self-styled spokesman of the "Lost Generation" and …
Rate it:
New Hampshire
4.07 avg. rating
· 295 Ratings
New Hampshire is a volume of poems written by Robert Frost, for which he received the Pulitzer Prize. The titular poem is the longest, and it has cross-references to 14 of the following poems. These a…
Rate it:
LaBrava
3.81 avg. rating
· 2467 Ratings
Photographer Joe LaBrava specialises in capturing the soul of Miami's street life & since he used to do dirty jobs for the government, he understands his subject very well. So when his friend Maury en…
Rate it:
Just Us: An American Conversation
4.42 avg. rating
· 1903 Ratings
Claudia Rankine's Citizen changed the conversation--Just Us urges all of us into it

As everyday white supremacy becomes increasingly vocalized with no clear answers at hand, how best might we approach …
Rate it:
Little Red Sleigh
4.00 avg. rating
· 78 Ratings
Believe in the magic of Christmas with this heartwarming Christmas picture book about the little red sleigh that could!

The Little Red Sleigh has one big dream—to one day become Santa's big red sleigh!…
Rate it:
Miami: City of the Future
3.96 avg. rating
· 28 Ratings
With trenchant observations and witty prose, T. D. Allman takes readers on a tour of Miami's people, cultures, politics, and neighborhoods. In doing so he lays out a portrait of the profound changes o…
Rate it:
Styles of Radical Will
4.16 avg. rating
· 502 Ratings
Styles of Radical Will, Susan Sontag's second collection of essays, extends the investigations she undertook in Against Interpretation with essays on film, literature, politics, and a groundbreaking s…
Rate it:
Joey: The Story of Joe Biden
3.28 avg. rating
· 1105 Ratings
“(Jill) Biden’s anecdotal portrait of her spouse’s early years spotlights his competitiveness and risk-taking…his role as a peacemaker, devoted brother, and defender of bullied peers…and reveals how…h…
Rate it: