Books similar to Daddy Lenin and Other Stories

Daddy Lenin and Other Stories
3.80 avg. rating
· 296 Ratings
Bestselling author Guy Vanderhaeghe’s new book of fiction is both timely and timeless and showcases his supreme talent as a storyteller and poignant observer of the human condition.

Among these nine…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
A Beauty
3.44 avg. rating
· 193 Ratings
A spellbinding and highly original novel that gives a new name to the Prairie Novel by one of the most exciting new literary voices in Canada. For readers of Alice Munro, Elizabeth Hay, and Marina En…
Rate it:
Stones
3.75 avg. rating
· 425 Ratings
In this collection of nine short stories Findley gives us a three-tiered look at life in the eighties as he explores the realities of contemporary relationships, offers imaginative visions of urban l…
Rate it:
Zolitude
3.48 avg. rating
· 119 Ratings
Paige Cooper’s short stories catalogue moments in love. These are stories about women who built time machines when they were nine, or who predict cataclysm, or who think their dreams are reality. The…
Rate it:
Hard Light
4.05 avg. rating
· 114 Ratings
In Hard Light, Michael Crummey retells and reinvents his father's stories of outport Newfoundland and the Labrador fishery of a half century ago. Speaking through generations of storytellers, he conj…
Rate it:
Sleeping Funny
3.75 avg. rating
· 165 Ratings
Sleeping Funny is that rare book--a debut that introduces us to a fully mature writer, one who instantly draws you in with her lean style, empathy and wit, and keeps you reading, with growing admirat…
Rate it:
Why Men Lie (The Cape Breton Trilogy #3)

From the bestselling author of The Bishop’s Man, winner of the Scotiabank Giller Prize, a brilliant, deeply wise and challenging new novel.
 
Why do men lie? Effie MacAskill Gillis, a self-sufficient w…

Rate it:
Hellgoing
3.40 avg. rating
· 1535 Ratings
Winner of the 2013 Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Shortlisted for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. Selected as an Amazon.ca Best Book and for The Globe's Top 10 Books of 2013.


With astonishing range…
Rate it:
Dropped Threads: What We Aren't Told
3.69 avg. rating
· 585 Ratings
The idea came up over lunch between two old friends. There was a need for a book that, eschewing sensationalism and simplistic answers, would examine the holes in the fabric of women’s talk of the la…
Rate it:
Once You Break a Knuckle
3.66 avg. rating
· 178 Ratings
  Set in the remote Kootenay Valley in western Canada, Once You Break a Knuckle tells stories of good people doing bad things: two bullied adolescents sabotage a rope swing, resulting in another boy’…
Rate it:
Incidents in the Life of Markus Paul
Highly charged and profoundly important, Incidents in the Life of Markus Paul is a new masterpiece from one of Canada’s greatest writers.
 
On a bright morning in June 1985, a young Micmac man starts h…
Rate it:
Close to Hugh
3.26 avg. rating
· 250 Ratings
As in her bestselling, Giller-shortlisted novel Good to a Fault, Marina Endicott returns with her sharply observant eye, compassionate heart and witty pen to the trappings and travails of modern life…
Rate it:
Willem De Kooning's Paintbrush
3.57 avg. rating
· 108 Ratings
An unflinching and masterful collection of award-winning stories, Willem de Kooning’s Paintbrush is a career-making debut. Ranging from an island holiday gone wrong to a dive bar on the upswing to a…
Rate it:
The Dark and Other Love Stories
3.76 avg. rating
· 377 Ratings
“The emotional range and depth of [Willis’s stories], the clarity and deftness are astonishing.”—Alice Munro

The characters in the thirteen stories that comprise The Dark and Other Love Stories exist…
Rate it:
Moving Forward Sideways Like a Crab
3.41 avg. rating
· 368 Ratings
Jonathan Lewis-Adey was nine when his parents, who were raising him in a tree-lined Toronto neighbourhood, separated and his mother, Sid, vanished from his life. It was not until he was a grown man,…
Rate it:
Small Change
3.48 avg. rating
· 180 Ratings
A collection of linked stories that navigate the difficult realm of friendship, charting its beginnings and endings, its intimacies and betrayals, its joys and humiliations.
Rate it:
Carried Away: A Personal Selection of Stories
Carried Away is a dazzling selection of stories–seventeen favorites chosen by the author from across her distinguished career.

Alice Munro has been repeatedly hailed as one of our greatest living writ…
Rate it:
Earth and High Heaven
3.93 avg. rating
· 146 Ratings
Earth and High Heaven is, simply, a drama of human relationships -- of two people in love who are confronted by the obstacle of racial intolerance -- presented with such cutting truth, such fidelity…
Rate it:
When The Saints
4.09 avg. rating
· 273 Ratings
Is it possible to redeem a family name that has been spoken as a curse word for generations?

A decade after being cast off to live with strangers, Tabby Saint returns to Solace River, Nova Scotia, to…
Rate it:
Born with a Tooth
4.02 avg. rating
· 777 Ratings
Almost a decade after its original publication, award winner and Governor General Literary Award nominee Joseph Boyden's classic book of short stories is finally being reissued. Born With A Tooth, Bo…
Rate it:
River Talk
4.04 avg. rating
· 111 Ratings
Surefooted and emotionally deft, the stories in River Talk introduce an unforgettable array of characters. A woman reconsiders her decision to join a fundamentalist compound and enter a polygamous ma…
Rate it:
The Back of the Turtle
4.08 avg. rating
· 1960 Ratings
This is Thomas King’s first literary novel in 15 years and follows on the success of the award-winning and bestselling The Inconvenient Indian and his beloved Green Grass, Running Water and Truth and…
Rate it: