Books similar to Scales of Gold (The House of Niccolo, #4)

Scales of Gold (The House of Niccolo, #4)
With the bravura storytelling and pungent authenticity of detail she brought to her acclaimed Lymond Chronicles, Dorothy Dunnett, grande dame of the historical novel, presents The House of Niccolò ser…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
The Empire of Gold (The Daevabad Trilogy, #3)
The final chapter in the bestselling, critically acclaimed Daevabad Trilogy, in which a con-woman and an idealistic djinn prince join forces to save a magical kingdom from a devastating civil war.

Daev…
Rate it:
Upright Women Wanted
3.71 avg. rating
· 4081 Ratings
In Upright Women Wanted, award-winning author Sarah Gailey reinvents the pulp Western with an explicitly antifascist, near-future story of queer identity.

"That girl's got more wrong notions than a bar…
Rate it:
The Mirror & the Light
4.44 avg. rating
· 6373 Ratings
If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?

England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains are bund…
Rate it:
The Best of Robert E. Howard: Crimson Shadows (Volume 1)
Robert E. Howard is one of the most famous and influential pulp authors of the twentieth century. Though largely known as the man who invented the sword-and-sorcery genre-and for his iconic hero Conan…
Rate it:
Purity of Blood (Adventures of Captain Alatriste, #2)
The second swashbuckling adventure in the internationally acclaimed Captain Alatriste series Captain Alatriste, Madrid’s most charismatic swashbuckler, returns in Perez-Reverte’s acclaimed internation…
Rate it:
Power Through Prayer
4.33 avg. rating
· 1029 Ratings
Do you want to pray with power? Are you experiencing the abundant life? You can discover how effective prayers will transform you into a dynamic Christian with a deeper understanding of the Word. Pers…
Rate it:
The Purple Emperor
3.86 avg. rating
· 6101 Ratings
When Henry Atherton returned to his own life in the suburbs of London, he thought all was well in the Faerie Ream. His new friend Pyrgus, the crown prince of Faerie, was about to be coronated as Purpl…
Rate it:
Conan Lord of the Black River
3.32 avg. rating
· 68 Ratings
When Queen Rufia entreats the Cinnerian to save her city from the undead with Zeriti's spell, the mighty warrior must strive to overcome his dread of the supernatural. For to undo the hex he must jour…
Rate it:
The Joy of Conflict Resolution: Transforming Victims, Villains and Heroes in the Workplace and at Home
The rapid rate of change in the workplace and among families often leads to conflict and confrontation which can undermine productivity and poison relationships. The Joy of Conflict Resolution helps r…
Rate it:
The Categories
3.90 avg. rating
· 679 Ratings
This scarce antiquarian book is a facsimile reprint of the original. Due to its age, it may contain imperfections such as marks, notations, marginalia and flawed pages. Because we believe this work is…
Rate it:
Prior Analytics
3.74 avg. rating
· 88 Ratings
"This volume is an impressive tour de force. It is state-of-the-art Aristotle: it employs the most recent philological, philosophical, and logical advances which since the 1970’s at least have rendere…
Rate it:
White Fang
4.34 avg. rating
· 3284 Ratings
Fast-moving and accessible, each story in this series is a shortened, illustrated version of the classic novel, which loses none of the strength and flavour of the original. Each book also contains bi…
Rate it:
Conan the Wanderer (Conan, #4)
4.06 avg. rating
· 2904 Ratings
Contents:

9 • Introduction (Conan the Wanderer) • essay by L. Sprague de Camp
13 • Black Tears • [Conan Universe] • novelette by L. Sprague de Camp and Lin Carter
46 • Shadows in Zamboula • [Conan Univer…
Rate it:
The Sun Over Breda (Adventures of Captain Alatriste, #3)
The era of glorious captains, glorious attacks, and glorious booty was now long past, and the conflict had become a kind of long and tedious chess game in which strongholds were besieged, changed hand…
Rate it:
The Immortal Prince (Tide Lords, #1)
3.96 avg. rating
· 3516 Ratings
He's insisting he's a Tide Lord and he's begging us to try again...to kill him, that is.

When a routine hanging goes wrong, the survivor announces he is Cayal the immortal Prince, a Tide Lord. However,…
Rate it:
Queen of the Fae (Dragon's Gift: The Dark Fae #3)
I am destined to kill my fated mate.

Fate is a meddling b*tch. First, it decreed that my mate would be Tarron, King of the Seelie Fae. He's gorgeous, arrogant, and for the longest time, I hated him. Un…
Rate it:
Istanbul Passage
3.59 avg. rating
· 4083 Ratings
From the acclaimed, bestselling author of Stardust, The Good German, and Los Alamos a gripping tale of an American undercover agent in 1945 Istanbul who descends into the murky cat-and-mouse world of…
Rate it:
The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen #19)
THE HOUSE OF FOUR is the brand new Istanbul crime thriller featuring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph) from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon.

Everyone in the Istan…
Rate it:
Miss Pym Disposes
3.99 avg. rating
· 6279 Ratings
To Lucy Pym, author of a best-seller on Psychology, the atmosphere at the college where she is lecturing is heavy with tension. Beneath the so normal surface run sinister undercurrents of rivalry and …
Rate it:
Under Heaven (Under Heaven, #1)
4.14 avg. rating
· 9866 Ratings
In Under Heaven, Kay tells a story of honor and power, this time in a setting that evokes the dazzling Tang Dynasty of eighth-century China. In recognition of his service to the Emperor of Kitai, Shen…
Rate it:
אהבתה של גברת רוטשילד
3.67 avg. rating
· 138 Ratings
In this award-winning historical saga, passionate young lovers in a Jewish ghetto rise to become the foremost financial dynasty in the world.

It is the turn of the eighteenth century in Frankfurt, Germ…
Rate it:
Say Yes to the Duke (The Wildes of Lindow Castle, #5)
A shy wallflower meets her dream man—or does she?—in the next book in New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James' Wildes of Lindow series.

Miss Viola Astley is so painfully shy that she’s horrified…
Rate it:
In the Name of Rome: The Men Who Won the Roman Empire
The complete and definitive history of how Roman generals carved out the greatest and longest-lasting empire the world has ever seen.

The Roman army was one of the most effective fighting forces in his…
Rate it:
Conan and the Spider God (Book 18)

Conan is back, and at the top of his form!

SFWA Grand Master L. Sprague de Camp was revered in the genre of fantasy for both his fiction and nonfiction. Booklist praised his novel The Honorable Barbari…
Rate it:
Essen Defiant (Ring of Fire)
3.50 avg. rating
· 8 Ratings
Whether it was a blessed miracle or a disastrous catastrophe, the arrival of Grantville in Europe in the year 1631 created changes that are long-lasting and spreading wider and wider as time passes. I…
Rate it:
Euthyphro
3.92 avg. rating
· 5649 Ratings
Awaiting his trial on charges of impiety and heresy, Socrates encounters Euthyphro, a self-proclaimed authority on matters of piety and the will of the gods. Socrates, desiring instruction in these ma…
Rate it:
Spellbound (Crossbreed, #8; Mageriverse #22)
FULL LENGTH NOVEL
“We all are both heroes and villains in our own story.”

Niko is caught in a powerful spell that was cast from the very book he sought to protect. Trapped between life and death, his …
Rate it:
The Conquering Family (The Plantagenets, #1)
Thomas B. Costain's four-volume history of the Plantagenets begins with THE CONQUERING FAMILY and the conquest of England by William the Conqueror in 1066, closing with the reign of John in 1216.

The t…

Rate it:
The Sinister Mystery of the Mesmerizing Girl (The Extraordinary Adventures of the Athena Club, #3)
Mary Jekyll and the Athena Club race to save Alice—and foil a plot to unseat the Queen, in the electrifying conclusion to the trilogy that began with the Nebula Award finalist and Locus Award winner T…
Rate it:
Lives of the Eminent Philosophers, Vol 1
The lives and deaths of the Greek philosophers as written by Diogenes Läertius in the 3rd century. Includes Plato, Aristotle, and Socrates. "I for one prefer reading Diogenes Läertius. [His is] the on…
Rate it: