Books similar to The Animal Factory

The Animal Factory
3.95 avg. rating
· 977 Ratings
The Animal Factory goes deep into San Quentin, a world of violence and paranoia, where territory and status are ever-changing and possibly fatal commodities. Ron Decker is a newbie, a drug dealer whos…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Miami Blues (Hoke Moseley #1)
3.95 avg. rating
· 3152 Ratings
After a brutal day investigating a quadruple homicide, Detective Hoke Moseley settles into his room at the un-illustrious El Dorado Hotel and nurses a glass of brandy. With his guard down, he doesn’t …
Rate it:
The Friends of Eddie Coyle
4.06 avg. rating
· 4795 Ratings
Eddie Coyle works for Jimmy Scalisi, supplying him with guns for a couple of bank jobs. But a cop named Foley is on to Eddie and he's leaning on him to finger Scalisi, a gang leader with a lot to hide…
Rate it:
Another Day in Paradise
4.04 avg. rating
· 257 Ratings
In the tradition of Jim Carroll's Basketball Diaries, Eddie Little's debut novel traces the outlaw life of a young Irish American. A teenage speed freak and petty thief, Bobbie and his Puerto Rican gi…
Rate it:
Millennium People
3.45 avg. rating
· 667 Ratings
Violent rebellion comes to London’s middle classes in this “fascinating” (San Francisco Chronicle) novel from the same author of Crash and Empire of the Sun. Never more timely, Millennium People “seek…
Rate it:
Caught Stealing (Hank Thompson, #1)
4.07 avg. rating
· 4947 Ratings
It’s three thousand miles from the green fields of glory, where Henry “call me Hank” Thompson once played California baseball, to the Lower East Side of Manhattan, where the tenements are old, the ren…
Rate it:
Super-Cannes
3.71 avg. rating
· 3477 Ratings
Eden-Olympia is more than just a multinational business park, it is a virtual city-state in itself, built for the most elite high-tech industries. Isolated and secure, the residents lack nothing, yet …
Rate it:
Alexandros: La trilogia (Alexandros, #1-3)
Conquistò imperi, toccando i confini del mondo allora conosciuto. La sua figura, ancora oggi divinizzata, è sinonimo di insuperabile grandezza. Questa trilogia ci porta nel cuore dell'epica di Alessan…
Rate it:
The Magic Christian
3.49 avg. rating
· 1088 Ratings
One of the funniest, cruelest, and most savagely revealing books about American life ever written, The Magic Christian has been called Terry Southern's masterpiece. Guy Grand is an eccentric billionai…
Rate it:
Napoleon: The Sun of Austerlitz (Napoleon #2)
Napoleon is thirty years old in November 1799, and about to lead France into a new century as First Consul. At Notre Dame in five years he will be crowned Emperor of France, and Josephine his Empress.…
Rate it:
Napoleon: The Emperor of Kings (Napoleon #3)
It is 1806 and Napoleon is master of an empire covering half of Europe. He subdues kings, conquers woman, and defies the Pope himself over the Continental Blockade. In this dazzling mix of history and…
Rate it:
Napoleon: The Song of Departure (Napoleon, #1)
In May 1779, the son of a prominent but poor Corsican family arrives at a military school in eastern France. Barely able to speak the language and fiercely proud of his Genoese heritage, it will never…
Rate it:
Napoleon: The Immortal of St Helena (Napoleon, #4)
In 1812, Napoleon enters Russia at the head of 500,000 men. An ocean of fire destroys Moscow, and a chaos of ice and snow engulfs the Grand Army. For the first time, the Eagle bows its head. F…
Rate it:
Jack the Ripper: The Story of the Whitechapel Murderer (True Crime Book 5)
Jack the Ripper
* * *Download for FREE on Kindle Unlimited + Free BONUS Inside!* * *

Read On Your Computer, MAC, Smartphone, Kindle Reader, iPad, or Tablet.


In 1888, between August and November, t…
Rate it:
Napoleon
4.10 avg. rating
· 106 Ratings
Rate it:
Pierre-Auguste Renoir: A Life from Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 4)
Discover the remarkable life of Pierre-Auguste Renoir...
Free BONUS Inside!

Pierre-August Renoir, leader of the nineteenth-century Impressionist movement, spent his entire life perfecting his style…
Rate it:
Mythology: A Captivating Guide to Greek Mythology, Egyptian Mythology, Norse Mythology, Celtic Mythology and Roman Mythology
Explore Captivating Stories of Gods, Goddesses, Monsters, and Mortals while Learning Fascinating Facts about Five Mythologies
This book includes five captivating manuscripts:
Greek Mythology: C…
Rate it:
The Kingdom of the Wicked
3.94 avg. rating
· 427 Ratings
A Roman saga, taking in the excesses of Tiberius, Caligula and Nero and an irreverent account of the early days of Christianity. Sadoc, a dying shipping clerk, sets down for future generations a tale …
Rate it:
Franklin D. Roosevelt: A Life From Beginning to End
Franklin D. Roosevelt
* * *Download for FREE on Kindle Unlimited + Free BONUS Inside!* * *

Read On Your Computer, MAC, Smartphone, Kindle Reader, iPad, or Tablet.


One of America’s most influential…
Rate it:
The Amateurs
4.06 avg. rating
· 1226 Ratings
Gary Irvine is pretty happy in Ardgirvan, a small town on Scotland's west coast. Only two things would improve his life - children and a lower golf handicap. Both are unlikely. The former because Gary…
Rate it:
A Walk on the Wild Side
3.97 avg. rating
· 1162 Ratings
With its depiction of the downtrodden prostitutes, bootleggers, and hustlers of Perdido Street in the old French Quarter of 1930s New Orleans, A Walk on the Wild Side found a place in the imagination …
Rate it:
The Unlimited Dream Company
3.70 avg. rating
· 686 Ratings
When a light aircraft crashes into the Thames at Shepperton, the young pilot who struggles to the surface minutes later seems to have come back from the dead. Within hours everything in the dormitory …
Rate it:
Running Wild
3.47 avg. rating
· 1953 Ratings
The thirty-two adult members of an exclusive residential community in West London are brutally murdered, and their children are abducted, leaving no trace. Through the forensic diary of Dr. Richard Gr…
Rate it:
Any Old Iron
3.61 avg. rating
· 375 Ratings
Any Old Iron is prodigious entertainment, a grand and boisterous novel that sweeps us up and hurls us pell-mell through the major events of this century.

Once in the land of Attila; then in that of Art…
Rate it:
You've Had Your Time: Second Part of the Confessions
The second volume of the two-volume autobiography.

The narrative begins in 1959, with the author’s return from Brunei and the start of a professional writing career and ends in 1982 with the centenary …
Rate it:
The Family
3.94 avg. rating
· 2123 Ratings
In August of 1969, during two bloody evenings of paranoid, psychedelic savagery, Charles Manson and his dystopic communal family helped to wreck the dreams of the Love Generation. At least nine people…
Rate it:
Kingdom Come
3.53 avg. rating
· 1313 Ratings
A violent novel filled with insidious twists, Kingdom Come follows the exploits of Richard Pearson, a rebellious, unemployed advertising executive, whose father is gunned down by a deranged mental pat…
Rate it:
The Wanting Seed
3.71 avg. rating
· 5640 Ratings
Tristram Foxe and his wife, Beatrice-Joanna, live in their skyscraper world where official family limitation glorifies homosexuality. Eventually, their world is transformed into a chaos of cannibalist…
Rate it:
Shakespeare
3.88 avg. rating
· 216 Ratings
Entre los numerosos biógrafos de Shakesperare, ninguno aporta al sunto tratado tanta pasión como Anthony Burguess ni más sentimiento al acto creativo. En su esfuerzo por establecer los principales dat…
Rate it:
A Dead Man in Deptford
3.84 avg. rating
· 963 Ratings
With A Dead Man in Deptford, Burgess concluded his literary career to overwhelming acclaim for his re-creation of the Elizabethan poet Christopher Marlowe. In lavish, pitch-perfect, and supple, readab…
Rate it:
Little Wilson and Big God
4.13 avg. rating
· 253 Ratings
The first volume of the two-volume autobiography.

In an extraordinarily candid book of confessions, Anthony Burgess tells the story of a disaffected Manchester Catholic from his birth in 1917 up to 195…
Rate it: