Books similar to Naked Lunch

Naked Lunch
3.48 avg. rating
· 78171 Ratings
The book is structured as a series of loosely connected vignettes. Burroughs stated that the chapters are intended to be read in any order. The reader follows the narration of junkie William Lee, who …
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Imperial Bedrooms
3.15 avg. rating
· 18344 Ratings
Twenty-five years on from "Less Than Zero", we pick up again with "Clay".

In 1985, Bret Easton Ellis shocked, stunned, and disturbed with "Less Than Zero", his 'extraordinarily accomplished first nove…
Rate it:
Last Exit to Brooklyn
3.84 avg. rating
· 25592 Ratings
Few novels have caused as much debate as Hubert Selby Jr.'s notorious masterpiece, Last Exit to Brooklyn, and this Penguin Modern Classics edition includes an introduction by Irvine Welsh, author of T…
Rate it:
Skagboys (Mark Renton #1)
3.90 avg. rating
· 18064 Ratings
Mark Renton has it all: he's good-looking, young, with a pretty girlfriend and a place at university. But there's no room for him in the 1980s. Thatcher's government is destroying working-class commun…
Rate it:
Lunar Park
3.65 avg. rating
· 29823 Ratings
Bret Ellis, the narrator of Lunar Park, is a writer whose first novel Less Than Zero catapulted him to international stardom while he was still in college. In the years that followed, he found himself…
Rate it:
The Cement Garden
3.50 avg. rating
· 23349 Ratings
In this tour de force of psychological unease - now a major motion picture starring Charlotte Gainsbourg and Sinead Cusack - McEwan excavates the ruins of childhood and uncovers things that most adult…
Rate it:
Brighton Rock
3.67 avg. rating
· 26415 Ratings
ISBN 9780099478478 moved to this edition.
A gang war is raging through the dark underworld of Brighton. Seventeen-year-old Pinkie, malign and ruthless, has killed a man. Believing he can escape retribu…
Rate it:
The Girl Next Door
3.83 avg. rating
· 22449 Ratings
Suburbia. Shady, tree-lined streets, well-tended lawns and cozy homes. A nice, quiet place to grow up. Unless you are teenage Meg or her crippled sister, Susan. On a dead-end street, in the dark, damp…
Rate it:
Less Than Zero
3.58 avg. rating
· 68460 Ratings
Set in Los Angeles in the early 1980's, this coolly mesmerizing novel is a raw, powerful portrait of a lost generation who have experienced sex, drugs, and disaffection at too early an age, in a world…
Rate it:
Invisible Monsters
3.93 avg. rating
· 25508 Ratings
She's a catwalk model who has everything: a boyfriend, a career, a loyal best friend. But when a sudden motor 'accident' leaves her disfigured and incapable of speech, she goes from being the beautifu…
Rate it:
The Elephant Tree
4.16 avg. rating
· 75261 Ratings
Mark Fallon is an overworked detective investigating a spate of attacks at a string of high profile city centre nightclubs. Scott is a dejected 24 year old struggling to make ends meet working for his…
Rate it:
No Country for Old Men
4.11 avg. rating
· 142414 Ratings
In his blistering new novel, Cormac McCarthy returns to the Texas-Mexico border, the setting of his famed Border Trilogy. The time is our own, when rustlers have given way to drug-runners and small to…
Rate it:
On the Road
3.63 avg. rating
· 316966 Ratings
A quintessential novel of America & the Beat Generation On the Road chronicles Jack Kerouac's years traveling the N. American continent with his friend Neal Cassady, "a sideburned hero of the snowy We…
Rate it:
The Long Walk
4.10 avg. rating
· 114791 Ratings
On the first day of May, 100 teenage boys meet for a race known as "The Long Walk." If you break the rules, you get three warnings. If you exceed your limit, what happens is absolutely terrifying.
Rate it:
The Trial
3.98 avg. rating
· 194432 Ratings
Written in 1914 but not published until 1925, a year after Kafka’s death, The Trial is the terrifying tale of Josef K., a respectable bank officer who is suddenly and inexplicably arrested and must de…
Rate it:
The Secret History
4.10 avg. rating
· 298062 Ratings
Under the influence of their charismatic classics professor, a group of clever, eccentric misfits at an elite New England college discover a way of thinking and living that is a world away from the hu…
Rate it:
Lost in Yaba: Down and Out in Laos
3.63 avg. rating
· 972 Ratings
Lost in Yaba is a true story about an expat who becomes addicted to the infamous drug 'yaba' in Laos. Walt Gleeson planned to only go to Laos on a visa trip from Thailand, but he ended up staying in V…
Rate it:
A Gallery of Mothers (Brathius History #2)
Rate it:
Dark Days of the After (Dark Days of the After #1)
In the near future, the Constitution is outlawed, the government is ceremonial at best and the country is about to lose her name. No one knows how this happened, or why America prostrated herself to t…
Rate it:
Seeking Safety (Gateway to Chaos #1)
3.89 avg. rating
· 2948 Ratings

A massive cyber-attack crippled half the nation's power grid.

A super EMP took care of the rest.

While a cyber-attack crippled half the nation’s power grid, enemies of the United States
launc…

Rate it:
Shadow Fall (Shadow Fall, #1)
3.93 avg. rating
· 551 Ratings
Perfect for fans of Secondborn, The Hunger Games, and Maze Runner, this dark dystopian tale of survival, intrigue, and slow-burn romance will grip you until the very last page.

My name is Maia Grayston…
Rate it: