Books similar to The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes

The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes
From the moment it was first published in The New Yorker, this brilliant work of literary criticism aroused great attention. Janet Malcolm brings her shrewd intelligence to bear on the legend of Sylvi…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Red Comet: The Short Life and Blazing Art of Sylvia Plath
The first biography of this great and tragic poet that takes advantage of a wealth of new material, this is an unusually balanced, comprehensive and definitive life of Sylvia Plath.

*A BOOK OF THE YEAR…
Rate it:
Ariel: The Restored Edition
4.32 avg. rating
· 4247 Ratings
Sylvia Plath's famous collection, as she intended it.

When Sylvia Plath died, she not only left behind a prolific life but also her unpublished literary masterpiece, Ariel. When her husband, Ted Hughes…
Rate it:
Birthday Letters
3.93 avg. rating
· 7914 Ratings
Formerly Poet Laureate to Queen Elizabeth II, the late Ted Hughes (1930-98) is recognized as one of the few contemporary poets whose work has mythic scope and power. And few episodes in postwar litera…
Rate it:
The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath
4.18 avg. rating
· 17680 Ratings
First U.S. Publication

A major literary event--the complete, uncensored journals of Sylvia Plath, published in their entirety for the first time.

Sylvia Plath's journals were originally published in 198…
Rate it:
Stag's Leap: Poems
4.14 avg. rating
· 2914 Ratings
Stag’s Leap is stunningly poignant sequence of poems that tells the story of a divorce, embracing strands of love, sex, sorrow, memory, and new freedom.

In this wise and intimate telling—which carries…
Rate it:
Her Husband: Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath - A Marriage
Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath were husband and wife; they were also two of the most remarkable poets of the twentieth century. In this stunning new account of their marriage, Diane Middlebrook draws on …
Rate it:
Letters Home
4.23 avg. rating
· 2414 Ratings
Letters Home represents Sylvia Plath's correspondence from her time at Smith College in the early fifties, through her meeting with, and subsequent marriage to, the poet Ted Hughes, up to her death in…
Rate it:
Edie: American Girl
4.08 avg. rating
· 5563 Ratings
Revised, with a new cover

When Edie was first published, it quickly became an international best-seller and then took its place among the classic books about the 1960s. Edie Sedgwick exploded into the …
Rate it:
Ariel
4.22 avg. rating
· 51867 Ratings
Sylvia Plath's celebrated collection.

When Sylvia Plath died, she not only left behind a prolific life but also her unpublished literary masterpiece, Ariel. Her husband, Ted Hughes, brought the collect…
Rate it:
The Death of Francis Bacon
3.22 avg. rating
· 608 Ratings
Madrid.
Unfinished.
Man Dying.

A great painter lies on his deathbed.
Max Porter translates into seven extraordinary written pictures the explosive final workings of the artist's mind.
Rate it:
Rita Lee: Uma Autobiografia
4.34 avg. rating
· 1539 Ratings
Do primeiro disco voador ao último porre, Rita é consistente. Corajosa. Sem culpa nenhuma. Tanto que, ao ler o livro, várias vezes temos a sensação de estar diante de uma bio não autorizada, tamanha a…
Rate it:
Life with Picasso
4.07 avg. rating
· 2512 Ratings
Francoise Gilot was a young painter in Paris when she first met Picasso - he was sixty-two and she was twenty-one. During the following ten years they were lovers, worked closely together and she beca…
Rate it:
The Head of the Saint
3.72 avg. rating
· 391 Ratings
After walking for days across the harsh Brazilian landscape only to be rejected by his last living relative, Samuel finds his options for survival are dwindling fast - until he comes to the hollow hea…
Rate it:
Joe Gould's Secret
4.12 avg. rating
· 934 Ratings
Now a major motion picture starring Ian Holm, Hope Davis, and Stanley Tucci, who also directs.

Joseph Mitchell was a legendary New Yorker writer and the author of the national bestseller Up in the Old …
Rate it:
Searching for Mercy Street: My Journey Back to My Mother, Anne Sexton
Linda Gray Sexton's critically acclaimed memoir is an honest, unsparing account of the anguish and fierce love that bound a brilliant, difficult mother and the daughter she left behind. Linda Sexton w…
Rate it:
Asylum Road
3.90 avg. rating
· 188 Ratings
The taut, knife-sharp, compulsive second novel by the critically-acclaimed author Olivia Sudjic, for fans of FIRST LOVE, DAYS OF ABANDONMENT and HOT MILK

A couple drive from London to coastal Provence.…
Rate it:
Glass, Irony and God
4.34 avg. rating
· 3246 Ratings
Known as a remarkable classicist, Anne Carson weaves contemporary and ancient poetic strands with stunning style in Glass, Irony and God. This collection includes: "The Glass Essay," a powerful poem a…
Rate it:
Crow: From the Life and Songs of the Crow (Faber Library)
Crow was Ted Hughes's fourth book of poems for adults and a pivotal moment in his writing career. In it, he found both a structure and a persona that gave his vision a new power and coherence. A. Alva…
Rate it:
Mad Girl's Love Song: Sylvia Plath and Life Before Ted
A new biography of Sylvia Plath, a literary icon who continues to haunt, fascinate, and enthrall even now, fifty years after her death

On February 25 , 1956, twenty-three-year-old Sylvia Plath walked i…
Rate it:
A Book of Common Prayer
3.81 avg. rating
· 3223 Ratings
Writing with the telegraphic swiftness and microscopic sensitivity that have made her one of our most distinguished journalists, Joan Didion creates a shimmering novel of innocence and evil.A Book of …
Rate it:
Toda Poesia
4.34 avg. rating
· 1699 Ratings
Este volume percorre, pela primeira vez, a trajetória poética completa do autor curitibano, mestre do verso lapidar e da astúcia. Livros hoje clássicos como Distraídos venceremos e La vie en close, al…
Rate it:
Boy Parts
4.14 avg. rating
· 1893 Ratings
Irina obsessively takes explicit photographs of the average-looking men she persuades to model for her, scouted from the streets of Newcastle.

Placed on sabbatical from her dead-end bar job, she is off…
Rate it:
Bidu: Caminhos
4.33 avg. rating
· 806 Ratings
Em 'Caminhos', os autores Eduardo Damasceno e Luís Felipe Garrocho reimaginam de modo belíssimo a forma como Bidu e Franjinha, os dois primeiros personagens criados por Mauricio de Sousa, se tornaram …
Rate it:
Let Me Tell You What I Mean
3.99 avg. rating
· 1967 Ratings
From one of our most iconic and influential writers: a timeless collection of mostly early pieces that reveal what would become Joan Didion's subjects, including the press, politics, California robber…
Rate it:
The Weekend
3.26 avg. rating
· 1452 Ratings
#1 International Bestseller
Shortlisted for the Stella Prize 2020 * Longlisted for the 2020 Miles Franklin Award


"The Big Chill with a dash of Big Little Lies... Knife-sharp and deeply alive."--
Rate it:
Meu Tio Matou um Cara e Outras Histórias
A notícia estourou como uma bomba - ''meu tio matou um cara!''. É o que Duca, adolescente de classe média, conta no colégio para seus dois melhores amigos, Kid e Isa, por quem é apaixonado e quem, por…
Rate it:
Meu Tio
3.83 avg. rating
· 12 Ratings
A Cosac Naify presta uma homenagem a um dos diretores mais importantes do cinema mundial, Jacques Tati (1907-82), com dois livros: o romance "Meu tio", escrito por Jean-Claude Carrière (1931-).

O escr…
Rate it:
Good Morning, Midnight
3.97 avg. rating
· 839 Ratings
The last of the four novels Jean Rhys wrote in interwar Paris, Good Morning, Midnight is the culmination of a searing literary arc, which established Rhys as an astute observer of human tragedy. Her e…
Rate it:
Second Place
4.31 avg. rating
· 87 Ratings
From the author of the Outline trilogy, a fable of human destiny and decline, enacted in a closed system of intimate, fractured relationships.

A woman invites a famed artist to visit the remote coastal…
Rate it:
Louco: Fuga
4.24 avg. rating
· 449 Ratings
O seu nome é Licurgo Orival Umbelino Cafiaspirino de Oliveira, mas pode chamá-lo de Louco. Ele corre dos guardiões do silêncio, enquanto viaja pelas histórias para libertar um pássaro. Ou não? Em Fuga…
Rate it: