Books similar to Adam's Curse: The Science That Reveals Our Genetic Destiny

Adam's Curse: The Science That Reveals Our Genetic Destiny
By the nationally best-selling author of "The Seven Daughters of Eve," "Adam's Curse" investigates the ultimate evolutionary crisis: a man-free future. How is it possible that the Y chromosome, which …
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
زمن الخيول البيضاء
4.43 avg. rating
· 8504 Ratings
متزامنة مع الذكرى الستين لاحتلال فلسطين, تصدر (زمن الخيول البيضاء) رواية ملحمية استثنائية يتوج بها الشاعر والروائي إبراهيم نصرالله مشروعه الروائي الكبير ( الملهاة الفلسطينية ) الذي بدأ العمل عليه منذ …
Rate it:
Only a Promise (The Survivors' Club, #5)
3.87 avg. rating
· 3706 Ratings
Ralph Stockwood prides himself on being a leader, but when he convinced his friends to fight in the Napoleonic Wars, he never envisioned being the sole survivor. Racked with guilt over their deaths, R…
Rate it:
Dreamsnake
3.87 avg. rating
· 8105 Ratings
In a far-future, post-holocaust Earth, a young healer named Snake travels the world, healing the sick and injured with her companion, the alien dreamsnake. But she is being pursued. . . .
Rate it:
Brown Girl in the Ring
3.85 avg. rating
· 4153 Ratings
The rich and privileged have fled the city, barricaded it behind roadblocks, and left it to crumble. The inner city has had to rediscover old ways-farming, barter, herb lore. But now the monied need a…
Rate it:
Forty Thousand in Gehenna (Unionside, #1)
When forty thousand human colonists are abandoned on a planet called Gehenna for political reasons, and re-supply ships fail to arrive, collapse seems imminent. Yet over the next two centuries, the de…
Rate it:
Why We're Polarized
4.26 avg. rating
· 1737 Ratings
Discover how American politics became a toxic system, why we participate in it, and what it means for our future--from journalist, political commentator, and cofounder of Vox, Ezra Klein.

After Electio…
Rate it:
The Language of Genes
3.92 avg. rating
· 299 Ratings
Did you know that two of every three people reading this book will die for reasons connected with the genes they carry? That our DNA gradually changes with age, which is why older parents are more lik…
Rate it:
Servant of the Underworld (Obsidian and Blood, #1)
Year One-Knife, Tenochtitlan the capital of the Aztecs. The end of the world is kept at bay only by the magic of human sacrifice. A Priestess disappears from an empty room drenched in blood. Acatl, Hi…
Rate it:
بداية ونهاية
4.10 avg. rating
· 5238 Ratings
قد يلفت انتباهك اسم الرواية "بداية ونهاية "، ويتركك حائرًا متسائلًا، بداية ماذا؟ ونهاية ماذا؟ وسرعان ما ستتبدد تلك التّساؤلات من خلال سير الأحداث، فتدرك أنّ اسم الرّواية يختصر قصّتنا في كلمتين، ويضعها…
Rate it:
Boys of Alabama
3.53 avg. rating
· 397 Ratings
In this bewitching debut novel, a sensitive teen, newly arrived in Alabama, falls in love, questions his faith, and navigates a strange power. While his German parents don’t know what to make of a Sou…
Rate it:
Wednesday's Child (Inspector Banks, #6)
In New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson’s heart-racing tale of suspense the case of a missing child is inextricably linked to that of the murder of a young man, sen…
Rate it:
How to Write a Lot: A Practical Guide to Productive Academic Writing
All academics need to write, but many struggle to finish their dissertations, articles, books, or grant proposals. Writing is hard work and can be difficult to wedge into a frenetic academic schedule.…
Rate it:
Orphans of the Sky
3.80 avg. rating
· 8065 Ratings
A fix-up consisting of the novelette "Universe" (1941) and the novella "Common Sense" (1941). First published in 1963.

Hugh had been taught that, according to the ancient sacred writings, the Ship was …
Rate it:
Breaking India: Western Interventions in Dravidian and Dalit Faultlines
India's integrity is being undermined by three global networks that have well-established operating bases inside India: (i) Islamic radicalism linked with Pakistan, (ii) Maoists and Marxist radicals s…
Rate it:
Science and the Akashic Field: An Integral Theory of Everything
Introduces the embracing world-concept long sought by scientists, mystics, and sages: an Integral Theory of Everything

• Explains how modern science has rediscovered the Akashic Field of perennial phil…
Rate it:
The Science of Self-Realization
Within the interviews, lectures, essays, and letters of this book, Srila Prabhupada talks about practicing yoga in the modern age. Topics include karma and reincarnation superconsciousness, how to cho…
Rate it:
I Will Fear No Evil
3.68 avg. rating
· 10212 Ratings
Johann Sebastian Bach Smith is immensely rich; and very old. His mind is still keen, so he has surgeons transplant his brain into a new body; the body of his gorgeous, recently deceased secretary, Eun…
Rate it:
Indra's Net: Defending Hinduism's Philosophical Unity
Defending Hinduisms Philosophical Unity ,it is fashionable among intellectuals to assert that dharma traditions lacked any semblance of unity before the British period and that the contours of contemp…
Rate it:
The Yugas: Keys to Understanding Our Hidden Past, Emerging Present and Future Enlightenment
Today's view of history cannot account for ancient anomalies, such as the Pyramids and advanced knowledge contained in India's Vedas-but in 1894 an Indian sage gave us an explanation not only for our …
Rate it:
The Elephant, the Tiger, and the Cell Phone: Reflections on India, the Emerging 21st-Century Power
Interest in India has never been greater. Here Shashi Tharoor, one of the subcontinent's most respected writers and diplomats, offers precious insights into this complex, multifaceted land, which desp…
Rate it:
Status Anxiety
3.91 avg. rating
· 8411 Ratings
Anyone who’s ever lost sleep over an unreturned phone call or the neighbor’s Lexus had better read Alain de Botton’s irresistibly clear-headed new book, immediately. For in its pages, a master explica…
Rate it:
Only Enchanting (The Survivors' Club, #4)
3.86 avg. rating
· 4225 Ratings
The Survivors' Club: Six men and one woman, all wounded in the Napoleonic Wars, their friendship forged during their recovery at Penderris Hall in Cornwall. Now, in the fourth novel of the Survivors' …
Rate it:
Dinosaurs Rediscovered: The Scientific Revolution in Paleontology
Over the past twenty years, the study of dinosaurs has transformed into a true scientific discipline. New technologies have revealed secrets locked in prehistoric bones that no one could have previous…
Rate it:
The Warehouse
3.78 avg. rating
· 4064 Ratings
Cloud isn’t just a place to work. It’s a place to live. And when you’re here, you’ll never want to leave.

Paxton never thought he’d be working for Cloud, the giant tech company that’s eaten much of the…
Rate it:
Schopenhauer as Educator
4.08 avg. rating
· 223 Ratings
Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche (1844-1900) was a German philosopher. His writing included critiques of religion, morality, contemporary culture, philosophy and science, using a distinctive style and disp…
Rate it:
Past Reason Hated (Inspector Banks, #5)
From New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson comes this gripping thriller—in the tradition of Louise Penny and Elizabeth George—set in a picturesque Yorkshire village …
Rate it:
Preparing For Tantra: Creating The Psychological Ground For Practice
The preliminary practices of Tantra aren't a hurdle to be gotten through in order to get somewhere else; they're an extraordinarily rich collection of practices which have much to offer as a means of …
Rate it:
Remember, Remember: A Cultural History of Guy Fawkes Day
In the early hours of November 5, 1605, Guy Fawkes, an English Catholic who had served with the Spanish army in Flanders, was discovered in a storeroom under the Palace of Westminster--and with him, t…
Rate it:
Black Wings Has My Angel
4.14 avg. rating
· 1016 Ratings
Chaze's long-lost noir classic, a legend among noir buffs, is back in print for the first time in nearly half a century. The one book Black Lizard never published, it's the dream-like tale of a man af…
Rate it: