Books similar to Mozart and Leadbelly

Mozart and Leadbelly
3.75 avg. rating
· 106 Ratings
In this collection of stories and essays, the beloved author of the classic, best-selling novel A Lesson Before Dying shares the inspirations behind his books and his reasons for becoming a writer. To…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Narrative of Sojourner Truth
4.15 avg. rating
· 7719 Ratings
One of the most famous and admired African-American women in U.S. history, Sojourner Truth sang, preached, and debated at camp meetings across the country, led by her devotion to the antislavery movem…
Rate it:
The Last Agent (Charles Jenkins, #2)
4.37 avg. rating
· 9781 Ratings
An Amazon Charts, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal bestselling series.

An American operative in Russia is on the run for his life in a thriller of heart-stopping betrayal and international intr…
Rate it:
In Her Tracks (Tracy Crosswhite, #8)
4.59 avg. rating
· 4680 Ratings
An Amazon Charts and Wall Street Journal bestselling series.

What family secrets are behind two disappearances? Seattle detective Tracy Crosswhite is determined to uncover the truth in the latest insta…
Rate it:
The Jury Master (David Sloane, #1)
4.15 avg. rating
· 4817 Ratings
In a courtroom, David Sloane can grab a jury and make it dance. He can read jurors' expressions, feel their emotions, know their thoughts. With this remarkable ability, Sloane gets juries to believe t…
Rate it:
Murder One (David Sloane #4)
4.40 avg. rating
· 5705 Ratings
In this riveting legal thriller from Robert Dugoni, the #1 Kindle bestselling author of MY SISTER’S GRAVE, attorney David Sloane takes on his first criminal case…defending the woman he loves.
Recoveri…
Rate it:
Wrongful Death (David Sloane, #2)
4.42 avg. rating
· 2336 Ratings
New York Times bestselling author Robert Dugoni tackles hot-button issues in this riveting legal thriller featuring attorney David Sloane. When a widow asks Sloane to take her case against the militar…
Rate it:
Bodily Harm (David Sloane, #3)
4.45 avg. rating
· 3550 Ratings
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR ROBERT DUGONI RETURNS WITH HIS MOST EXHILARATING THRILLER TO DATE, A PULSE-POUNDING STORY OF CORPORATE GREED, ESPIONAGE, AND THE LENGTHS ONE MAN IS WILLING TO GO FOR …
Rate it:
The Woman Who Smashed Codes: A True Story of Love, Spies, and the Unlikely Heroine who Outwitted America's Enemies
Joining the ranks of Hidden Figures and In the Garden of Beasts, the incredible true story of the greatest codebreaking duo that ever lived, an American woman and her husband who invented the modern s…
Rate it:
A Drop of Midnight: A Memoir
4.26 avg. rating
· 1348 Ratings

World-renowned hip-hop artist Jason “Timbuktu” Diakité’s vivid and intimate journey through his own and his family’s history—from South Carolina slavery to twenty-first-century Sweden.

Born to inte…

Rate it:
Sparta
3.76 avg. rating
· 647 Ratings
Going from peace to war can make a young man into a warrior. Going from war to peace can destroy him.



Conrad Farrell has no family military heritage, but as a classics major at Williams College, he has…
Rate it:
Inside Story
3.95 avg. rating
· 314 Ratings
This extraordinary novel gives the reader the heart-to-heart testimony of one of our finest writers – a wonder of literary invention and a boisterous modern classic

His most intimate and epic work to d…
Rate it:
Meatheads Say the Realest Things
5.00 avg. rating
· 4 Ratings
Meet Chad, a full-fledged Boston meathead-and gym-buff social misfit-whose shaky grasp of reality is anchored mainly by his unswerving loyalty to the New England Patriots. In Chad's world, routine enc…
Rate it:
Scrimmage Of Appetite
4.24 avg. rating
· 34 Ratings
In the midst of danger and disintegration, in poems ambitious and political without being sententious or partisan, Davis turns to the power of words for a way to reconcile the irreconcilable, praising…
Rate it:
The Trouble With Reality: A Rumination on Moral Panic in Our Time
Every week on the public radio show On the Media, the award-winning journalist Brooke Gladstone analyzes the media and how it shapes our perceptions of the world. Now, from her front-row perch on the …
Rate it:
Divine Days
4.38 avg. rating
· 34 Ratings
As the unanimous critical praise that greeted this novel attests, Divine Days is one of the most significant works of African American fiction since Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man. This huge oratorio o…
Rate it:
Figuring
4.34 avg. rating
· 1840 Ratings
Figuring explores the complexities of love and the human search for truth and meaning through the interconnected lives of several historical figures across four centuries--beginning with…
Rate it:
Conspiracy to Riot: The Life and Times of One of the Chicago 7
Rate it:
Made Men: The Story of Goodfellas
3.70 avg. rating
· 352 Ratings
For the thirtieth anniversary of its premiere comes the vivid and immersive history behind Martin Scorsese's signature film Goodfellas , hailed by critics as the greatest mob movie ever made.

When G…
Rate it:
This Isn't Happening: Radiohead's "Kid A" and the Beginning of the 21st Century
A Rolling Stone-Kirkus Best Music Book of 2020
"In this brilliant book, Steven Hyden goes deep into why Kid A matters—it's the fascinating saga of how the music turned into the symbol of a new cultural…
Rate it:
All the King's Men
4.05 avg. rating
· 53530 Ratings
More than just a classic political novel, Warren’s tale of power and corruption in the Depression-era South is a sustained meditation on the unforeseen consequences of every human act, the vexing conn…
Rate it:
True West
3.74 avg. rating
· 8466 Ratings
This American classic explores alternatives that might spring from the demented terrain of the California landscape. Sons of a desert dwelling alcoholic and a suburban wanderer clash over a film scrip…
Rate it:
Winter's Bone
3.85 avg. rating
· 26556 Ratings
The sheriff's deputy at the front door brings hard news to Ree Dolly. Her father has skipped bail on charges that he ran a crystal meth lab, and the Dollys will lose their house if he doesn't show up …
Rate it:
Chernobyl 01:23:40: The Incredible True Story of the World's Worst Nuclear Disaster
At 01:23:40 on April 26th 1986, Alexander Akimov pressed the emergency shutdown button at Chernobyl’s fourth nuclear reactor. It was an act that forced the permanent evacuation of a city, killed thous…
Rate it:
Brokeback Mountain
3.96 avg. rating
· 28101 Ratings
Annie Proulx has written some of the most original and brilliant short stories in contemporary literature, and for many readers and reviewers, "Brokeback Mountain" is her masterpiece.

Ennis del Mar a…

Rate it:
Big Bank Take Little Bank
4.00 avg. rating
· 51 Ratings
Rate it:
Books of Blood: Volumes One to Three (Books of Blood, #1-3)
"Everybody is a book of blood; wherever we're opened, we're red." For those who only know Clive Barker through his long multigenre novels, this one-volume edition of the Books of Blood is a welcome ch…
Rate it:
Exit to Eden
3.60 avg. rating
· 12957 Ratings
Welcome to the club to satisfy all your desires. In the Caribbean sun, the champagne flows and the games of pain and pleasure never stop. Lisa is the perfectionist. Elliot, the client. In their meetin…
Rate it:
A Forgotten Murder (Medlar Mystery, #3)
An English manor home, an unsolved mystery, too many suspects to count... It's the perfect holiday for romance novelist Sara Medlar.

After solving two murder cases in their hometown of Lachlan, Florida…
Rate it:
Lean Against This Late Hour
4.42 avg. rating
· 109 Ratings
A vivid, affecting portrait of life in the shadow of violence and loss, for readers of both English and Persian

The first selection of poems by renowned Iranian poet Garous Abdolmalekian to appear …
Rate it:
The Biggest Bluff: How I Learned to Pay Attention, Master Myself, and Win
The New York Times bestseller!

A New York Times Notable Book

"The tale of how Konnikova followed a story about poker players and wound up becoming a story herself will have you riveted, first as you le…
Rate it: