Books similar to Pattern in the Material Folk Culture of the Eastern United States

Pattern in the Material Folk Culture of the Eastern United States
What is folk culture? What distinguishes true folk creations from the cultural hybrids of commerce and popular innovation? To clarify this muddled situation and to provide clear standards and visual e…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
In Small Things Forgotten: An Archaeology of Early American Life
History is recorded in many ways. According to author James Deetz, the past can be seen most fully by studying the small things so often forgotten. Objects such as doorways, gravestones, musical instr…
Rate it:
Tales of the South Carolina Low Country
According to archivists at the Library of Congress, South Carolina is richer in folklore than any other state. After traveling almost every back road in several South Carolina counties, Nancy Rhyne wh…
Rate it:
What This Awl Means: Feminist Archaeology at a Wahpeton Dakota Village
This pioneering work focuses on excavations and discoveries at Little Rapids, a 19th-century Eastern Dakota planting village near present-day Minneapolis.
Rate it:
How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories (The Folk of the Air, #3.5)
An irresistible return to the captivating world of Elfhame.

Once upon a time, there was a boy with a wicked tongue.

Before he was a cruel prince or a wicked king, he was a faerie child with a heart of s…
Rate it:
The Tall Woman
4.32 avg. rating
· 685 Ratings
Lydia Moore grew up in the Appalachian region before the Civil War and married Mark McQueen shortly after it began. Her husband went off to fight for the Union while her father and brother fought for …
Rate it:
Confederate Statues and Memorialization (History in the Headlines Ser.)

Nine killed in Charleston church shooting. White supremacists demonstrate in Charlottesville. Monuments decommissioned in New Orleans and Chapel Hill. The headlines keep coming, and the debate rolls o…

Rate it:
Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, #1)
3.85 avg. rating
· 494895 Ratings
Twelve-year-old Artemis Fowl is a millionaire, a genius, and above all, a criminal mastermind. But even Artemis doesn't know what he's taken on when he kidnaps a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPr…
Rate it:
Down by the Riverside: A South Carolina Slave Community
In Down by the Riverside, Charles Joyner takes readers on a journey back in time, up the Waccamaw River through the Lowcountry of South Carolina, past abandoned rice fields once made productive by the…
Rate it:
A Man With One of Those Faces (The Dublin Trilogy #1)
The first time somebody tried to kill him was an accident.

The second time was deliberate.

Now Paul Mulchrone finds himself on the run with nobody to turn to except a nurse who has read one-too-many cri…
Rate it:
Recipes of my 15 Grandmothers
3.88 avg. rating
· 16 Ratings
Rate it:
Before the Ever After
4.17 avg. rating
· 6457 Ratings
Jacqueline Woodson's novel-in-verse explores how a family moves forward when their glory days have passed and the cost of professional sports on Black bodies.

For as long as ZJ can remember, his dad ha…
Rate it:
The Arctic Incident  (Artemis Fowl, #2)
3.94 avg. rating
· 136600 Ratings
Artemis Fowl wants to find his father, held hostage in Russia; Holly Short wants to find who’s supplying the goblins with human technology; Foaly wants to find out who’s disabled all the LEP Technolog…
Rate it:
The Falling Sky
3.30 avg. rating
· 280 Ratings
A blackly comic campus satire combined with a heart-breaking family mystery, The Falling Sky brilliantly mixes fiction and astronomy into a fascinating, compelling, and moving narrative.

Jeanette is a …
Rate it:
The Eternity Code (Artemis Fowl, #3)
4.02 avg. rating
· 119930 Ratings
Thirteen-year-old criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl has constructed a supercomputer from stolen fairy technology. In the wrong hands it could be fatal for humans and fairies alike. But no need to worry…
Rate it:
Illustrating Children's Books: Creating Pictures for Publication
The successful book illustrator starts by understanding his author's flight of fancy, then rendering the ideas and actions imaginatively in pictorial terms. This unusual and inspiring book was written…
Rate it:
The Wicked Deep
3.83 avg. rating
· 20034 Ratings
Welcome to the cursed town of Sparrow…

Where, two centuries ago, three sisters were sentenced to death for witchery. Stones were tied to their ankles and they were drowned in the deep waters surroundin…
Rate it:
The Coldest Girl in Coldtown
3.83 avg. rating
· 56325 Ratings
Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass th…
Rate it:
Witch Child (Witch Child, #1)
3.81 avg. rating
· 14431 Ratings
The spellbinding diary of a teenage girl who escapes persecution as a witch--only to face new intolerance in a Puritan settlement.

Enter the world of young Mary Newbury, a world where simply being diff…
Rate it:
The Many Lives & Secret Sorrows of Josephine B. (Josephine Bonaparte, #1)
Young Josephine Bonaparte shines at the center of a new, sweeping, romantic work of historical fiction by Sandra Gulland: detailed and exhaustively researched, compelling and powerful, The Many Lives …
Rate it:
Mostly Dead Things
3.40 avg. rating
· 10528 Ratings
One morning, Jessa-Lynn Morton walks into the family taxidermy shop to find that her father has committed suicide, right there on one of the metal tables. Shocked and grieving, Jessa steps up to manag…
Rate it:
Sisters Gonna Work It Out
4.29 avg. rating
· 85 Ratings
Sisters Gonna Work It Out is a novella that comes exclusively free with Angels in the Moonlight (see back of book for details).

The novella explores the origins of the mysterious Sisters of The Saint …
Rate it:
Murder on the Eiffel Tower (Victor Legris, #1)
Murder on the Eiffel Tower, by Izner, Claude; tr. By Isabel Reid
Rate it:
The Bluest Eye
4.08 avg. rating
· 160191 Ratings
The Bluest Eye is Toni Morrison's first novel, a book heralded for its richness of language and boldness of vision. Set in the author's girlhood hometown of Lorain, Ohio, it tells the story of black, …
Rate it:
Hoaxes, Humbugs and Spectacles: Astonishing Photographs of Smelt Wrestlers, Human Projectiles, Giant Hailstones, Contortionists, Elephant Impersonators and Much, Much More!
Rate it:
In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, #1)
3.82 avg. rating
· 76004 Ratings
As dusk approaches a small Dublin suburb in the summer of 1984, mothers begin to call their children home. But on this warm evening, three children do not return from the dark and silent woods. When t…
Rate it:
The Ghost in Apartment 2R
3.82 avg. rating
· 119 Ratings
What if there was a ghost in your brother's room?

This kid-friendly mystery about three friends who try to help a restless spirit find peace is perfect for fans of Under the Egg and The Book S…
Rate it:
A Drowned Maiden's Hair
3.96 avg. rating
· 3563 Ratings
Maud Flynn is known at the orphanage for her impertinence, so when the charming Miss Hyacinth and her sister choose Maud to take home with them, the girl is as baffled as anyone. It seems the sisters …
Rate it:
Tunnel of Bones (Cassidy Blake, #2)
4.08 avg. rating
· 11089 Ratings
Trouble is haunting Cassidy Blake . . . even more than usual.

She (plus her ghost best friend, Jacob, of course) are in Paris, where Cass's parents are filming their TV show about the world's most haun…
Rate it:
The Summer Country
3.84 avg. rating
· 3835 Ratings
The New York Times bestselling historical novelist delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping, dramatic Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in co…
Rate it:
A Dash of Trouble (Love Sugar Magic, #1)
4.05 avg. rating
· 1747 Ratings
Leonora Logroño’s family owns the most beloved bakery in Rose Hill, Texas, spending their days conjuring delicious cookies and cakes for any occasion. And no occasion is more important than the annual…
Rate it: