Books similar to Never Hit a Jellyfish With a Spade: How to Survive Life's Smaller Challenges

Never Hit a Jellyfish With a Spade: How to Survive Life's Smaller Challenges
How should an atheist respond to a sneeze? In an argument, how do you kick ass when you don't have a leg to stand on? After years of exploring the small pockets in life's backpack in his celebrated we…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Writers & Company: In Conversation with CBC Radio's Eleanor Wachtel
Rate it:
Snowflakes
3.57 avg. rating
· 5897 Ratings
When a barrier between truth and illusion grows stronger, a family’s trust crumbles in this arresting short story by the number one New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in Cabin 10.

Leah has …
Rate it:
The Penguin Lessons
4.04 avg. rating
· 4303 Ratings
"I was hoping against hope that the penguin would survive because as of that instant he had a name, and with his name came the beginning of a bond which would last a life-time."

Set against Argentina'…
Rate it:
The Snow Tourist
3.60 avg. rating
· 131 Ratings
Combining on-the-slopes experience with off-trail research, author Charlie English follows in the footsteps of the Romantic poets across the Alps, learns how to build igloos with the Inuit on Baffin I…
Rate it:
Dan Brown Inferno (Robert Langdon) Unofficial Guide
The Dan Brown Inferno Unofficial Guide will allow you to decode the masterful and clever codes, symbols and art history of Dan Brown's fourth international blockbuster, Inferno and follow in the foots…
Rate it:
We Have Always Been Here: A Queer Muslim Memoir
A CANADA READS 2020 SELECTION
NATIONAL BESTSELLER


How do you find yourself when the world tells you that you don't exist?

Samra Habib has spent most of her life searching for the safety to be hersel…
Rate it:
Letters from Father Christmas
4.24 avg. rating
· 8853 Ratings
BOOK DESCRIPTION:

Can you imagine writing to Father Christmas and actually getting a reply? For more than twenty years, the children of J.R.R. Tolkien received letters from the North Pole - from Father…
Rate it:
The List of Things That Will Not Change
4.26 avg. rating
· 4778 Ratings
After her parents' divorce, Bea's life became different in many ways. But she can always look back at the list she keeps in her green notebook to remember the things that will stay the same. The first…
Rate it:
All That Remains: A Life in Death
4.19 avg. rating
· 3852 Ratings
Sue Black confronts death every day. As Professor of Anatomy and Forensic Anthropology, she focuses on mortal remains in her lab, at burial sites, at scenes of violence, murder and criminal dismemberm…
Rate it:
The Da Vinci Code (the Young Adult Adaptation)
Dan Brown's mega-bestseller is now available for a new generation of readers. This young adult adaptation takes readers from Paris to London on a breathless tour of famous landmarks and will remind fa…
Rate it:
Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes
3.75 avg. rating
· 2969 Ratings
Perfect for fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High--the micro-managing parents, the ov…
Rate it:
Other Words for Home
4.44 avg. rating
· 15029 Ratings
I am learning how to be
sad
and happy
at the same time.


Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her homet…
Rate it:
The Book of Gutsy Women: Favorite Stories of Courage and Resilience
She couldn't have been more than seven or eight years old. "Go ahead, ask your question," her father urged, nudging her forward. She smiled shyly and said, "You're my hero. Who's yours?"
Many people -…
Rate it:
The Eve Illusion (Eve of Man, #2)
4.21 avg. rating
· 3289 Ratings
The second book in the bestselling Eve of Man trilogy.

Eve is the last girl on earth.


For the last sixteen years, Eve has been a prisoner. Guarded by the Mothers. Trapped by her fate. Watched by the wor…
Rate it:
Once Upon a Time in the North
3.84 avg. rating
· 11867 Ratings
In this prequel episode from Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials universe, Lee Scoresby -- Texan aeronaut and future friend to Lyra Belacqua -- is 24 years old. The story reveals the origins of Scores…
Rate it:
Awakenings
4.12 avg. rating
· 9689 Ratings
Awakenings is a 1973 non-fiction book by Oliver Sacks. It recounts the life histories of those who had been victims of the 1920s encephalitis lethargica epidemic. Sacks chronicles his efforts in the l…
Rate it:
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
4.57 avg. rating
· 8795 Ratings
The official graphic novel adaptation of Stieg Larsson's THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO.

Harriet Vanger, a scion of one of Sweden's wealthiest families disappeared over forty years ago. All these year…
Rate it:
Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats
4.07 avg. rating
· 20513 Ratings
These loveable cat poems were written by T.S. Eliot for his godchildren and friends in the thirties. They have delighted generations of children since, and inspired Andrew Lloyd Webber's brilliant mus…
Rate it:
Finn Family Moomintroll (The Moomins, #3)
It is spring in the valley and the Moomins are ready for adventure Moomintroll and his friends Snufkin and Sniff find the Hobgoblin's top hat, all shiny and new and just waiting to be taken home. They…
Rate it:
Moominpappa's Memoirs (The Moomins, #4)
4.25 avg. rating
· 3124 Ratings
Before he had a family, before he met Moominmamma, Moominpappa led a life of adventure and intrigue. But he's never told his story until now.
Now Moominpappa has a bad cold, and it's the perfect time t…
Rate it:
Kissojen maailmanhistoria
3.53 avg. rating
· 59 Ratings
Villikissasta kissavideoihin, demonikissasta kissajumalaksi ja hiirten tappajasta kotikolliksi. Kissan ja ihmisen yhteinen tarina on kestänyt ainakin 11 000 vuotta, ja käsitykset kissasta ovat muuttun…
Rate it:
Blood, Bones, and Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef
Before Gabrielle Hamilton opened her acclaimed New York restaurant Prune, she spent twenty hard-living years trying to find purpose and meaning in her life. Blood, Bones & Butter follows an unconventi…
Rate it:
Unnatural Causes: The Life and Many Deaths of Britain's Top Forensic Pathologist
As the UK's top forensic pathologist, Dr Richard Shepherd has spent a lifetime uncovering the secrets of the dead. When death is sudden or unexplained, it falls to Shepherd to establish the cause. Eac…
Rate it:
Plenty
3.90 avg. rating
· 20098 Ratings
With his fabulous restaurants and bestselling Ottolenghi Cookbook, Yotam Ottolenghi has established himself as one of the most exciting talents in the world of cookery and food writing. This exclusive…
Rate it:
Raising White Kids: Bringing Up Children in a Racially Unjust America
With a foreword by Tim Wise, Raising White Kids is for families, churches, educators, and communities who want to equip their children to be active and able participants in a society that is becoming …
Rate it:
The Trees
3.71 avg. rating
· 1908 Ratings
There came an elastic aftershock of creaks and groans and then, softly softly, a chinking shower of rubbled cement. Leaves calmed and trunks stood serene. Where, not a minute before, there had been a …
Rate it:
The White Sniper: Simo Häyhä
3.17 avg. rating
· 142 Ratings
Simo Häyhä (1905 - 2002) is the most famous sniper in the world. During the Winter War fought between Russia and Finland in 1939 - 1940 he had 542 confirmed kills with iron sights, a record that still…
Rate it:
Discrimination and Disparities
4.46 avg. rating
· 2243 Ratings
A searching re-examination of the assumptions, and the evidence for and against, current approaches to issues of economic and other disparities

Discrimination and Disparities challenges believers i…
Rate it:
Ikigai: Los secretos de Japón para una vida larga y feliz
“Only staying active will make you want to live a hundred years.” —Japanese proverb

According to the Japanese, everyone has an ikigai—a reason for living. And according to the residents of the Japane…
Rate it: