Marisa BoweGigSimilar books

Books similar to Gig: Americans Talk about Their Jobs

Gig: Americans Talk about Their Jobs
4.12 avg. rating
· 1225 Ratings
More than 150 people in common and unusual occupations talk about their lives and work in the new economy, encompassing the human experience from a labor-support doula to a funeral home director.

For t…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Bait and Switch: The (Futile) Pursuit of the American Dream
The New York Times bestselling investigation into white-collar unemployment from "our premier reporter of the underside of capitalism"--The New York Times Book Review

Americans' working lives are growi…
Rate it:
Canned
3.43 avg. rating
· 49 Ratings
'Canned' is an honest and irreverent look at the real world of work, along with the virtues of unemployment.
Rate it:
Brothel: Mustang Ranch and Its Women
3.68 avg. rating
· 1595 Ratings
When Harvard medical student Alexa Albert conducted a public-health study as the Mustang Ranch brothel in Nevada, the only state in the union where prostitution is legal, neither she nor the brothel c…
Rate it:
Dishwasher: One Man's Quest to Wash Dishes in All Fifty States
Dishwasher is the true story of a man on a mission: to clean dirty dishes professionally in every state in America. Part adventure, part parody, and part miraculous journey of self-discovery, it is th…
Rate it:
Had I Known
3.63 avg. rating
· 295 Ratings
A new selection of the most provocative, incendiary, and career-making pieces by bestselling author, essayist, political activist, and "veteran muckraker" (The New Yorker) Barbara Ehrenreich.

A self-pr…
Rate it:
The Big Fat Surprise: Why Butter, Meat and Cheese Belong in a Healthy Diet
In The Big Fat Surprise, investigative journalist Nina Teicholz reveals the unthinkable: that everything we thought we knew about dietary fat is wrong. She documents how the low-fat nutrition advice o…
Rate it:
At Home in the World: Reflections on Belonging While Wandering the Globe
As Tsh Oxenreider, author of Notes From a Blue Bike, chronicles her family’s adventure around the world. Americans Tsh and Kyle met and married in Kosovo. They lived as expats for most of a decade. Th…
Rate it:
401: The Man Who Ran 401 Marathons in 401 Days and Changed His Life Forever
The story of Ben Smith, who decided to run 401 marathons in 401 days. People thought he was mad, until they heard his story, then they began to understand. Having endured years of bullying as a child,…
Rate it:
26.2 Miles to Happiness: A Comedian’s Tale of Running, Red Wine and Redemption
The hilarious trials and tribulations of stand-up comedian Paul Tonkinson as he attempts to beat the much lauded 3-hour mark at the London Marathon. With a supporting cast of fellow comedians, this is…
Rate it:
The Buddha and the Bee: Biking through America's Forgotten Roadways on a Journey of Discovery
Life-Changing Journey... but this is NOT a typical blah-blah-blah memoir

Planning is for sissies. A solo bike ride across the country will be filled with sunshine, lollipops, rainbows, and 80 degree te…
Rate it:
House Trained
3.87 avg. rating
· 2118 Ratings

Alex Halstad, a childless-by-choice interior designer and dog mom, is a true perfectionist. But her orderly life turns chaotic when the teenage daughter her husband, Barry, never knew he had shows up …

Rate it:
Running-Thru: A woman’s solo thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail done as training for the Triple Crown of 200’s Races
Stephanie White, from Charlotte NC, made up her mind to tackle the three individual 200-mile distance races known as the Triple Crown of 200's. This includes the Bigfoot 205 mile race, Tahoe 200 mile …
Rate it:
Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality
In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended t…
Rate it:
The Photographer
3.70 avg. rating
· 239 Ratings
Mary Dixie Carter's The Photographer is a slyly observed, suspenseful story of envy and obsession, told in the mesmerizing, irresistible voice of a character who will make you doubt that seeing is eve…
Rate it:
You'll Never Believe What Happened to Lacey: Crazy Stories about Racism
*An Indie Next Pick*

Writer and performer on Late Night with Seth Meyers Amber Ruffin writes with her sister Lacey Lamar with humor and heart to share absurd anecdotes about everyday experiences of rac…
Rate it:
Troubles in Paradise (Paradise, #3)
3.87 avg. rating
· 22850 Ratings
Travel to the bright Caribbean one last time in the satisfying conclusion to the nationally bestselling Winter in Paradise trilogy by Elin Hilderbrand.

After uprooting her life in the States, Irene St…
Rate it:
The Last One Home
3.91 avg. rating
· 303 Ratings
A razor-sharp novel of suspense about the lies families tell—and those we choose to believe—by the Amazon Charts bestselling author of Jane Doe.

Lauren Abrams wants nothing to do with her damaged mothe…
Rate it:
Good as Dead
4.21 avg. rating
· 19 Ratings
It all starts with a promise from a stranger: We’ll take care of everything.

Holly Kendrick’s husband is dead. Holly saw it all. In one violent moment, a hit-and-run accident turns Holly’s life upside …
Rate it:
The Book of Two Ways
3.60 avg. rating
· 28065 Ratings
Everything changes in a single moment for Dawn Edelstein. She's on a plane when the flight attendant makes an announcement: prepare for a crash landing. She braces herself as thoughts flash through he…
Rate it:
The Disappearing Act
3.89 avg. rating
· 116 Ratings
A British actress discovers the dark side of Hollywood when she is the only witness to the sudden disappearance of a woman she meets at an audition in this psychological thriller from the New York Tim…
Rate it:
Just One Look
4.07 avg. rating
· 102 Ratings
A young woman's escalating obsession with a seemingly perfect man leads her down a dangerous path in this novel of suspense brimming with envy, desire, and deception.

"I inhaled Just One Look. I was g…
Rate it:
Running into the Dark: a blind man’s record-setting run across America
After a successful career as an attorney and business executive, Jason Romero hit rock bottom when he found himself divorced, unemployed, and in a deep depression after a degenerative eye condition re…
Rate it:
Money Changes Everything: Twenty-Two Writers Tackle the Last Taboo with Tales of Sudden Windfalls, Staggering Debts, and Other Surprising Turns of Fortune
The editors of The Friend Who Got Away are back with a new anthology that will do for money what they did for women’s friendships.

Ours is a culture of confession, yet money remains a distinctly taboo …
Rate it:
101 Unbelievable Facts About Running That Will Motivate You To Get Up And Run!
Warm up your mind and put you in the mood to get up and RUN!

After reading it you will find that you have the motivation and desire to start running!

The 101 unbelievable facts in this book wil…

Rate it:
A Widow's Walk Off-Grid to Self-Reliance: An Inspiring, True Story of Courage and Determination
The inspiring, true story of Anne Dodds.

When her husband passed away after a long, trying illness, Annie Dodds was forced to sell almost everything to settle his estate.

Homeless, with little money…
Rate it:
Don't Stop Me Now: 26.2 Tales of a Runner’s Obsession
This is a celebration of running - and what lots of us think about when we run. Part escape, part self-discovery, part therapy, part fitness. Part simple childlike joy of running when you could be wal…
Rate it:
Broken (in the best possible way)
4.41 avg. rating
· 2034 Ratings
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Furiously Happy and Let’s Pretend This Never Happened comes a deeply relatable book filled with humor and honesty about depression and anxiety.

As Jenny…
Rate it:
Unchained: One Woman, One Bike, One Dream... One World
Sometimes the shortest way across the street involves going around the world.Ruby has never cycled to another town or camped alone. She is daunted by busy dangerous roads, wild animals and the possibi…
Rate it:
Good Fat is Good for Women: Menopause
Menopause.
Why do we go through it?
How can we enjoy this time of life?
There is a plethora of confusing and misleading information out there about menopause: what to take, what to eat. Women may begi…
Rate it:
Infinite Country
4.07 avg. rating
· 8870 Ratings
Alternate cover edition of ISBN 9781982159467.

For readers of Valeria Luiselli and Edwidge Danticat, an urgent and lyrical novel about a Colombian family fractured by deportation, offering an intimate …
Rate it: