Books similar to A Cure for Dreams

A Cure for Dreams
3.83 avg. rating
· 1796 Ratings
A story that traces the bonds between four generations of resourceful Southern women through stories passed from one generation to another.
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
The Crocodile Bird
3.83 avg. rating
· 3479 Ratings
A mother and a daughter live quietly in the rustic gatehouse of Shrove House, an isolated British estate. Their life seems perfectly ordinary except that daughter Liza has been kept isolated from the …
Rate it:
In the Land of Second Chances
3.92 avg. rating
· 373 Ratings
Meet Wilma Porter, the plucky and kindhearted owner of the only bed and breakfast in Ebb, Nebraska. Wilma knows everybody in town and everybody is in a bit of trouble. No one more so than Calvin Mille…
Rate it:
Verbena
3.65 avg. rating
· 284 Ratings
When Bobby died in a car wreck with another woman at his side, Bena was left with five kids, a small house, and a big empty place in her heart. Five years later, she's got two daughters who've run off…
Rate it:
Midwinter Break
3.64 avg. rating
· 748 Ratings
Sixteen years on from his last novel, Bernard MacLaverty reminds us why he is regarded as one of the greatest living Irish writers. A retired couple, Gerry and Stella Gilmore, fly from their home in S…
Rate it:
The Elephanta Suite
3.35 avg. rating
· 1230 Ratings
A master of the travel narrative weaves three intertwined novellas of Westerners transformed by their sojourns in India.

This startling, far-reaching book captures the tumult, ambition, hardship, and …
Rate it:
Winter Run (Shannon Ravenel Books)
3.98 avg. rating
· 47 Ratings
There are certain special—and rare— books that refresh our understanding of how children see the world. This is one of those books. It's the story of a boy growing up in a lost time in an idyllic plac…
Rate it:
We're Better Than This
4.23 avg. rating
· 257 Ratings
With a foreword by Speaker Nancy Pelosi

Baltimore Congressman Elijah Cummings was known for saying “We’re better than this.”

He said it in Baltimore, a city on the verge of explosion over police treatme…
Rate it:
Middle Son
3.59 avg. rating
· 170 Ratings
For Spencer Fujii, Hawaii is not a vacation paradise but a place of hard work and heartache, the transplanted home of his Japanese-American family -- and the site of a long-ago tragedy that changed hi…
Rate it:
The Bestseller
3.79 avg. rating
· 1160 Ratings
At Davis & Dash, one of New York's most prestigious publishing houses, five new authors will be published--but only one of them will be a bestseller. They have worked long and hard to write their nove…
Rate it:
The End of the Day
3.23 avg. rating
· 1306 Ratings
Following his acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Did You Ever Have a Family, Bill Clegg returns with a deeply moving, emotionally resonant second novel about the complicated bonds and breaking point…
Rate it:
Victory Over Japan: A Book of Stories
4.12 avg. rating
· 2018 Ratings
Fourteen stories focus on a group of southern women who seek happiness and a sense of worth in bars, marriages, divorces, art, drug use, lovers' arms, and earthquakes
Rate it:
The Sisters of Glass Ferry
3.34 avg. rating
· 1722 Ratings
Spanning several decades and written in an authentic voice both lyrical and wise, The Sisters of Glass Ferry is a haunting novel about small-town Southern secrets, loss and atonement, and the unbreaka…
Rate it:
Praise Song for the Butterflies
4.14 avg. rating
· 1114 Ratings
Abeo Kata lives a comfortable, happy life in West Africa as the privileged nine-year-old daughter of a government employee and stay-at-home mother. But when the Katas’ idyllic lifestyle takes a turn f…
Rate it:
En we noemen hem
3.67 avg. rating
· 1045 Ratings
Een zwangerschap in het teken van de oorlog.

Marjolijn van Heemstra had jarenlang een held. Een oudoom die net na de oorlog met 'een bommetje' een 'verraaier' zou hebben omgebracht. In de familie ston…
Rate it:
The People I Know
3.95 avg. rating
· 21 Ratings
The People I Know is a collection of nine stories, told by characters who hover at the edge of life. Whether it's Lorne, perched on a sofa as a wedding party swirls around him, or the elderly Mrs. R o…
Rate it:
Nowhere Near Goodbye
4.15 avg. rating
· 427 Ratings
A mother’s love vs. a doctor’s oath.

Oncologist Emma Blake has dedicated her life to finding a cure for a rare brain cancer. Twenty-five years ago, Emma’s childhood friend Kate died of glioblastoma, an…
Rate it:
Monticello: A Daughter and Her Father
From the critically acclaimed author of The Widow's War comes a captivating work of literary historical fiction, set in America in the years after the Revolution, that explores the tenuous relationshi…
Rate it:
Squeeze Me (Skink #8)
4.06 avg. rating
· 15336 Ratings
From the best-selling author of Skinny Dip and Razor Girl, a new novel that captures the Trump era with Hiaasen's inimitable savage humor and wonderful, eccentric characters. A surefire best seller.

Ca…
Rate it:
The Margot Affair
3.57 avg. rating
· 2500 Ratings
The secret daughter of a French politician and a famous actress drops the startling revelation that will shatter her family in this beguiling debut novel of intrigue and betrayal.

***

Margot Louve is a …
Rate it:
The Cure for Dreaming
3.90 avg. rating
· 3467 Ratings
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in Oregon, and Olivia’s father, concerned that she’s headed for trouble, convinces a…
Rate it:
The Magdalen Girls
3.79 avg. rating
· 4362 Ratings
Dublin, 1962. Within the gated grounds of the convent of The Sisters of the Holy Redemption lies one of the city’s Magdalen Laundries. Once places of refuge, the laundries have evolved into grim workh…
Rate it:
House on Endless Waters
3.89 avg. rating
· 1218 Ratings
For fans of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, a lyrical and exquisitely moving novel about a writer who embarks on a transformative journey in Amsterdam, where he discovers the shocking tr…
Rate it:
Home Safe
3.49 avg. rating
· 10382 Ratings
In this new novel, beloved bestselling author Elizabeth Berg weaves a beautifully written and richly resonant story of a mother and daughter in emotional transit. Helen Ames–recently widowed, coping w…
Rate it:
Caucasia
4.05 avg. rating
· 6914 Ratings
In Caucasia—Danzy Senna's extraordinary debut novel and national bestseller—Birdie and Cole are the daughters of a black father and a white mother, intellectuals and activists in the Civil Rights Move…
Rate it:
Songs of Willow Frost
3.63 avg. rating
· 16540 Ratings
Twelve-year-old William Eng, a Chinese-American boy, has lived at Seattle’s Sacred Heart Orphanage ever since his mother’s listless body was carried away from their small apartment five years ago. On …
Rate it:
Of Women and Salt
3.72 avg. rating
· 6369 Ratings
A daughter's fateful choice, a mother motivated by her own past, and a family legacy that begins in Cuba before either of them were born

In present-day Miami, Jeanette is battling addiction. Daughter o…
Rate it:
Raney
3.96 avg. rating
· 3335 Ratings
"This book is too good to keep to yourself. Read it aloud with someone you love, then send it to a friend. But be sure to keep a copy for yourself, because you'll want to read it again and again."
Eliz…
Rate it:
The Glass House
4.11 avg. rating
· 5494 Ratings
Outside a remote manor house in an idyllic wood, a baby girl is found.

The Harrington family takes her in and disbelief quickly turns to joy. They're grieving a terrible tragedy of their own and the be…
Rate it:
The Curated Closet: A Simple System for Discovering Your Personal Style and Building Your Dream Wardrobe
A brilliant and inspirational roadmap for discovering and cultivating a strong sense of personal style and building the ideal wardrobe for your lifestyle.

Many women don't know what their personal styl…
Rate it:
Black Mountain Breakdown
3.89 avg. rating
· 1191 Ratings
Crystal Spangler lives in rural Appalachia. She's the apple of her mother's eye -- not yet beautiful, but she will be. She's the most popular girl at Black Rock High. She makes cheerleader, gets good …
Rate it: