Cathy OstlereLostSimilar books

Books similar to Lost

Lost
3.79 avg. rating
· 56 Ratings
In September of 1995, Cathy Ostlere visited her family in Calgary to celebrate her younger brother David's birthday. It had been a family tradition that no matter where globe-trotting David might be, …
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Amsterdam
3.44 avg. rating
· 38516 Ratings
On a chilly February day, two old friends meet in the throng outside a London crematorium to pay their last respects to Molly Lane. Both Clive Linley and Vernon Halliday had been Molly's lovers in the…
Rate it:
Bear Necessity
3.96 avg. rating
· 741 Ratings
A heartwarming, poignant, and charming debut novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Rosie Project, about a father and son overcoming their grief in surprisingly inventive ways.

Danny’s life is falling a…
Rate it:
The Widow's Daughter
3.28 avg. rating
· 133 Ratings
A spellbinding story of love, war, and betrayal.

Peter Sokol, an artist living in San Diego, is haunted by his past.

In 1943, Captain Sokol is a surgeon in the U.S. Marines stationed in Auckland, New Ze…
Rate it:
Edge of Eternity (The Century Trilogy, #3)
4.14 avg. rating
· 32957 Ratings
Edge of Eternity is the sweeping, passionate conclusion to Ken Follett’s extraordinary historical epic, The Century Trilogy.
Throughout these books, Follett has followed the fortunes of five inter…
Rate it:
Fashionably Late
3.49 avg. rating
· 76 Ratings
Convinced you're having a quarter-life crisis? Think maybe a soul-searching trip might help?

Aline Hallaby, a nice, obedient Arab girl, has it all---a budding career at one of Montreal's most prestigio…
Rate it:
Irma Voth
3.52 avg. rating
· 3222 Ratings
That rare coming-of-age story able to blend the dark with the uplifting, Irma Voth follows a young Mennonite woman, vulnerable yet wise beyond her years, who carries a terrible family secret with her …
Rate it:
A House in the Sky
4.21 avg. rating
· 44850 Ratings
The dramatic and redemptive memoir of a woman whose curiosity led her to the world’s most beautiful and remote places, its most imperiled and perilous countries, and then into fifteen months of harrow…
Rate it:
Stray
3.89 avg. rating
· 2704 Ratings
From the bestselling author of Sweetbitter, a memoir of growing up in a family shattered by lies and addiction, and of one woman's attempts to find a life beyond the limits of her past. Stray is a mov…
Rate it:
A Mind Spread Out on the Ground
4.52 avg. rating
· 3287 Ratings
A bold and profound meditation on trauma, legacy, oppression and racism in North America from award-winning Haudenosaunee writer Alicia Elliott.

In an urgent and visceral work that asks essential q…
Rate it:
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry (Harold Fry, #1)
Meet Harold Fry, recently retired. He lives in a small English village with his wife, Maureen, who seems irritated by almost everything he does, even down to how he butters his toast. Little different…
Rate it:
Unraveling Oliver
3.70 avg. rating
· 8727 Ratings
I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.

Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-wi…
Rate it:
Can't Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds
For David Goggins, childhood was a nightmare - poverty, prejudice, and physical abuse colored his days and haunted his nights. But through self-discipline, mental toughness, and hard work, Goggins t…
Rate it:
The House We Grew Up In
3.82 avg. rating
· 31044 Ratings
Meet the Bird family. They live in a honey-colored house in a picture-perfect Cotswolds village, with rambling, unkempt gardens stretching beyond. Pragmatic Meg, dreamy Beth, and tow-headed twins Rory…
Rate it:
Red Sparrow (Red Sparrow Trilogy, #1)
3.85 avg. rating
· 31050 Ratings
In the grand spy-tale tradition of John le Carré comes this shocking thriller written with insider detail known only to a veteran CIA officer.

In present-day Russia, ruled by blue-eyed, unblinking Pre…
Rate it:
Permanent Record
4.28 avg. rating
· 27440 Ratings
Edward Snowden, the man who risked everything to expose the US government’s system of mass surveillance, reveals for the first time the story of his life, including how he helped to build that system …
Rate it:
My Husband's Wife
3.47 avg. rating
· 25450 Ratings
When young lawyer Lily marries Ed, she’s determined to make a fresh start and leave the secrets of the past behind. But then she takes on her first murder case and meets Joe, a convicted murderer to w…
Rate it:
From the Ashes
4.51 avg. rating
· 11265 Ratings
In this extraordinary and inspiring debut memoir, Jesse Thistle—once a high school dropout and now a rising Indigenous scholar—chronicles his life on the streets and how he overcame trauma and addicti…
Rate it:
Annexed
3.79 avg. rating
· 4229 Ratings
I look out the window into the street...I'm meant to be at Mr. Frank's workplace in a few hours. We're arriving separately, all of is. We'll walk into the building just like it was any other visit - o…
Rate it:
White Oleander
3.97 avg. rating
· 313306 Ratings
Everywhere hailed as a novel of rare beauty and power, White Oleander tells the unforgettable story of Ingrid, a brilliant poet imprisoned for murder, and her daughter, Astrid, whose odyssey through a…
Rate it:
Split Tooth
3.97 avg. rating
· 4728 Ratings
From the internationally acclaimed Inuit throat singer who has dazzled and enthralled the world with music it had never heard before, a fierce, tender, heartbreaking story unlike anything you've ever …
Rate it:
Mud, Sweat and Tears
4.16 avg. rating
· 7278 Ratings
Bear Grylls is a man who has always loved adventure. After leaving school, he spent months hiking in the Himalayas as he considered joining the Indian Army. Upon his return to England after a change o…
Rate it:
The Cat's Table
3.60 avg. rating
· 19301 Ratings
A spellbinding story - by turns poignant and electrifying - about the magical, often forbidden, discoveries of childhood and a lifelong journey that begins unexpectedly with a spectacular sea voyage.

I…
Rate it:
The Song of the Jade Lily
4.15 avg. rating
· 1826 Ratings
Kirsty Manning makes her US debut with this gripping historical novel that tells the little-known story of Jewish refugees who fled to Shanghai during WWII.

1939 : Two young girls meet in Shanghai, …
Rate it:
The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared (The Hundred-Year-Old Man, #1)
After a long and eventful life, Allan Karlsson ends up in a nursing home, believing it to be his last stop. The only problem is that he’s still in good health. A big celebration is in the works for hi…
Rate it:
On Board Flight 666. by Iron Maiden
4.65 avg. rating
· 65 Ratings
Now in paperback, the first and only official book from one of the world's biggest heavy metal bands, with a foreword by frontman Bruce Dickinson

On board their customized Boeing 757 plane named Ed For…
Rate it:
Going to the Mountain: Life Lessons from My Grandfather, Nelson Mandela
The first-ever book to tell Nelson Mandela's life through the eyes of the grandson who was raised by him, chronicling Ndaba Mandela's life living with, and learning from, one of the greatest leaders a…
Rate it:
An Orchestra of Minorities
3.67 avg. rating
· 3016 Ratings
A contemporary twist on the Odyssey, An Orchestra of Minorities is narrated by the chi, or spirit of a young poultry farmer named Chinonso. His life is set off course when he sees a woman who is about…
Rate it:
Trattato di funambolismo
3.65 avg. rating
· 62 Ratings
Un libro sulla vita, poetico e filosofico in cui Philippe Petit, funambolo di fama mondiale, ha raccolto l'essenza dell'arte di attraversare il cielo su una corda.
Rate it:
The Card: Collectors, Con Men, and the True Story of History's Most Desired Baseball Card
Since its limited release just after the turn of the twentieth century, this American Tobacco cigarette card has beguiled and bedeviled collectors. First identified as valuable in the 1930s, when the …
Rate it:
Britt-Marie Was Here
4.02 avg. rating
· 78121 Ratings
Britt-Marie can’t stand mess. A disorganized cutlery drawer ranks high on her list of unforgivable sins. She is not one to judge others—no matter how ill-mannered, unkempt, or morally suspect they mig…
Rate it: