Books similar to Krik? Krak!

Krik? Krak!
4.13 avg. rating
· 7062 Ratings
At an astonishingly young age, Edwidge Danticat has become one of our most celebrated new writers. She is an artist who evokes the wonder, terror, and heartache of her native Haiti--and the enduring s…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Annie John
3.69 avg. rating
· 6542 Ratings
Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artis…
Rate it:
The Girl with the Hazel Eyes
3.84 avg. rating
· 129 Ratings
Oprah Magazine calls it one of 16 Books by Caribbean Authors to add to your Reading List.

JAAWP Finalist.

Silver Medallist.

“A perfect read. ‘The Girl with the Hazel Eyes’ is well-written and compelling.…
Rate it:
Postracial Resistance: Black Women, Media, and the Uses of Strategic Ambiguity
Winner, 2019 Outstanding Book Award, International Communication Association



How Black women in the spotlight negotiate the post-racial gaze of Hollywood and beyond

From Oprah Winfrey, Michelle Obama, a…
Rate it:
Masters of the Dew
3.80 avg. rating
· 432 Ratings
This outstanding Haitian novel tells of Manuel's struggle to keep his little community from starvation during drought.

The genre of the peasant novel in Haiti reaches back to the nineteenth century and…
Rate it:
The Cartographer Tries to Map a Way to Zion
In this collection, acclaimed Jamaican poet Kei Miller dramatizes what happens when one system of knowledge, one method of understanding place and territory, comes up against another. We watch as the …
Rate it:
How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House
A debut novel in the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, from a brilliant Caribbean writer, set in Barbados, about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "…
Rate it:
... y no se lo tragó la tierra ... and the Earth Did Not Devour Him
Tomas Rivera's original Spanish-language novel plus a new translation into English by Evangelina Vigil-Pinon. ...y no se lo trago la tierra won the first national award for Chicano literature in 1970 …
Rate it:
The Secret Lives of Church Ladies
4.35 avg. rating
· 6161 Ratings
The Secret Lives of Church Ladies explores the raw and tender places where black women and girls dare to follow their desires and pursue a momentary reprieve from being good. The nine stories in this …
Rate it:
Home with Hip Hop Feminism; Performances in Communication and Culture
This book has won the 2015 Top Book Award from the NCA African American Communication and Culture Division (AACCD) of NCA

Home with Hip Hop Feminism brings together popular culture and the everyday exp…
Rate it:
Abeng
3.68 avg. rating
· 765 Ratings
An alternate cover edition for this ISBN can be found here.

Ever since Abeng was first published in 1984, Michelle Cliff has steadily become a literary force. Her novels evoke both the clearly delineat…
Rate it:
The Book of Daniel
3.88 avg. rating
· 4025 Ratings
As Cold War hysteria inflames America, FBI agents knock on the Bronx apartment door of a Communist man and his wife. After a highly controversial trial, the couple go to the electric chair for treason…
Rate it:
Cane
3.90 avg. rating
· 7365 Ratings
A literary masterpiece of the Harlem Renaissance, Cane is a powerful work of innovative fiction evoking black life in the South. The sketches, poems, and stories of black rural and urban life that mak…
Rate it:
Collected Stories
4.26 avg. rating
· 6882 Ratings
“A Bear Hunt,” “A Rose for Emily,” “Two Soldiers,” “Victory,” “The Brooch,” “Beyond”—these are among the forty-two stories that make up this magisterial collection by the writer who stands at the pinn…
Rate it:
Miguel Street
3.97 avg. rating
· 3348 Ratings
"A stranger could drive through Miguel Street and just say 'Slum!' because he could see no more." But to its residents this derelict corner of Trinidad's capital is a complete world, where everybody i…
Rate it:
Everything Good Will Come
3.86 avg. rating
· 1045 Ratings
Everything Good Will Come introduces an important new voice in contemporary fiction. It is 1971, a year after the Biafran War, and Nigeria is under military rule—though the politics of the state matte…
Rate it:
How to Make a Slave and Other Essays
4.42 avg. rating
· 320 Ratings
For the black community, Jerald Walker asserts in How to Make a Slave, “anger is often a prelude to a joke, as there is broad understanding that the triumph over this destructive emotion lay in findin…
Rate it:
A Small Place
3.99 avg. rating
· 9121 Ratings
Lyrical, sardonic, and forthright, A Small Place magnifies our vision of one small place with Swiftian wit and precision. Jamaica Kincaid's expansive essay candidly appraises the ten-by-twelve-mile is…
Rate it:
Praisesong for the Widow
3.79 avg. rating
· 1131 Ratings
Avey Johnson--a black, middle-aged, middle-class widow given to hats, gloves, and pearls--has long since put behind her the Harlem of her childhood. Then on a cruise to the Caribbean with two friends,…
Rate it:
The Octoroon
2.65 avg. rating
· 300 Ratings
This scarce antiquarian book is a facsimile reprint of the original. Due to its age, it may contain imperfections such as marks, notations, marginalia and flawed pages. Because we believe this work is…
Rate it:
Justine
3.69 avg. rating
· 176 Ratings
Artist behind THE ART OF THE AFFAIR Forsyth Harmon's JUSTINE, an intimate portrayal of American girlhood at the edge of adulthood in the late 1990s—centered on a Long Island teenager's fixation on her…
Rate it:
Don't Call Us Dead
4.53 avg. rating
· 6702 Ratings
Award-winning poet Danez Smith is a groundbreaking force, celebrated for deft lyrics, urgent subjects, and performative power. Don't Call Us Dead opens with a heartrending sequence that imagines an af…
Rate it:
The Last Warner Woman
3.82 avg. rating
· 305 Ratings
Adamine Bustamante is born in one of Jamaica's last leper colonies. When Adamine grows up, she discovers she has the gift of "warning": the power to protect, inspire, and terrify. But when she is sent…
Rate it:
Quicksand
3.71 avg. rating
· 4361 Ratings
Born to a white mother and an absent black father, and despised for her dark skin, Helga Crane has long had to fend for herself. As a young woman, Helga teaches at an all-black school in the South, bu…
Rate it:
In the Wake: On Blackness and Being
4.62 avg. rating
· 782 Ratings
In this original and trenchant work, Christina Sharpe interrogates literary, visual, cinematic, and quotidian representations of Black life that comprise what she calls the "orthography of the wake." …
Rate it:
The Collected Stories of Katherine Mansfield
With an Introduction and Notes by Professor Stephen Arkin, San Francisco State University.

Katherine Mansfield is widely regarded as a writer who helped create the modern short story. Born in Wellingto…
Rate it:
The Good Immigrant: 26 Writers Reflect on America
An urgent collection of essays by first and second-generation immigrants, exploring what it's like to be othered in an increasingly divided America.

From Trump's proposed border wall and travel ban to …
Rate it:
The Collected Poems
4.35 avg. rating
· 16393 Ratings
Spanning five decades and comprising 868 poems (nearly 300 of which have never before appeared in book form), this magnificent volume is the definitive sampling of a writer who has been called the poe…
Rate it:
Crossing the Mangrove
3.85 avg. rating
· 850 Ratings
Francis Sancher—a handsome outsider, loved by some and reviled by others—is found dead, face down in the mud on a path outside Rivière au Sel, a small village in Guadeloupe.  None of the villagers are…
Rate it:
The Made Thing (P)
4.44 avg. rating
· 16 Ratings
"... there's no question (Stokesbury) has done well for his poets, for his region, and for all of us who need fine poems, wherever they are made". -- American Book Review
Rate it:
Sowa's Ark: An Enchanted Bestiary
4.65 avg. rating
· 79 Ratings
Chronicle is proud to publish the exciting paintings of widely acclaimed German artist Michael Sowa. A miniature pig splashing in a bowl of soup; a duck leading a wheelbarrow down a country lane; a wo…
Rate it: