Books similar to Being Dead

Being Dead
3.71 avg. rating
· 1074 Ratings
From the hilarious to the horrific, master storyteller Vivian Vande Velde explores the world of the dead--and the undead--in this surprisingly moving collection of unnerving tales.
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Ceres: Celestial Legend, Vol. 1: Aya
3.90 avg. rating
· 9415 Ratings
Aya and her twin brother Aki thought they were going to a celebration of their sixteenth birthday at their grandfather's home, but the funeral-like atmosphere tips them off that something's not right.…
Rate it:
Agent 355
3.69 avg. rating
· 3844 Ratings
Listening Length: 2 hours and 7 minutes

From Marie Benedict, best-selling author of The Only Woman in the Room and Lady Clementine, comes a captivating work of historical fiction about a young female s…
Rate it:
Breath: The New Science of a Lost Art
4.13 avg. rating
· 16854 Ratings
No matter what you eat, how much you exercise, how skinny or young or wise you are, none of it matters if you're not breathing properly.

There is nothing more essential to our health and well-being tha…
Rate it:
The Getaway
3.31 avg. rating
· 6074 Ratings
Listening Length: 2 hours and 24 minutes

In this short thriller from number one New York Times best-selling authors Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, a young woman's dream getaway becomes her worst n…
Rate it:
Abarat
4.10 avg. rating
· 23617 Ratings
Candy lives in Chickentown USA: the most boring place in the world, her heart bursting for some clue as to what her future may hold. She is soon to find out: swept out of our world by a giant wave, sh…
Rate it:
A House Divided
3.78 avg. rating
· 9 Ratings
Willie strategizes his way out of problems with amazing inventions and hilarious results but learns God has the best answers.
Rate it:
Boys Will Be Boys: Power, Patriarchy and the Toxic Bonds of Mateship
‘Everyone’s afraid that their daughters might be hurt. No one seems to be scared that their sons might be the ones to do it … This book … is the culmination of many years of writing about power, abuse…
Rate it:
Preloved
3.73 avg. rating
· 709 Ratings
If you had a second chance at love, would you do it all over again?

Amy has enough to deal with for one lifetime. A superstitious Chinese mother. A best friend whose mood changes as dramatically as her…
Rate it:
Palace of Fires (Initiate, #1)
3.08 avg. rating
· 230 Ratings
She turned and saw them. Three black shapes in a crowd of colour, moving slowly like scuttling roaches.
Three women, dressed in leathers, carrying biker helmets.
They laughed and joked as they walked th…
Rate it:
A Girl's Guide to Personal Hygiene: True Stories, Illustrated

"A Girl's Guide to Personal Hygiene is everything I never knew I wanted: a disgusting, hilarious, and honest book that pays tribute to the female body and all of its habits and suppurations. It is …

Rate it:
Nightshade (Nightshade, #1; Nightshade World, #4)
Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sa…
Rate it:
Blackout: How Black America Can Make Its Second Escape from the Democrat Plantation
Political activist and social media star Candace Owens explains all the reasons how the Democratic Party policies hurt, rather than help, the African American community, and why she and many others ar…
Rate it:
Gifted Touch (Fingerprints, #1)
3.90 avg. rating
· 1845 Ratings

Sometimes, when I touch things, words fill my head. Words that feel like thoughts--thoughts that are inside of me...but not mine.

I used to think I was crazy. Used to.

I'm starting to wonder if there's …

Rate it:
Dreamfire (Dream Walker, #1)
3.90 avg. rating
· 517 Ratings
Joshlyn Weaver has always lived with a big secret. Ordinary kids spend their free time going to the movies, hanging out with friends, and searching on the internet. 

But for her, an evening at home us…
Rate it:
Darkness Before Dawn (Darkness Before Dawn #1)
At seventeen, Dawn Montgomery knows that monsters really do come out at night—after all, they are her job. It’s just after the thirty-years war between vampires and humans, and as an ambassador betwee…
Rate it:
Midnight Predator
4.03 avg. rating
· 8195 Ratings
Though she was once a happy teenager with a wonderful family and a full life, Turquoise Draka is now a hunter. In a deadly world of vampires, shapeshifters, and mercenaries, she'll track any prey if t…
Rate it:
Haunted (Fingerprints, #2)
3.99 avg. rating
· 1092 Ratings
She touches your fingerprints. She knows your thoughts.

This power that I have—this ability to reach inside people’s minds and know their thoughts…Anthony says it’s a gift. But ever since this “gift” s…
Rate it:
Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark (Scary Stories, #1)
This spooky addition to Alvin Schwartz's popular books on American folklore is filled with tales of eerie horror and dark revenge that will make you jump with fright.

There is a story here for everyone…
Rate it:
Trust Me (Fingerprints, #3)
3.99 avg. rating
· 1015 Ratings
She touches your fingerprints. She knows your thoughts.

It was Anthony who helped me understand what I can do—who showed me that I wasn’t crazy.

I was only trying to thank him, to help him find what he’…
Rate it:
A Grown-Up Guide to Dinosaurs
3.93 avg. rating
· 5702 Ratings
Listening Length: 2 hours and 42 minutes

Most children go through a dinosaur phase. Learning all the tongue twisting names, picking favorites based on ferocity, armor, or sheer size. For many kids this…
Rate it:
Secrets (Fingerprints, #4)
4.03 avg. rating
· 951 Ratings
She touches your fingerprints. She knows your thoughts.

When everyone I trusted turned away, Anthony was there. He was the only one who cared, and he’s the reason I’m still alive.

But now Anthony has mo…
Rate it:
Betrayed (Fingerprints, #5)
4.00 avg. rating
· 849 Ratings
She touches your fingerprints. She knows your thoughts.

I finally know how to find the person who’s trying to kill me. But I can’t tell Anthony or Yana.

They’re hiding something from me.

And until I know…
Rate it:
The Boys Omnibus Vol. 1
3.99 avg. rating
· 1860 Ratings
All-new printing collecting the first 14 issues of the critically acclaimed series, now heading to live-action on Amazon Prime! This is going to hurt! In a world where costumed heroes soar through the…
Rate it:
Hex Hall (Hex Hall, #1)
3.92 avg. rating
· 134345 Ratings
Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father—an el…
Rate it:
Revelations (Fingerprints, #6)
4.05 avg. rating
· 826 Ratings
She touches your fingerprints. She knows your thoughts.

All this time, I’ve been looking for answers. I was sure that once I knew the whole truth, I would finally be safe.

But I’m in more danger than ev…
Rate it:
The Serpent's Secret (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond, #1)
MEET KIRANMALA: INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMON SLAYER
(Only she doesn't know it yet.)

On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey... until h…
Rate it:
Payback (Fingerprints, #7)
4.04 avg. rating
· 796 Ratings
She touches your fingerprints. She knows your thoughts.

Yana was my best friend—and Yana wanted me dead.

I should hate her for what she tried to do. But the people who stole what she loved most—they did…
Rate it:
The Coven (Sweep, #2)
4.08 avg. rating
· 12686 Ratings
I am not who I thought I was. I am not a regular sixteen-year-old girl. I am a witch. A real, ancestral witch. My parents are not my biological parents. My sister and I share no blood.

Even in the cove…
Rate it:
Ghostsitter - A Crazy Inheritance
3.42 avg. rating
· 873 Ratings
A whole-family listen for fans of Hotel Transylvania and The Addams Family.

When Tom is invited to the reading of a will of a great-uncle he’s never heard of, there’s no way to know what to expect. But…
Rate it:
A Fate Totally Worse Than Death
3.26 avg. rating
· 233 Ratings
"This takeoff on teen horror novels is funny, mocking, and a surefire hit. . . . Should have teen-horror fans screaming with laughter." — SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL (starred review)

In Paul Fleischman’s hi…
Rate it: