Books similar to The Girl Who Owned a City

The Girl Who Owned a City
3.81 avg. rating
· 4305 Ratings
A killing virus has swept the earth, sparing only children through the age of twelve. There is chaos everywhere, even in formely prosperous mid-America. Gangs and fierce armies of children begin to fo…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
After the First Death
3.71 avg. rating
· 3292 Ratings
Who will be the next to die?

They've taken the children. And the son of a general. But that isn't enough.

More horrors must come...
Rate it:
House of Stairs
3.89 avg. rating
· 3957 Ratings
One by one, five sixteen-year-old orphans are brought to a strange building. It is not a prison, not a hospital; it has no walls, no ceiling, no floor. Nothing but endless flights of stairs leading no…
Rate it:
Sing Down the Moon
3.75 avg. rating
· 7252 Ratings
The Spanish Slavers were an ever-present threat to the Navaho way of life. One lovely spring day, fourteen-year-old Bright Morning and her friend Running Bird took their sheep to pasture. The sky was …
Rate it:
Dogsong
3.68 avg. rating
· 5718 Ratings
"In the Old Days There Were Songs"

Something is bothering Russel Susskit. He hates waking up to the sound of his father's coughing, the smell of diesel oil, the noise of snow machines starting up.

Only …
Rate it:
Carry On, Mr. Bowditch
4.13 avg. rating
· 16814 Ratings
Readers today are still fascinated by “Nat,” an eighteenth-century nautical wonder and mathematical wizard. Nathaniel Bowditch grew up in a sailor’s world—Salem in the early days, when tall-masted shi…
Rate it:
The Cay (The Cay, #1)
3.77 avg. rating
· 32310 Ratings
Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to…
Rate it:
The Complete Works
4.46 avg. rating
· 44263 Ratings
Tempest
Two Gentlemen of Verona
Merry Wives of Windsor
Measure for Measure
Comedy of Errors
Much Ado About Nothing
Love's Labour's Lost
Midsummer Night's Dream
Merchant of Venice
As You Like It
Taming…
Rate it:
Ordinary People
3.91 avg. rating
· 19021 Ratings
The Jarrets are a typical American family. Calvin is a determined, successful provider and Beth an organized, efficient wife. They had two sons, Conrad and Buck, but now they have one. In this memorab…
Rate it:
The Annotated Poe
4.53 avg. rating
· 70 Ratings
Edgar Allan Poe is perhaps America's most famous writer. Adapted many times to the stage and screen and an inspiration to countless illustrators, graphic novelists, and musicians, his tales and poems …
Rate it:
Loser
3.74 avg. rating
· 19000 Ratings
From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Ca…
Rate it:
Where the Lilies Bloom
3.85 avg. rating
· 2200 Ratings
An award-winning novel about the resilience of the human spirit, the power of duty, the fragile relationship between humans and nature, and the sacrifices we make for family.

Mary Call has promised her…
Rate it:
The Inheritance Trilogy (Inheritance, #1-3.5)
The Inheritance Trilogy omnibus includes the novels: The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, The Broken Kingdoms, The Kingdom of Gods and a brand-new novella set in the same world. The Awakened Kingdom.

In this…
Rate it:
My Brother Sam Is Dead
3.41 avg. rating
· 16405 Ratings
This classic Newbery Honor Book joins the Scholastic Gold line, which features award-winning and beloved novels. Includes exclusive bonus content!

All his life, Tim Meeker has looked up to his brother …
Rate it:
I Survived the Bombing of Pearl Harbor, 1941 (I Survived, #4)
70 years later, the bombing of Pearl Harbor comes to life for a new generation of readers!

History's most terrifying moments are brought vividly to life in the action-packed fictional I SURVIVED series…
Rate it:
War Stories
3.98 avg. rating
· 1481 Ratings
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Restart, a story of telling truth from lies -- and finding out what being a hero really means.
There are two things Trevor loves more than anything else…
Rate it:
The Enemy Above: A Novel of World War II
Nazi gun fire can only mean one thing...

The Germans are closing in. And twelve-year-old Anton knows his family can't outrun them. A web of underground caves seems like the perfect place to hide. But d…
Rate it:
Stolen Girl
4.17 avg. rating
· 2351 Ratings
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of the war are messy, coming back to her in pieces and flashes she can't control. Though her adoptive mother says they are safe now, Nadia's flashbacks k…
Rate it:
Killers of the Dawn (Cirque Du Freak, #9)
4.24 avg. rating
· 22377 Ratings
Outnumbered, outsmarted and desperate, the hunters are on the run, pursued by the vampaneze, the police, and an angry mob. With their enemies clamoring for blood, the vampires prepare for a deadly bat…
Rate it:
The New Girl (Fear Street, #1)
3.63 avg. rating
· 6011 Ratings
The new girl is as pale as a ghost, blond, and eerily beautiful -- and she seems to need him as much as he wants her. Cory Brooks hungers for Anna Corwin's kisses, drowns in her light blue eyes. He ca…
Rate it:
Dragonwings (Golden Mountain Chronicles, #5)
Moon Shadow was eight when he sailed from China to join his father Windrider in America. Windrider lived in San Francisco's Chinatown and worked in a laundry. Moon Shadow had never seen him.

But he soo…

Rate it: