Books similar to Priceless: On Knowing The Price Of Everything And The Value Of Nothing

Priceless: On Knowing The Price Of Everything And The Value Of Nothing
As clinical as it sounds to express the value of human lives, health, or the environment in cold dollars and cents, cost-benefit analysis requires it. More disturbingly, this approach is being embrace…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Love, Creekwood (Simonverse, #3.5)
3.74 avg. rating
· 6187 Ratings
Fall in love all over again with the characters from the bestselling Simonverse novels in this highly anticipated epilogue novella. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, the movie Love, Simon, and the…
Rate it:
The Senator Next Door: A Memoir from the Heartland

One of the U.S. Senate's most candid--and funniest--women tells the story of her life and her unshakeable faith in our democracy

Minnesota Senator Amy Klobuchar has tackled every obstacle she's enc…

Rate it:
China in Ten Words
4.02 avg. rating
· 2163 Ratings
From one of China’s most acclaimed writers, his first work of nonfiction to appear in English: a unique, intimate look at the Chinese experience over the last several decades, told through personal st…
Rate it:
I, Robot (Robot, #0.1)
4.21 avg. rating
· 263894 Ratings
Isaac Asimov's I, Robot launches readers on an adventure into a not-so-distant future where man and machine , struggle to redefinelife, love, and consciousness—and where the stakes are nothing less th…
Rate it:
Second Chance
4.00 avg. rating
· 69 Ratings
A reunion of old college friends who haven't seen each other since the late 1960s leads to terror when two of the friends--who died back in college--crash the party. The guests soon find themselves hu…
Rate it:
The Sympathizer
3.94 avg. rating
· 65226 Ratings
It is April 1975, and Saigon is in chaos. At his villa, a general of the South Vietnamese army is drinking whiskey and, with the help of his trusted captain, drawing up a list of those who will be giv…
Rate it:
Foundation (Foundation, #1)
4.18 avg. rating
· 392736 Ratings
For twelve thousand years the Galactic Empire has ruled supreme. Now it is dying. But only Hari Seldon, creator of the revolutionary science of psychohistory, can see into the future -- to a dark age …
Rate it:
Foundation and Empire (Foundation #2)
4.22 avg. rating
· 145148 Ratings
Foundation and Empire tells the incredible story of a new breed of man who create a new force for galactic government. Thus, the Foundation hurtles into conflict with the decadent, decrepit First Empi…
Rate it:
I Know This Much Is True
4.19 avg. rating
· 279305 Ratings
On the afternoon of October 12, 1990, my twin brother, Thomas, entered the Three Rivers, Connecticut, public library, retreated to one of the rear study carrels, and prayed to God the sacrifice he was…
Rate it:
Second Foundation (Foundation #3)
4.24 avg. rating
· 136229 Ratings
So far the Foundation was safe. But there was a hidden Second Foundation to protect the first. The Mule has yet to find it, but he was getting closer all the time. The men of the Foundation sought it,…
Rate it:
When A Billion Chinese Jump: How China Will Save Mankind    Or Destroy It
Traditional Chinese edition of When a Billion Chinese JumpHow China Will Save Mankind or Destroy It. Watts is a correspondent for The Guardian in Beijing. In Chinese. Distributed by Tsai Fong Books, I…
Rate it:
The Gashlycrumb Tinies (The Vinegar Works, #1)
The Gashlycrumb Tinies: or, After the Outing is an abecedarian book written by Edward Gorey that was first published in 1963. Gorey tells the tale of 26 children (each representing a letter of the alp…
Rate it:
Leonardo da Vinci
4.13 avg. rating
· 68521 Ratings
Based on thousands of pages from Leonardo's astonishing notebooks and new discoveries about his life and work, Walter Isaacson weaves a narrative that connects his art to his science. He shows how Leo…
Rate it:
I Will Judge You by Your Bookshelf
3.74 avg. rating
· 12040 Ratings
A look at the culture and fanaticism of book lovers, from beloved New York Times illustrator Grant Snider
 
It’s no secret, but we are judged by our bookshelves. We learn to read at an early age, and …
Rate it:
The Kill Artist (Gabriel Allon, #1)
3.98 avg. rating
· 49719 Ratings
Gabriel Allon had a simple but brutal job: he tracked down and eliminated Israel's terrorist enemies. But when his wife and son fell victim to the danger that accompanied him everywhere, Gabriel quit …
Rate it:
The War of Art: Winning the Inner Creative Battle
Internationally bestselling author of Last of the Amazons, Gates of Fire, and Tides of War, Steven Pressfield delivers a guide to inspire and support those who struggle to express their creativity. Pr…
Rate it:
The Art Forger
3.68 avg. rating
· 65982 Ratings
A Barbara A. Shapiro tour de force.

On March 18, 1990, thirteen works of art worth today over $500 million were stolen from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston. It remains the largest unsolve…
Rate it:
The Shock of the New
3.73 avg. rating
· 31669 Ratings
A beautifully illustrated hundred-year history of modern art, from cubism to pop and avant-garde. More than 250 color photos.
Rate it:
The Agony and the Ecstasy
4.05 avg. rating
· 81119 Ratings
Celebrating the 500th anniversary of Michelangelo’s David, New American Library releases a special edition of Irving Stone’s classic biographical novel—in which both the artist and the man are brought…
Rate it:
The Night Portrait: A Novel of World War II and da Vinci's Italy
USA Today Bestseller

"This is a truly original novel that has earned its place among my favorite works of historical fiction."--Jennifer Robson, USA Today bestselling author of The Gown

An exciting, dua…
Rate it:
Leonardo's Notebooks
3.95 avg. rating
· 39140 Ratings
An all-new, jewel-like, reader-friendly format gives new life to this relaunch of an international best-seller.



Leonardo da Vinci—artist, inventor, and prototypical Renaissance man—is a perennial sourc…
Rate it:
Just Kids
4.13 avg. rating
· 175710 Ratings
In Just Kids, Patti Smith's first book of prose, the legendary American artist offers a never-before-seen glimpse of her remarkable relationship with photographer Robert Mapplethorpe in the epochal da…
Rate it:
Vincent Van Gogh: The Complete Paintings
4.10 avg. rating
· 42335 Ratings
Van Gogh, who took up a variety of professions before becoming an artist, was a solitary, despairing and self-destructive man. This richly illustrated and expert study follows the artist from the earl…
Rate it:
The Boy on the Wooden Box
4.32 avg. rating
· 13951 Ratings
Even in the darkest of times—especially in the darkest of times—there is room for strength and bravery. A remarkable memoir from Leon Leyson, one of the youngest children to survive the Holocaust on O…
Rate it:
One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich
The only English translation authorized by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

First published in the Soviet journal Novy Mir in 1962, One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich stands as a classic of contemporary lit…
Rate it:
The Stars, Like Dust (Galactic Empire, #1)
3.76 avg. rating
· 15340 Ratings
Biron Farrell was young and naïve, but he was growing up fast. A radiation bomb planted in his dorm room changed him from an innocent student at the University of Earth to a marked man, fleeing desper…
Rate it:
The Naked Sun (Robot, #2)
4.14 avg. rating
· 37162 Ratings
A millennium into the future, two advancements have altered the course of human history: the colonization of the Galaxy and the creation of the positronic brain. On the beautiful Outer World planet of…
Rate it:
Between the World and Me
4.37 avg. rating
· 221038 Ratings
“This is your country, this is your world, this is your body, and you must find some way to live within the all of it.”
 
In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history…
Rate it:
Made in America: An Informal History of the English Language in the United States
In Made in America, Bill Bryson de-mythologizes his native land, explaining how a dusty hamlet with neither woods nor holly became Hollywood; how the Wild West wasn't won; why Americans say "lootenant…
Rate it:
The Infinite Game
4.18 avg. rating
· 10145 Ratings
Do you know how to play the game you're in?

In finite games, like football or chess, the players are known, the rules are fixed, and the endpoint is clear. The winners and losers are easily identifie…
Rate it: