Books similar to The String Diaries (The String Diaries #1)

The String Diaries (The String Diaries #1)
A family is hunted by a centuries-old monster: a man with a relentless obsession who can take on any identity.


The String Diaries opens with Hannah frantically driving through the night--her daughter…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
The Plague Stones
3.97 avg. rating
· 158 Ratings
From the critically acclaimed author of Hekla's Children comes a dark and haunting tale of our world and the next.

Fleeing from a traumatic break-in, Londoners Paul and Tricia Feenan sell up to…
Rate it:
Thy Neighbor's Wife
3.94 avg. rating
· 769 Ratings
"Engrossing and provocative." Library Journal

Bestselling author Gay Talese's exploration into the hidden and changing sex lives of Americans from all walks of life shocked the world when it was first…
Rate it:
The World According to Breslin
3.88 avg. rating
· 32 Ratings
collection of articles from one of America's key columnists features Breslin's commentary on strife in Northern Ireland, politicians, lawyers, street violence, & the death of his wife
Rate it:
Basic Rotational Dynamics (Stick Figure Physics Tutorials)
This tutorial covers the basics of rotation, which would be covered in an AP or IB high school physics class, or introductory college course, including:

Rotational kinetic energy
Torque
Moments of…
Rate it:
Unity 2018 Game Development in 24 Hours, Sams Teach Yourself
In just 24 lessons of one hour or less, Sams Teach Yourself Unity Game Development in 24 Hours will help you master the Unity 2018 game engine at the heart of Ori and the Blind Forest, Firewatch,
Rate it:
50 Masterpieces you have to read before you die, vol 3
This book contains the following works arranged alphabetically by authors last names

- What's Bred in the Bone [Grant Allen]
- The Golden Ass [Lucius Apuleius]
- Meditations [Marcus Aurelius]
-…
Rate it:
Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software
In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through…
Rate it:
The Complete Plays
4.32 avg. rating
· 2876 Ratings
Here in one volume are the full texts of the seven extant plays of the Greek playwright Sophocles, regarded by the Greeks of his time as a kind of "tragic Homer". This collection includes the revised…
Rate it:
The Dead Path
3.75 avg. rating
· 2087 Ratings
A haunting vision in the woods sets off a series of tragic events, leaving Nicholas Close lost amid visions of ghosts trapped in their harrowing, final moments. These uniquely terrifying apparitions…
Rate it:
Vampire Chronicles: Interview with the Vampire, The Vampire Lestat, The Queen of the Damned (Anne Rice)
The ornate, casket-like packaging and neogothic graphic design of this immortal trilogy is eerily enticing on its own. But just lift the lid, slide the first tape from its ghostly sleeve, and you'll…
Rate it:
She's Not Here
3.55 avg. rating
· 42 Ratings
Willow watched her father diminish in front of her as Alzheimer's pulled him further away each day. When a fire creates the perfect disaster, Willow's desperation to find a cure to the disease causes…
Rate it:
The Jury (Paul Madriani, #6)
3.93 avg. rating
· 3828 Ratings
Paul Madriani takes on the case of Dr. David Crone, a respected geneticist accused of murdering his young colleague. An incriminating note left behind by a dead key witness seems to confirm Crone's…
Rate it:
My Freshman Year: What a Professor Learned by Becoming a Student
After fifteen years of teaching anthropology at a large university, Rebekah Nathan had become baffled by her own students. Their strange behavior—eating meals at their desks, not completing reading…
Rate it:
The Professional Stranger: An Informal Introduction to Ethnography
This new edition of a classic introductory text opens with an extensive chapter that brings ethnography up-to-date and aims it toward the next century. At a time when numerous disciplines,…
Rate it:
Anthropology of Religion: The Basics
Anthropology of Religion: The Basics is an accessible and engaging introductory text organized around key issues that all anthropologists of religion face. This book uses a wide range of historical…
Rate it:
Death on the Canal (Lotte Meerman #3)

Where do your priorities lie?

In her latest case, Dutch detective Lotte Meerman finds herself faced with a moral dilemma - does she investigate the murder of a suspected drug dealer ... or does she…

Rate it:
How to Pray: A Simple Guide for Normal People
Rate it:
Quiet Dell
3.25 avg. rating
· 1758 Ratings
From one of America’s most accomplished and acclaimed fiction writers, a chilling, spectacularly riveting novel based on a real life multiple murder by a con man who preyed on widows—a story that has…
Rate it:
Apart in the Dark: Novellas
3.95 avg. rating
· 185 Ratings
Now available for the first time in a print edition—two terrifying novellas from bestselling author Ania Ahlborn, “a great storyteller who spins an atmosphere of dread literally from the first page”…
Rate it:
New Fears: New Horror Stories by Masters of the Genre
Fear comes in many forms.

The horror genre’s greatest living practitioners drag our darkest fears kicking and screaming into the light in this collection of nineteen brand-new stories. In The Boggle…
Rate it:
Stop at Nothing
3.80 avg. rating
· 151 Ratings
A mother's job is to keep her children safe.

Tess has always tried to be a good mother. Of course, there are things she wishes she'd done differently, but doesn't everyone feel that way?

Then Emma,…
Rate it:
A Cold Season
2.93 avg. rating
· 627 Ratings
Cass is building a new life for herself and her young son Ben after the death of her soldier husband Pete, returning to the village where she lived as a child. But their idyllic new home is not what…
Rate it:
The Crowlands
4.42 avg. rating
· 285 Ratings
"The ultimate haunted house story....."

This is what readers are saying about The Crowlands:

"Easily one of the best horror books I’ve read lately. Hard to put down!" - 5 Stars

"It's the best book…
Rate it:
The Hollow Tree
3.83 avg. rating
· 299 Ratings
After losing her hand in a tragic accident, Rachel is plagued by vivid nightmares of a hollow tree, and a hand reaching from it, begging her for help. Terrified that she is going mad, Rachel…
Rate it:
Chills (Kathy Ryan, #1)
3.55 avg. rating
· 205 Ratings
“True Detective” meets H.P. Lovecraft in this chilling novel of murder, mystery, and slow-mounting dread from acclaimed author Mary SanGiovanni….

It begins with a freak snowstorm in May. Hit hardest…
Rate it:
Sweet Heart
3.66 avg. rating
· 587 Ratings
Charley has a strange feeling when she sees the idyllic mill house with its cluster of outbuildings. A powerful sense of recognition, as if she has been there before. Except she knows she hasn't.…
Rate it:
Devouring Dark
4.16 avg. rating
· 51 Ratings
DEVOURING DARK is an urban horror novel about a man plagued since childhood by a malevolent darkness that threatens to consume him. After a lifetime spent wrestling for control over this onslaught,…
Rate it:
A Cold Silence
3.31 avg. rating
· 36 Ratings

Ben Cassidy has strict instructions from his mother, Cass, never to return to his childhood home of Darnshaw. But when an old friend dies, he returns to investigate a computer game she was playing…

Rate it:
Horseradish
4.03 avg. rating
· 5574 Ratings

Lemony Snicket's work is filled with bitter truths, like: 'It is always cruel to laugh at people, of course, although sometimes if they are wearing an ugly hat it is hard to control yourself.' Or:…

Rate it:
Lord Emsworth and Others (Blandings Castle, #5.5)
In Lord Emsworth and Others, readers are treated to a selection of familiar characters and places, in new and unfamiliar circumstances. Fans and initiates will be highly entertained.
Rate it: