Books similar to A Hall of Mirrors

A Hall of Mirrors
3.77 avg. rating
· 414 Ratings
Rheinhardt, a disk jockey and failed musician, rolls into New Orleans looking for work and another chance in life. What he finds is a woman physically and psychically damaged by the men in her past an…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
All the King's Men
4.05 avg. rating
· 53736 Ratings
More than just a classic political novel, Warren’s tale of power and corruption in the Depression-era South is a sustained meditation on the unforeseen consequences of every human act, the vexing conn…
Rate it:
Hell's Angels
3.98 avg. rating
· 36427 Ratings
Au début des années soixante, Thompson, alors journaliste à San Francisco, est fasciné par les Hell's Angels. Son article sur ces seigneurs de la route fait sensation, il se lance dans la version long…
Rate it:
The Last King of Scotland
3.78 avg. rating
· 2901 Ratings
Shortly after his arrival in Uganda, Scottish doctor Nicholas Garrigan is called to the scene of a bizarre accident: Idi Amin, careening down a dirt road in his red Maserati, has run over a cow. When …
Rate it:
Agent Running in the Field
3.77 avg. rating
· 8012 Ratings
Nat, a 47 year-old veteran of Britain’s Secret Intelligence Service, believes his years as an agent runner are over. He is back in London with his wife, the long-suffering Prue. But with the growing t…
Rate it:
The Great American Novel
3.66 avg. rating
· 1868 Ratings
Rate it:
Zuckerman Unbound
3.85 avg. rating
· 3365 Ratings
Following the wild success of his novel, Carnovsky, Nathan Zuckerman has been catapulted into the literary limelight. As he ventures out onto the streets of Manhattan he finds himself accosted on all …
Rate it:
O dia em que a poesia derrotou um ditador
Durante uma aula de filosofia em Santiago, Nico presencia seu professor ser levado pela polícia. Prisões eram frequentes no Chile de 1988. No mesmo ano, Pinochet, cedendo a pressões da comunidade inte…
Rate it:
Super-Cannes
3.71 avg. rating
· 3493 Ratings
Eden-Olympia is more than just a multinational business park, it is a virtual city-state in itself, built for the most elite high-tech industries. Isolated and secure, the residents lack nothing, yet …
Rate it:
Όλοι θέλουν να χορεύουν
Στην Εμίλια-Ρομάνια της Ιταλίας, ο Ρομπέρτο, οκτώ χρονών, παρακολουθεί το τρομακτικό έθιμο της τελετουργικής σφαγής του χοίρου. Εκείνη τη μέρα αποκτά έναν καινούργιο φίλο, τον Ρικάρντο, και μαζί συναν…
Rate it:
The Moviegoer
3.68 avg. rating
· 23017 Ratings
The dazzling novel that established Walker Percy as one of the major voices in Southern literature is now available for the first time in Vintage paperback. The Moviegoer is Binx Bolling, a young New …
Rate it:
Caffeine: How Caffeine Created the Modern World
Pollan takes us on a journey through the history of the drug, which was first discovered in a small part of East Africa and within a century became an addiction affecting most of the human species. Ca…
Rate it:
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting by in America
Millions of Americans work full-time, year-round, for poverty-level wages. In 1998, Barbara Ehrenreich decided to join them. She was inspired in part by the rhetoric surrounding welfare reform, which …
Rate it:
The Crying of Lot 49
3.70 avg. rating
· 67649 Ratings
Suffused with rich satire, chaotic brilliance, verbal turbulence and wild humor, The Crying of Lot 49 opens as Oedipa Maas discovers that she has been made executrix of a former lover's estate. The pe…
Rate it:
Coming Through Slaughter
3.93 avg. rating
· 5115 Ratings
Bringing to life the fabulous, colorful panorama of New Orleans in the first flush of the jazz era, this book tells the story of Buddy Bolden, the first of the great trumpet players--some say the orig…
Rate it:
A Kind of Freedom
3.79 avg. rating
· 3414 Ratings
Evelyn is a Creole woman who comes of age in New Orleans at the height of World War Two. Her family inhabits the upper echelon of Black society and when she falls for no-name Renard, she is forced to …
Rate it:
Brief Interviews with Hideous Men
3.89 avg. rating
· 19792 Ratings
In his startling and singular new short story collection, David Foster Wallace nudges at the boundaries of fiction with inimitable wit and seductive intelligence. Venturing inside minds and landscapes…
Rate it:
The Flame
4.04 avg. rating
· 1868 Ratings
The Flame is the final work from Leonard Cohen, the revered poet and musician whose fans span generations and whose work is celebrated throughout the world. Featuring poems, excerpts from his private…
Rate it:
The Second Coming
3.99 avg. rating
· 3214 Ratings
GOD'S COMING - LOOK BUSY!

God really is coming, and he is going to be pissed. Having left his son in charge, God treated himself to a well-earned break around the height of the Renaissance. A good time…
Rate it:
The Atrocity Exhibition
3.84 avg. rating
· 4159 Ratings
Easily one of the 20th century's most visionary writers, J. G. Ballard lived far ahead of his time. Called his "prophetic masterpiece" by many, The Atrocity Exhibition practically lies outside of any …
Rate it:
The Film Club: A True Story of a Father and Son
At the start of this brilliantly unconventional family memoir, David Gilmour is an unemployed movie critic trying to convince his fifteen-year-old son Jesse to do his homework. When he realizes Jesse …
Rate it:
The Dumb Waiter
3.75 avg. rating
· 2561 Ratings
One of his most recognized and acclaimed plays, Harold Pinter’s “The Dumb Waiter” is a humorous and provocative story of two hit men as they wait in a basement for their next assignment. Told through …
Rate it:
Players
3.30 avg. rating
· 1277 Ratings
In this remarkable novel of menace and mystery Pammy and Lyle Wynant are an attractive, modern couple who seem to have it all. Yet behind their "ideal" life is a lingering boredom and quiet desperatio…
Rate it:
The Room
3.38 avg. rating
· 468 Ratings
Rose and Bert rent a room that might almost be a paleolithic cave; the outside is terrifying and unknown. Rose never goes out, Bert only goes to drive his van with furious aggression. A young couple c…
Rate it:
Ho-ba-la-lá: À Procura de João Gilberto
»Girl from Ipanema«, »Chega de Saudade«, »Desafinado« – diese Klassiker der Bossa nova sind täglich in den Cafés, Clubs und Radios dieser Welt zu hören. Sie sind berühmt, weil sie so sind, wie Musik s…
Rate it:
Super Sad True Love Story
3.44 avg. rating
· 33981 Ratings
The author of two critically acclaimed novels, The Russian Debutante’s Handbook and Absurdistan, Gary Shteyngart has risen to the top of the fiction world. Now, in his hilarious and heartfelt new nove…
Rate it:
A Burning
3.74 avg. rating
· 20639 Ratings
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise—to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the mov…
Rate it:
The Maze
3.36 avg. rating
· 14 Ratings
In the summer of 1922, after a series of decisive defeats at the hands of the Turks, the Greek army is in retreat from Asia Minor. Thousands of soldiers sweep toward the Mediterranean coast, leaving b…
Rate it:
Quichotte
3.79 avg. rating
· 4668 Ratings
In a tour-de-force that is both an homage to an immortal work of literature and a modern masterpiece about the quest for love and family, Booker Prize-winning, internationally bestselling author Salma…
Rate it:
Pure
3.58 avg. rating
· 6481 Ratings
Deep in the heart of Paris, its oldest cemetery is, by 1785, overflowing, tainting the very breath of those who live nearby. Into their midst comes Jean-Baptiste Baratte, a young, provincial engineer …
Rate it:
Joy Division
4.52 avg. rating
· 71 Ratings
The definitive look at one of the most iconic rock bands of all time. Joy Division pioneered a genre of music and defined the look and sound of the post-punk era, and thirty years after the suicide of…
Rate it: