Books similar to A Hall of Mirrors

A Hall of Mirrors
3.77 avg. rating
· 380 Ratings
Rheinhardt, a disk jockey and failed musician, rolls into New Orleans looking for work and another chance in life. What he finds is a woman physically and psychically damaged by the men in her past an…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Reckless Daughter: A Portrait of Joni Mitchell
"She was like a storm." —Leonard Cohen

Joni Mitchell may be the most influential female recording artist and composer of the late twentieth century. In Reckless Daughter, the music critic David Yaffe t…
Rate it:
Put Out More Flags
3.82 avg. rating
· 1633 Ratings
Upper-class scoundrel Basil Seal, mad, bad, and dangerous to know, creates havoc wherever he goes, much to the despair of the three women in his life-his sister, his mother, and his mistress. When Nev…
Rate it:
Ballistic (Gray Man, #3)
4.25 avg. rating
· 6335 Ratings
After Court Gentry was betrayed by his compatriots and forced to take on a near-suicidal covert mission by the CIA, he thought he could find refuge living in the Amazon rain forest. But his bloody pas…
Rate it:
Grandad, There's A Head On The Beach (Jimm Juree, #2)
Who do you tell when you wake up to find a severed head on your resort-front beach in the morning? For frustrated ex-crime reporter Jimm Juree it means action. With her former cop grandfather as back …
Rate it:
Season of the Witch: Enchantment, Terror and Deliverance in the City of Love
In a kaleidoscopic narrative, bestselling David Talbot recounts the gripping story of San Francisco in the turbulent years between 1967 & 1982—& of the extraordinary persons who led to the city’s ulti…
Rate it:
Agent Running in the Field
3.80 avg. rating
· 5208 Ratings
Nat, a 47 year-old veteran of Britain’s Secret Intelligence Service, believes his years as an agent runner are over. He is back in London with his wife, the long-suffering Prue. But with the growing t…
Rate it:
Swann's Way (In Search of Lost Time, #1)
4.12 avg. rating
· 32572 Ratings
Swann's Way tells two related stories, the first of which revolves around Marcel, a younger version of the narrator, and his experiences in, and memories of, the French town Combray. Inspired by the "…
Rate it:
Andromache
3.87 avg. rating
· 625 Ratings
Andromache takes place in the aftermath of the Trojan War. Andromache has become a concubine to Achilles' son, Neoptolemus, bearing him a child, Molossus. The captive Andromache is haunted by memories…
Rate it:
Hecuba
3.98 avg. rating
· 1187 Ratings
Rate it:
Suppliant Women
3.36 avg. rating
· 214 Ratings
This translation shows the striking interplay of voices in Euripides' 'Suppliant Women'. Torn between the mothers' lament over the dead and proud civic eulogy, between calls for a just war and grief f…
Rate it:
The Ones We've Been Waiting for: How a New Generation of Leaders Will Transform America
An optimistic look at the future of American leadership by a brilliant young reporter

A new generation is stepping up. There are now twenty-six millennials in Congress--a fivefold increase gained in th…
Rate it:
The Decadent Society: How We Became the Victims of Our Own Success
Today the Western world seems to be in crisis. But beneath our social media frenzy and reality-television politics, the deeper reality is one of drift, repetition, and dead ends. The Decadent Society
Rate it:
Don't Burn This Book: Thinking for Yourself in an Age of Unreason
The Progressive Woke Machine--from outrage mobs and online censorship to activists masquerading as journalists--is waging war against the last free thinkers in the world. This book is both an explanat…
Rate it:
A Loyal Character Dancer (Inspector Chen Cao #2)
Inspector Chen’s mentor in the Shanghai Police Bureau has assigned him to escort U.S. Marshal Catherine Rohn. Her mission is to bring Wen, the wife of a witness in an important criminal trial, to the …
Rate it:
Caffeine: How Caffeine Created the Modern World
Michael Pollan, known for his best-selling nonfiction audio, including The Omnivores Dilemma and How to Change Your Mind, conceived and wrote Caffeine: How Caffeine Created the Modern World as an Audi…
Rate it:
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting by in America
Reveals low-wage America in all its tenacity, anxiety, and surprising generosity--a land of Big Boxes, fast food, and a thousand desperate stratagems for survival.

Millions of Americans work full-time,…
Rate it:
Missing Out: In Praise of the Unlived Life
A transformative book about the lives we wish we had and what they can teach us about who we are.

All of us lead two parallel lives: the one we are actively living, and the one we feel we should have h…
Rate it:
Quichotte
3.80 avg. rating
· 3416 Ratings
In a tour-de-force that is both an homage to an immortal work of literature and a modern masterpiece about the quest for love and family, Booker Prize-winning, internationally bestselling author Salma…
Rate it:
Cold Storage
3.63 avg. rating
· 4031 Ratings
For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a high…
Rate it:
The Starman Omnibus, Vol. 3
4.44 avg. rating
· 653 Ratings
The acclaimed series STARMAN, starring a Gen-X super hero from the 1990s, is re-presented in high quality format, featuring spectacular art by Eisner Award winner Tony Harris.

In this new, third volume…
Rate it:
Cathedral
4.31 avg. rating
· 22508 Ratings
Raymond Carver’s third collection of stories, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, including the canonical titular story about blindness and learning to enter the very different world of another.  These…
Rate it:
Schloß Gripsholm
3.92 avg. rating
· 919 Ratings
Um den Berliner Sorgen zu entfliehen, verbringen der Ich-Erzähler und seine Geliebte, »Prinzessin« Lydia, einen mehrwöchigen Urlaub auf dem wunderschönen schwedischen Schloss Gripsholm. Besuch aus der…
Rate it:
The Body in Question
3.55 avg. rating
· 2782 Ratings
5 hours, 26 minutes

From the author of Heroic Measures (“Smart and funny and completely surprising . . . I loved every page” —Ann Patchett), Act of God (“A feat of literary magic”—Booklist) and, with …
Rate it:
Polity Agent (Agent Cormac, #4)
4.20 avg. rating
· 4376 Ratings
From eight hundred years in the future, a runcible gate is opened into the Polity and those coming through it have been sent specially to take the alien maker back to its home civilization in the Smal…
Rate it:
The Earl of Louisiana
4.19 avg. rating
· 215 Ratings
In the summer of 1959, A. J. Liebling, veteran writer for the New Yorker, came to Louisiana to cover a series of bizarre events which began when Governor Earl K. Long was committed to a mental institu…
Rate it:
Nobody Walks
3.83 avg. rating
· 838 Ratings
The long-awaited new novel by British espionage fiction master Mick Herron, author of the 2013 Crime Writers' Association Gold Dagger-winning "Dead""Lions."
Tom Bettany is working at a meat processin…
Rate it:
Off Season
3.61 avg. rating
· 447 Ratings
Rage. Depression. Divorce. Politics. Love. A visceral story that you can see, taste, and feel.

How could this happen? The question of 2016 becomes deeply personal in James Sturm’s riveting graphic nove…
Rate it:
The Burglar Who Traded Ted Williams (Bernie Rhodenbarr, #6)
Bernie Rhodenbarr is actually trying to earn an honest living. It's been an entire year since he's entered anyone's abode illegally to help himself to their valuables. But now an unscrupulous landlord…
Rate it:
Sarah Jane
3.52 avg. rating
· 446 Ratings
A spare, sparkling tour de force about one woman's journey to becoming a cop, by master of noir James Sallis, author of Drive

Sarah Jane Pullman is a good cop with a complicated past. From her small-to…
Rate it:
After Dark, My Sweet
3.90 avg. rating
· 1345 Ratings
William "Kid" Collins was once a respected boxer. Now he's a drifter, on the run after escaping from a mental institution.

One afternoon he meets Fay, a beautiful young widow. She is smart and decent…
Rate it: