Books similar to In Search of Memory: The Emergence of a New Science of Mind

In Search of Memory: The Emergence of a New Science of Mind
Nobel Prize winner Kandel intertwines cogntive psychology, neuroscience, and molecular biology with his own quest to understand memory.
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Mind Wide Open: Your Brain and the Neuroscience of Everyday Life
In this nationally bestselling, compulsively readable account of what makes brain science a vital component of people's quest to know themselves, acclaimed science writer Steven Johnson subjects his o…
Rate it:
Synaptic Self: How Our Brains Become Who We Are
Following up his 1996 "The Emotional Brain, " the world-renowned brain expert presents a groundbreaking work that tells a more profound story: how the little spaces between the neurons--the brain's sy…
Rate it:
The Mind and the Brain: Neuroplasticity and the Power of Mental Force
A groundbreaking work of science that confirms, for the first time, the independent existence of the mind–and demonstrates the possibilities for human control over the workings of the brain.

Convention…
Rate it:
On Intelligence
4.11 avg. rating
· 5677 Ratings
From the inventor of the PalmPilot comes a new and compelling theory of intelligence, brain function, and the future of intelligent machines

Jeff Hawkins, the man who created the PalmPilot, Treo smart …
Rate it:
Proust Was a Neuroscientist
3.92 avg. rating
· 1013 Ratings
Since the dawn of the modern age, science's greatest contribution to the world has been its ability to unravel the mystery, to break down the inner working of the universe to its component parts: atom…
Rate it:
Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain
3.93 avg. rating
· 55151 Ratings
With the same trademark compassion and erudition he brought to The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat, Oliver Sacks explores the place music occupies in the brain and how it affects the human conditio…
Rate it:
The Rest Is Noise Series: Apparition from the Woods: The Loneliness of Jean Sibelius

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank…

Rate it:
A Brief Tour of Human Consciousness: From Impostor Poodles to Purple Numbers
How can some people come to believe that their poodle is an impostor? Or see colors in numbers? Internationally acclaimed neuroscientist, V.S. Ramachandran, now shares his unique insight into human co…
Rate it:
This Is Your Brain on Music: The Science of a Human Obsession
Whether you load your iPod with Bach or Bono, music has a significant role in your life—even if you never realized it. Why does music evoke such powerful moods? The answers are at last be- coming clea…
Rate it:
Oh the Glory of it All
3.61 avg. rating
· 5222 Ratings
"A memoir, at its heart, is written in order to figure out who you are," writes Sean Wilsey, and indeed, Oh the Glory of it All is compelling proof of his exhaustive personal quest. It's no surprise t…
Rate it:
How Music Works: The Science and Psychology of Beautiful Sounds, from Beethoven to the Beatles and Beyond
"Any readers whose love of music has somehow not led them to explore the technical side before will surely find the result a thoroughly accessible, and occasionally revelatory, primer."—Seattle Post-I…
Rate it:
I Don't Care About Your Band: Lessons Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Sensitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I've Dated
In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care About Your Band sheds light on the humil…
Rate it:
How the Mind Works
3.98 avg. rating
· 17136 Ratings
In this extraordinary bestseller, Steven Pinker, one of the world's leading cognitive scientists, does for the rest of the mind what he did for language in his 1994 book, The Language Instinct. He exp…
Rate it:
The Feeling of What Happens: Body and Emotion in the Making of Consciousness
The publication of this book is an event in the making. All over the world scientists, psychologists, and philosophers are waiting to read Antonio Damasio's new theory of the nature of consciousness a…
Rate it:
The Tell-Tale Brain: A Neuroscientist's Quest for What Makes Us Human
V. S. Ramachandran is at the forefront of his field-so much so that Richard Dawkins dubbed him the "Marco Polo of neuroscience." Now, in a major new work, Ramachandran sets his sights on the mystery o…
Rate it:
The Stuff of Thought: Language as a Window into Human Nature
New York Times bestselling author Steven Pinker possesses that rare combination of scientific aptitude and verbal eloquence that enables him to provide lucid explanations of deep and powerful ideas. H…
Rate it:
Another Bullshit Night in Suck City
3.80 avg. rating
· 9734 Ratings
Nick Flynn met his father when he was working as a caseworker in a homeless shelter in Boston. As a teenager he'd received letters from this stranger father, a self-proclaimed poet and con man doing t…
Rate it:
The Inner Game of Music
3.95 avg. rating
· 3593 Ratings
By the best-selling co-author of Inner Tennis, here's a book designed to help musicians overcome obstacles, help improve concentration, and reduce nervousness, allowing them to reach new levels of pe…
Rate it:
Proust and the Squid: The Story and Science of the Reading Brain
The act of reading is a miracle. Every new reader's brain possesses the extraordinary capacity to rearrange itself beyond its original abilities in order to understand written symbols. But how does th…
Rate it:
The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century
The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century is a voyage into the labyrinth of modern music, which remains an obscure world for most people. While paintings of Picasso and Jackson Pollock sel…
Rate it: