Books similar to Tremor of Intent

Tremor of Intent
3.60 avg. rating
· 299 Ratings
Denis Hillier is an aging British agent based in Yugoslavia. His old school friend Roper has defected to the USSR to become one of the evil empire's great scientific minds. Hillier must bring Roper ba…
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
The Secret Generations (The Secret Trilogy Book 1)
May, 1910

The world is on the eve of a war set to ruin the lives of a whole generation.

The Railton family are intimately involved in the world of espionage, which will become so crucial to the conf…
Rate it:
Night of the Fox (Dougal Munro and Jack Carter #1)
On a secret sea maneuver just before D-Day, American Colonel Hugh Kelso goes down in the English Channel. Wounded and adrift for days, he washes ashore on the German-occupied island of Jersey. The new…
Rate it:
Winterkill (Dark Iceland #6)
3.98 avg. rating
· 1159 Ratings
When the body of a nineteen-year-old girl is found on the main street of Siglufjörður, Police Inspector Ari Thór battles a violent Icelandic storm in an increasingly dangerous hunt for her killer … Th…
Rate it:
Lady, Go Die!
3.74 avg. rating
· 170 Ratings
When Hammer and Velda go on vacation to a Long Island beach town, Hammer becomes embroiled in the mystery of a missing New York party girl who lives nearby. When she turns up naked--and dead--in the t…
Rate it:
The Honourable Schoolboy (George Smiley #6; Karla Trilogy #2)
John le Carré's classic novels deftly navigate readers through the intricate shadow worlds of international espionage with unsurpassed skill and knowledge and have earned him -- and his hero, British …
Rate it:
Klara and the Sun
3.82 avg. rating
· 37011 Ratings
Klara and the Sun, the first novel by Kazuo Ishiguro since he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, tells the story of Klara, an Artificial Friend with outstanding observational qualities, who, f…
Rate it:
Hunting the Hangman
4.25 avg. rating
· 89 Ratings
2017 marks the 75th anniversary of the attack on a man so evil even fellow SS officers referred to him as the 'Blond Beast’. In Prague he was known as the Hangman. Hitler, who called him 'The Man with…
Rate it:
Enemies: A War Story
4.44 avg. rating
· 232 Ratings
In the summer of 1941, two young men from Chicago took off on a road trip to Mexico. From there, they traveled across the Pacific to Japan, and then on to occupied France, landing in that country on t…
Rate it:
The Baron of Maleperduys (The Reynard Cycle Book 2)
Arcasia is at war. The Calvarians, bent on vengeance for the attack on their capital, terrorize the countryside, while the armies of the King struggle in vain to stem the tide of the invaders. No plac…
Rate it:
The Art of War (Tommy Carmellini #6; Jake Grafton & Tommy Carmellini Universe #16)
The Chinese dragon is flexing its muscles. As its military begins to prey on neighbors in the South China Sea, attacking fishing vessels and scheming to seize natural resources, the US goes on high al…
Rate it:
The Resistance: The Complete Series (Books 1-3)
Rate it:
Jimmy-the-One (Submariner Sinclair #2)
4.11 avg. rating
· 322 Ratings
Rate it:
Beyond Order: 12 More Rules For Life
The sequel to 12 Rules for Life offers further guidance on the periolus path of modern life.

In 12 Rules for Life, clinical psychologist and celebrated professor at Harvard and the University of Toro…
Rate it:
The First World War (Smithsonian History of Warfare)
Industrial and ironclad power reached its culmination in the war that engulfed Europe. As events would prove, however, the products of the industrial system of the 20th century, including the capacity…
Rate it:
A History of the Modern World Since 1815
Conceived and written as a history of the modern world rather than a truncated Western Civilization book, this text is one of the most highly praised history texts ever published. It has been adopted …
Rate it:
A History of the Modern World to 1815
3.75 avg. rating
· 36 Ratings
"A History of the Modern World" is a careful, well-written narrative of major events from the late Middle Ages to the political and religious conflicts at the beginning of the twenty-first century. It…
Rate it:
The Chalet
3.83 avg. rating
· 1733 Ratings
Four friends. One luxury getaway. The perfect murder.

French Alps, 1998

Two young men ski into a blizzard… but only one returns.

20 years later

Four people connected to the missing man find themselves in …
Rate it:
Antisocial Media: How Facebook Disconnects Us and Undermines Democracy
If you wanted to build a machine that would distribute propaganda to millions of people, distract them from important issues, energize hatred and bigotry, erode social trust, undermine respectable jou…
Rate it:
Submariner Sinclair (Submariner Sinclair #1)
The first book in a thrilling series of nautical adventures! Perfect for fans of Dewey Lambdin, Clive Cussler, Douglas Reeman and Duncan Harding.

The crew of H.M. Submarine Rugged are on a high-stakes,…
Rate it:
Shadow on the Sea: Book 2 of The Long Gray Target series World War 2 Novels
Rate it:
A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking
3.93 avg. rating
· 4700 Ratings
Fourteen-year-old Mona isn’t like the wizards charged with defending the city. She can’t control lightning or speak to water. Her familiar is a sourdough starter and her magic only works on bread. She…
Rate it:
The Library of Legends
3.79 avg. rating
· 4239 Ratings

From the author of Three Souls and Dragon Springs Road comes a captivating historical novel in which a convoy of student refugees travel across China, fleeing the hostilities of a brutal war with J…

Rate it:
Trap Line
4.03 avg. rating
· 2132 Ratings
A Key West fishing captain takes on Florida’s drug lords in this crime novel from the New York Times–bestselling author of Bad Monkey.

Though he is one of Key West’s most skilled fishing captains, Bre…
Rate it:
The Long Gray Target: Don't Shoot--I'm Neutral!
Rate it:
The Man-Eater of Malgudi
3.84 avg. rating
· 2897 Ratings
This is the story of Nataraj, who earns his living as a printer in the little world of Malgudi, an imaginary town in South India. Nataraj and his close friends, a poet and a journalist, find their con…
Rate it:
A Short History of Modern Philosophy
3.82 avg. rating
· 429 Ratings
Discover for yourself the pleasures of philosophy! Written both for the seasoned student of philosophy as well as the general reader, the renowned writer Roger Scruton provides a survey of modern phil…
Rate it:
Typhoon Ace: The RAF Defence of Southern England (A Harry Rose Novel Book 3)
It is late 1942, and England is under constant attack from the Luftwaffe.

Bored with his desk job, Flight Lieutenant Harry ‘Flash’ Rose is persuaded by his dear friend Daniel ‘Granny’ Smith to re-join …
Rate it:
The Killings at Kingfisher Hill (New Hercule Poirot Mysteries, #4)

The world’s most beloved detective, Hercule Poirot—the legendary star of Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express and Death on the Nile—returns in a delectably twisty mystery.

Hercule Poirot …

Rate it:
Regenesis: How Synthetic Biology Will Reinvent Nature and Ourselves
Imagine a future in which human beings have become immune to all viruses, in which bacteria can custom-produce everyday items, like a drinking cup, or generate enough electricity to end oil dependency…
Rate it:
A Man for All Seasons
3.89 avg. rating
· 11846 Ratings
The classic play about Sir Thomas More, the Lord chancellor who refused to compromise and was executed by Henry VIII.
Rate it: