Books similar to Reach for the Sky

Reach for the Sky
4.31 avg. rating
· 911 Ratings

The inspirational story of Douglas Bader, DSO, DFC.

Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
The Wooden Horse
4.08 avg. rating
· 742 Ratings
Based on true events in which the author, calling himself Peter, was involved, this is the story of a successful escape from Stalag Luft III in German-occupied Poland, by British prisoners of war, dur…
Rate it:
The Spy Who Loved Me (James Bond, #10)
3.39 avg. rating
· 8643 Ratings
‘He was about six feet tall, slim and fit. The eyes in the lean , slightly tanned face were a very clear grey-blue and as they observed the men they were cold and watchful. His good looks had a danger…
Rate it:
Lark Rise to Candleford
4.01 avg. rating
· 2293 Ratings
Flora Thompson's immortal trilogy, containing "Lark Rise", "Over To Candleford" and "Candleford Green", is a heartwarming portrayal of country life at the close of the 19th century. This story of thre…
Rate it:
Run Silent Run Deep
4.18 avg. rating
· 3805 Ratings
An American equivalent of Das Boot, this gripping, bestselling novel of submarine warfare inspired a well-known Hollywood film starring Burt Lancaster and Clark Gable. Set in the aftermath of the atta…
Rate it:
Currahee!: A Screaming Eagle at Normandy
The title represents the battle cry and motto of the famous Screaming Eagles of the 101st Airborne Regiment as they parachuted into Normandy in World War II. This story, told by a man who was there, w…
Rate it:
Topaz
3.73 avg. rating
· 3852 Ratings
On the eve of the Cuban Missile Crisis, American and French intelligence agents are plunged into a maze of Cold War intrigue In Paris, 1962, French intelligence chief André Devereaux and NATO intellig…
Rate it:
The Guns of Navarone
4.15 avg. rating
· 14964 Ratings
An entire navy had tried to silence the guns of Navarone and failed. Full-scale attacks had been driven back. Now they were sending in just five men, each one a specialist in dealing death.
Rate it:
Samurai!
4.31 avg. rating
· 1257 Ratings
Book by
Rate it:
Lost in Shangri-la: A True Story of Survival, Adventure, and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II
“A lost world, man-eating tribesmen, lush andimpenetrable jungles, stranded American fliers (one of them a dame withgreat gams, for heaven's sake), a startling rescue mission. . . . This is atrue stor…
Rate it:
Raven One (Raven One, #1)
4.20 avg. rating
· 109 Ratings
Librarian Note: Alternate Cover Edition for ISBN-10: 1939398223 / ISBN-13: 9781939398222.

UNARMED OVER HOSTILE TERRITORY...

For a moment Wilson froze and looked at the white-helmeted pilot who sat high …
Rate it:
The Laughing Policeman (Martin Beck, #4)
4.00 avg. rating
· 5740 Ratings
With its wonderfully observed lawmen (including the inimitable Martin Beck), its brilliantly rendered felons and their murky Stockholm underworld, and its deftly engineered plot, The Laughing Policema…
Rate it:
We Bought a Zoo
3.47 avg. rating
· 5419 Ratings
In the tradition of "Marley & Me" comes an unforgettable memoir about the mysteries of the animal kingdom, the power of family, and the triumph of hope over tragedy in this chronicle of the Mee family…
Rate it:
The Dawn Attack
3.96 avg. rating
· 25 Ratings
November 29, 1941: 0530 hrs. At sea, three thousand yards off the blacked-out coast of Occupied Norway two ditched Luftwaffe air crew toss in a yellow dinghy. One is dead, his companion close to death…
Rate it:
That's Me in the Middle (The Bandy Papers, #2)
Bartholomew Bandy has become an air ace. On the ground he causes disasters wherever he goes, but in the air he’s deadly, shooting down dozens of German planes in the course of thrilling aerial combats…
Rate it:
Lady Killer (87th Precinct, #8)
3.82 avg. rating
· 1125 Ratings
I will kill the lady tonight at 8. What can you do about it?
Rate it:
The Terminators (Matt Helm, #16)
4.08 avg. rating
· 131 Ratings
"I can't kill you. If I do, Mac will send out the executioners, the termination squads ..."

When the big man in Washington assigned Matt Helm to ride shotgun on a top-secret mission in Norway, Helm wan…
Rate it:
A Tan and Sandy Silence (Travis McGee #13)
Being accused at gunpoint of hiding another man's wife is a rude shock. But it's an even bigger shock when Travis McGee discovers that the woman in question is Mary Broll, a dear old friend. Now she's…
Rate it:
Three Cheers for Me (The Bandy Papers, #1)
It is 1916. Bartholomew Bandy, fourth-year medical student, decides that it is time to join the War. The prim young Canadian expects that he will have few problems remaining clean and virtuous. But he…
Rate it:
The Quick Red Fox (Travis McGee #4)
3.87 avg. rating
· 3163 Ratings
Quick Red Fox (Travis McGee, No. 4)
Rate it:
The Case of the Dangerous Dowager (Perry Mason, #10)
Perry Mason lives on -- and on -- in the perennially popular courtroom classics that put legal thrillers on the map. Case closed!
Rate it:
The Canvas Falcons: The Men and Planes of WW1
Based on documents written by the great aces and interviews with survivors, this story of the air war in Europe re-creates a world where men too young to have known much of life discovered new ways of…
Rate it:
A Bridge at Arnhem
3.42 avg. rating
· 12 Ratings
Operation Market Garden: a massive airborne strike designed to open a corridor through Nazi-held Holland, by-pass the Siegfried Line and crush the 1,000 Year Reich before Christmas. Despite the gallan…
Rate it:
Taggart
3.86 avg. rating
· 1733 Ratings
Alternate Cover Edition can be found here.

Adam Stark had found gold. In the confusion of the mesas and canyons near Rockinstraw Mountain, Stark, his wife, Consuelo, and his sister, Miriam, were quiet…

Rate it:
Stalingrad
3.94 avg. rating
· 168 Ratings
A fictional account of the the destruction of the entire German Sixth Army in the decisive battle of the European War. Translated from German by Richard and Clara Winston.
Rate it:
How Young They Died
4.03 avg. rating
· 34 Ratings
Stuart Cloete has chosen the First World War, of which he is himself a survivor, as the setting for his latest novel. Jim Hilton, its hero, is a subaltern of nineteen when he goes out to Flanders for …
Rate it:
But Not in Shame: The Six Months After Pearl Harbor
Currently being serialized prior to publication in Look magazine, John Toland's But Not in Shame is a compelling, candid appraisal of one of America's most controversial periods, the 1st 6 months of w…
Rate it:
Enemy Coast Ahead
4.36 avg. rating
· 851 Ratings
"A book more truly racy is not likely to be written of the RAF" - Times Literary Supplement

"[A] most readable, vivid account of the pre-war and active service of a highly decorated pilot." - Des…
Rate it:
The Dreadful Lemon Sky (Travis McGee #16)
"The professional's professional of suspense writers."

THE NEW YORK TIMES

Travis McGee has been offered easy money by a longtime lady friend. But when she gets killed, McGee's got a boatload of mystery.…
Rate it:
The Man Who Went Up in Smoke (Martin Beck, #2)
The masterful second novel in the Martin Beck series of mysteries by the internationally renowned crime writing duo Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö, finds Beck searching for a well-known Swedish journalist…
Rate it:
Find This Woman
3.71 avg. rating
· 34 Ratings
Shell Scott. He's a guy with a pistol in his pocket and murder on his mind. The crime world's public enemy number one, this Casanova is a sucker for a damsel in distress. When a pair of lovely legs sa…
Rate it: