Books similar to The Deptford Trilogy: Fifth Business/The Manticore/World of Wonders

The Deptford Trilogy: Fifth Business/The Manticore/World of Wonders
Who killed Boy Staunton?

Around this central mystery is woven a glittering, fantastical, cunningly contrived trilogy of novels. Luring the reader down labyrinthine tunnels of myth, history, and magic, …

Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
I Don't Care About Your Band: Lessons Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Sensitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I've Dated
In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care About Your Band sheds light on the humil…
Rate it:
The Emperor's Children
2.95 avg. rating
· 17243 Ratings
From a writer “of near-miraculous perfection” (The New York Times Book Review) and “a literary intelligence far surpassing most other writers of her generation” (San Francisco Chronicle), The Emperor’…
Rate it:
Another Bullshit Night in Suck City
3.80 avg. rating
· 9734 Ratings
Nick Flynn met his father when he was working as a caseworker in a homeless shelter in Boston. As a teenager he'd received letters from this stranger father, a self-proclaimed poet and con man doing t…
Rate it:
Oh the Glory of it All
3.61 avg. rating
· 5224 Ratings
"A memoir, at its heart, is written in order to figure out who you are," writes Sean Wilsey, and indeed, Oh the Glory of it All is compelling proof of his exhaustive personal quest. It's no surprise t…
Rate it:
The Rest Is Noise Series: Apparition from the Woods: The Loneliness of Jean Sibelius

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank…

Rate it:
A Home at the End of the World
3.92 avg. rating
· 15300 Ratings
Michael Cunningham’s celebrated novel is the story of two boyhood friends: Jonathan, lonely, introspective, and unsure of himself; and Bobby, hip, dark, and inarticulate. In New York after college, Bo…
Rate it:
England's Dreaming: Anarchy, Sex Pistols, Punk Rock, and Beyond
England's Dreaming is the ultimate book on punk, its progenitors, the Sex Pistols, and the moment they defined for music fans in England and the United States. Savage brings to life the sensational st…
Rate it:
The Rachel Papers
3.60 avg. rating
· 8528 Ratings
In his uproarious first novel Martin Amis, author of the bestselling London Fields, gave us one of the most noxiously believable -- and curiously touching -- adolescents ever to sniffle and lust his w…
Rate it:
I'm with the Band: Confessions of a Groupie
The stylish, exuberant, and remarkably sweet confession of one of the most famous groupies of the 1960s and 70s is back in print in this new edition that includes an afterword on the author's last 15 …
Rate it:
The Death of the Heart
3.69 avg. rating
· 6218 Ratings
The Death of the Heart is perhaps Elizabeth Bowen's best-known book. As she deftly and delicately exposes the cruelty that lurks behind the polished surfaces of conventional society, Bowen reveals her…
Rate it:
Риф
4.15 avg. rating
· 536 Ratings
"Кира живет в закрытом северном городе Сулиме, где местные промышляют браконьерством. Ли - в университетском кампусе в США, занимается исследованием на стыке современного искусства и антропологии. Тан…
Rate it:
Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain
3.93 avg. rating
· 55184 Ratings
With the same trademark compassion and erudition he brought to The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat, Oliver Sacks explores the place music occupies in the brain and how it affects the human conditio…
Rate it:
Mind Wide Open: Your Brain and the Neuroscience of Everyday Life
In this nationally bestselling, compulsively readable account of what makes brain science a vital component of people's quest to know themselves, acclaimed science writer Steven Johnson subjects his o…
Rate it:
This Is Your Brain on Music: The Science of a Human Obsession
Whether you load your iPod with Bach or Bono, music has a significant role in your life—even if you never realized it. Why does music evoke such powerful moods? The answers are at last be- coming clea…
Rate it:
Просто Маса
4.26 avg. rating
· 410 Ratings
«Просто Маса» - это Масахиро Сибата один, без Фандорина. Осиротевший помощник великого сыщика возвращается в родную Японию, которая очень сильно изменилась за время странствий своего блудного сына – и…
Rate it:
Lucy
3.81 avg. rating
· 6786 Ratings
The coming-of-age story of one of Jamaica Kincaid's most admired creations--newly available in paperback

Lucy, a teenage girl from the West Indies, comes to North America to work as an au pair for Lewi…
Rate it:
The Honorary Consul
3.80 avg. rating
· 3345 Ratings
The Honorary Consul is a British thriller novel by Graham Greene, published in 1973. It was one of the author's favourite works.

The story is set in an unnamed city in northern Argentina, near the bord…
Rate it:
The Dirty Dust: Cré na Cille
3.68 avg. rating
· 316 Ratings
Máirtín Ó Cadhain’s irresistible and infamous novel The Dirty Dust is consistently ranked as the most important prose work in modern Irish, yet no translation for English-language readers has ever bef…
Rate it:
Role Models
4.05 avg. rating
· 6598 Ratings

Here, from the incomparable John Waters, is a paean to the power of subversive inspiration that will delight, amuse, enrich--and happily horrify readers everywhere.

Role Models is, in fact, a sel…

Rate it:
Конец света, моя любовь
Никогда еще 1990-е и 2000-е годы не были описаны с такой дос­товерностью, как в новой книге Аллы Горбуновой. Дети, студенты, нищие, молодые поэты — ее герои и героини проживают жизнь интенсивно, балан…
Rate it:
Sodas
4.33 avg. rating
· 245 Ratings
Čia ne berniukas. Čia Tusia. Mano duktė. Ji ir yra visa ko prasmė.
Boriatinskajos veidą iškreipė, beveik subjaurojo laimės mėšlungis.

Marina Stepnova (g. 1971 m. Jefremove, Tulos srityje) – viena žymiau…
Rate it:
Hatter's Castle
4.26 avg. rating
· 1584 Ratings
Hatter's Castle (1931) is the first novel of author A. J. Cronin. The story is set in 1879, in the fictional town of Levenford, on the Firth of Clyde. The plot revolves around many characters and has …
Rate it:
Interred with Their Bones (Kate Stanley, #1)
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

"A feverishly paced action adventure" (The New York Times) about a long-lost Shakespeare work and a killer who reenacts the Bard's most bloody murders

On the eve of the Globe's…
Rate it:
A Florentine Death (Michele Ferrara, #1)
Chief Superintendent Michele Ferrara knows that the beautiful surface of his adopted city, Florence, hides dark undercurrents. When called in to investigate a series of brutal and apparently random mu…
Rate it:
The Dante Trap
3.31 avg. rating
· 201 Ratings
Venice, 1756. One of the city's brightest young actors has been brutally murdered. The Doge launches a secret investigation into the murder, led by Pietro Viravolta, a dashing young adventurer and sed…
Rate it:
Oracle Della Luna (L')
4.11 avg. rating
· 198 Ratings
Wie is Luna, de mooie tovenares met vuurrode haren? Door welke vloek is de man getroffen die gewond in de bergen van Midden-Italie wordt teruggevonden? Welke vreselijke woorden bevat het geheime perka…
Rate it:
The First Inspector Morse Omnibus: The Dead of Jericho, Service of All the Dead, the Silent World of Nicholas Quinn
Chief Inspector Morse is firmly established as the world's most popular fictional detective. This omnibus contains three murder mysteries - "The Dead of Jericho", "Service of all the Dead" and "The Si…
Rate it:
The Athenian Murders
3.83 avg. rating
· 1016 Ratings
In ancient Athens, one of the pupils of Plato's Academy is found dead. His idealistic teacher Diagoras is convinced the pupil's death is not as accidental as it appears, and asks the famous Heracles P…
Rate it:
A Lily of the Field (Inspector Troy, #7)
3.95 avg. rating
· 601 Ratings
Vienna, 1934. Ten-year-old cello prodigy Méret Voytek becomes a pupil of concert pianist Viktor Rosen, a Jew in exile from Germany.

The Isle of Man, 1940. An interned Hungarian physicist is recruited f…

Rate it:
The Library of Shadows
3.41 avg. rating
· 2048 Ratings
Imagine that some people have the power to affect your thoughts and feelings when you read, or they read a book to you. They can seduce you with amazing stories, conjure up vividly imagined worlds, bu…
Rate it: