Books similar to The Singularity is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology

The Singularity is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology
For over three decades, Ray Kurzweil has been one of the most respected and provocative advocates of the role of technology in our future. In his classic The Age of Spiritual Machines, he argued that …
Rate it:
Goodreads members who liked this book also liked:
Superintelligence: Paths, Dangers, Strategies
Superintelligence asks the questions: what happens when machines surpass humans in general intelligence? Will artificial agents save or destroy us? Nick Bostrom lays the foundation for understanding t…
Rate it:
Life 3.0: Being Human in the Age of Artificial Intelligence
How will Artificial Intelligence affect crime, war, justice, jobs, society and our very sense of being human? The rise of AI has the potential to transform our future more than any other technology--a…
Rate it:
Abundance: The Future Is Better Than You Think
Providing abundance is humanity’s grandest challenge—this is a book about how we rise to meet it.

We will soon be able to meet and exceed the basic needs of every man, woman and child on the planet. A…
Rate it:
Our Final Invention: Artificial Intelligence and the End of the Human Era
In as little as a decade, artificial intelligence could match, then surpass human intelligence. Corporations & government agencies around the world are pouring billions into achieving AI’s Holy Grail—…
Rate it:
A Thousand Brains: A New Theory of Intelligence
An author, neuroscientist, and computer engineer unveils a theory of intelligence, of understanding the brain and the future of AI. For all of neuroscience's advances, we've made little progress on it…
Rate it:
Deep Fakes and the Infocalypse: What You Urgently Need To Know
It will soon be impossible to tell what is real and what is fake.

Recent advances in AI mean that by scanning images of a person (for example using Facebook), a powerful machine learning system can cre…
Rate it:
Ending Aging: The Rejuvenation Breakthroughs That Could Reverse Human Aging in Our Lifetime
MUST WE AGE?

A long life in a healthy, vigorous, youthful body has always been one of humanity's greatest dreams. Recent progress in genetic manipulations and calorie-restricted diets in laboratory ani…
Rate it:
Race Against The Machine
3.92 avg. rating
· 1798 Ratings
Why has median income stopped rising in the US?
Why is the share of population that is working falling so rapidly?
Why are our economy and society are becoming more unequal?

A popular explanation ri…
Rate it:
The Future Is Faster Than You Think: How Converging Technologies Are Transforming Business, Industries, and Our Lives
From the New York Times bestselling authors of Abundance and Bold comes a practical playbook for technological convergence in our modern era.

In their book Abundance, bestselling authors and futurists …
Rate it:
The Future of the Mind: The Scientific Quest to Understand, Enhance, and Empower the Mind
The New York Times best-selling author of Physics of the Impossible, Physics of the Future and Hyperspace tackles the most fascinating and complex object in the known universe: the human brain.

For th…
Rate it:
Human Compatible: Artificial Intelligence and the Problem of Control
A leading artificial intelligence researcher lays out a new approach to AI that will enable us to coexist successfully with increasingly intelligent machines

In the popular imagination, superhuman …
Rate it:
The Master Algorithm: How the Quest for the Ultimate Learning Machine Will Remake Our World
A thought-provoking and wide-ranging exploration of machine learning and the race to build computer intelligences as flexible as our own


In the world's top research labs and universities, the race is o…
Rate it:
Scale: The Universal Laws of Growth, Innovation, Sustainability, and the Pace of Life in Organisms, Cities, Economies, and Companies
The former head of the Sante Fe Institute, visionary physicist Geoffrey West is a pioneer in the field of complexity science, the science of emergent systems and networks. The term “complexity” can be…
Rate it:
Our Mathematical Universe: My Quest for the Ultimate Nature of Reality
Our Mathematical Universe is a journey to explore the mysteries uncovered by cosmology and to discover the nature of reality. Our Big Bang, our distant future, parallel worlds, the sub-atomic and inte…
Rate it:
The Society of Mind
4.03 avg. rating
· 3084 Ratings
Marvin Minsky -- one of the fathers of computer science and cofounder of the Artificial Intelligence Laboratory at MIT -- gives a revolutionary answer to the age-old question: "How does the mind work?…
Rate it:
Engines of Creation: The Coming Era of Nanotechnology
This brilliant work heralds the new age of nanotechnology, which will give us thorough and inexpensive control of the structure of matter.  Drexler examines the enormous implications of these developm…
Rate it:
The Technological Singularity
3.87 avg. rating
· 271 Ratings
The idea that human history is approaching a "singularity" -- that ordinary humans will someday be overtaken by artificially intelligent machines or cognitively enhanced biological intelligence, or bo…
Rate it:
Making Sense
4.34 avg. rating
· 279 Ratings
FROM THE BEST-SELLING AUTHOR OF 'WAKING UP' and 'THE END OF FAITH', AN ADAPTATION OF HIS WILDLY POPULAR, OFTEN CONTROVERSIAL PODCAST.

"CIVILIZATION RESTS ON SUCCESSFUL CONVERSATIONS." (SAM HARRIS)

Sam H…
Rate it:
The Fable of the Dragon-Tyrant
4.33 avg. rating
· 501 Ratings
A philosophical parable about death.
Rate it:
The Second Machine Age: Work, Progress, and Prosperity in a Time of Brilliant Technologies
In recent years, Google’s autonomous cars have logged thousands of miles on American highways and IBM’s Watson trounced the best human Jeopardy! players. Digital technologies—with hardware, software, …
Rate it:
Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress
If you think the world is coming to an end, think again: people are living longer, healthier, freer, and happier lives, and while our problems are formidable, the solutions lie in the Enlightenment id…
Rate it:
On Intelligence
4.11 avg. rating
· 5676 Ratings
From the inventor of the PalmPilot comes a new and compelling theory of intelligence, brain function, and the future of intelligent machines

Jeff Hawkins, the man who created the PalmPilot, Treo smart …
Rate it:
Gödel, Escher, Bach: an Eternal Golden Braid
Douglas Hofstadter's book is concerned directly with the nature of “maps” or links between formal systems. However, according to Hofstadter, the formal system that underlies all mental activity transc…
Rate it:
Searching for Bobby Fischer: The Father of a Prodigy Observes the World of Chess
The father of a real american chess prodigy reflects on chess, competition, childhood, and his son's meteoric rise to the highest levels of global competition.

"[A] little gem of a book." --The New Yor…
Rate it:
Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity
Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene.

After 3.8 billion years humankind is about to…
Rate it:
The Future of Humanity: Terraforming Mars, Interstellar Travel, Immortality and Our Destiny Beyond Earth
The #1 bestselling author of The Future of the Mind brings us a stunning new vision of our future in space.

Human civilization is on the verge of spreading beyond Earth. More than a possibility, it is …
Rate it:
A Change of Plans
3.96 avg. rating
· 780 Ratings
Earth is dying, and humanity is scrambling to set up colonies in other star systems. But the search process for habitable planets is not perfect, as the crew of the Ouroboros discover on arrival at th…
Rate it:
Physics of the Future: How Science Will Shape Human Destiny and Our Daily Lives by the Year 2100
Imagine, if you can, the world in the year 2100.

In Physics of the Future, Michio Kaku—the New York Times bestselling author of Physics of the Impossible—gives us a stunning, provocative, and exhilarat…
Rate it:
This Idea Is Brilliant: Lost, Overlooked, and Underappreciated Scientific Concepts Everyone Should Know
The latest volume in the bestselling series from Edge.org—dubbed “the world’s smartest website” by The Guardian—brings together 206 of the world’s most innovative thinkers to discuss the scientific co…
Rate it:
Lifespan: Why We Age—and Why We Don't Have To
It’s a seemingly undeniable truth that aging is inevitable. But what if everything we’ve been taught to believe about aging is wrong? What if we could choose our lifespan?

In this groundbreaking book,…
Rate it: