Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Wit and Wisecracks” as Want to Read:
Wit and Wisecracks
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Wit and Wisecracks

4.09  ·  Rating details ·  97 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Rollicking humor from a great wit, including, "Reports of my death are greatly exaggerated".
Hardcover, 64 pages
Published March 1st 1998 by Peter Pauper Press (first published June 1st 1961)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Wit and Wisecracks, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Wit and Wisecracks

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.09  · 
Rating details
 ·  97 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Wit and Wisecracks
Jason
Oct 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Anyone
Recommended to Jason by: Fellow Twain fan cleaning off his shelves
I love Twain quotes even when they're not his. All of these in here belong to him. This is a shorty that could be handled in one sitting, but I decided to savor it with just a few pages a night. Some quote are humorous, some are merely wise, but most were both. The only reason it doesn't get five stars is that it's missing a few gems I love. Such is the bane of having looked into MT's witticisms extensively. All of the quotes come from his various writings, letters, stories, novels, etc.

Here are
...more
Melissa Jacobson
I mean...not a lot to say about this. It is a bunch of funny quotes by Mark Twain and none of them have any context haha. This was fast and a quick read and made me chuckle.
Nicholas Maulucci
Jul 20, 2014 rated it it was ok
Shelves: philosophy
I am a fan of Mark twain. his fiction is classic- his Mississippi river colloquialisms unparalleled. that being said, I was disappointed in this book of his quips. I was surprised with his pessimism in human nature. there was almost nothing of value in the entire book. read his fiction- leave his non-fiction.
Darth
Dec 17, 2014 rated it really liked it
Fun quick read.

Some great pearls you have probly heard quoted or misquoted TONNES.
Certainly some darker humor too, and some outright black humor.
Not a book I will go back and re-read, but worth the 5 minutes it takes to get through.
Debora H
Feb 09, 2016 rated it really liked it
This little tome was a gift. Per its title, it is filled with the witticisms of Mark Twain. You will ponder his thoughts much longer than it takes to read the book.
Rosalía
May 14, 2010 rated it it was amazing
A book to pull out for fun quotes.
Christina
Mar 20, 2013 rated it really liked it
Found this in the Samuel Clemens room in the Garth Woodside Mansion where I'm staying in Hannibal, MO. It's the same room Mark Twain stayed in when he visited Hannibal, so I had to read it here.
Santino Maulucci
Jul 23, 2014 rated it really liked it
I liked this book. I probably liked it because I enjoy wit and wisecracks. I also like reading Mark Twain.
Rachel Beeler
Oct 05, 2014 rated it really liked it
there are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics.
Mary Tuley
Aug 09, 2007 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Everybody.
The great American genius!
Clint Heitz
rated it really liked it
Jun 05, 2015
Cathy Topping
rated it it was amazing
Jul 19, 2013
Mary
rated it really liked it
Nov 14, 2016
Gary
rated it it was amazing
Apr 10, 2009
Brigitte
rated it really liked it
Oct 25, 2012
John Doe
rated it really liked it
Jul 01, 2016
Patricia Rustin
rated it it was amazing
Mar 12, 2014
Hunter
rated it liked it
Jul 06, 2013
Michael
rated it really liked it
Dec 17, 2012
Amanda Beaulieu
rated it it was ok
Aug 24, 2017
Susan
rated it really liked it
Sep 26, 2008
Shaun
rated it really liked it
Sep 03, 2008
Al
rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2016
Jt
rated it it was amazing
Aug 29, 2012
Rose Dernoncourt
rated it liked it
Apr 01, 2014
Terry
rated it it was amazing
Mar 01, 2015
Cara
rated it it was amazing
Jun 20, 2014
John Sip
rated it it was ok
Aug 12, 2007
Laura
rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2015
Jacky Bluee
rated it liked it
Jul 25, 2010
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Land (Logans, #1)
  • The Well: David's Story (Logans, #2)
  • When We Were Very Young (Winnie-the-Pooh, #3)
  • New Kid (New Kid, #1)
  • Song of the Trees (Logans, #3)
  • Now We Are Six (Winnie-the-Pooh, #4)
  • A Charlie Brown Christmas
  • Bud, Not Buddy
  • The Mist
  • Beachworld
  • For Owen
  • Survivor Type
  • Mrs. Todd's Shortcut, from Skeleton Crew
  • Uncle Otto's Truck
  • The Reaper's Image (Stories from Skeleton Crew)
  • The Wedding Gig
  • Paranoid: A Chant
  • The Man Who Would Not Shake Hands (Skeleton Crew #11)
See similar books…
15,315 followers
Samuel Langhorne Clemens, better known by his pen name Mark Twain, was an American author and humorist. He is noted for his novels Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1885), called "the Great American Novel", and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1876).

Twain grew up in Hannibal, Missouri, which would later provide the setting for Huckleberry Finn and Tom Sawyer. He apprenticed with a printer. He also work
...more

News & Interviews

  Tami Charles is a former teacher and the author of picture books, middle grade and young adult novels, and nonfiction. As a teacher, she made...
27 likes · 41 comments