Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dog Blood (Hater, #2)” as Want to Read:
Dog Blood (Hater, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dog Blood

(Hater #2)

by
3.78  ·  Rating details ·  3,452 ratings  ·  242 reviews
On the heels of Patient Zero and Pride and Prejudice with Zombies— the electrifying sequel to Hater where humanity fights itself to the death against a backdrop of ultimate apocalyptic destruction

The Earth has been torn into two parts by an irreversible division. Whether due to nature, or the unknown depths of the mind itself, everyone is now either Human or Hater. Vi
...more
Paperback, 326 pages
Published May 10th 2011 by St. Martin's Press (first published 2010)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dog Blood, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dog Blood

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.78  · 
Rating details
 ·  3,452 ratings  ·  242 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
karen
seriously - a one-day-read feels so good after spending two weeks on one book; it is freeing to remember that it can be done and still have time left over to watch step up2 - the streets!! (those motherfuckers danced in the rain! talk about risking it all!)

this is the middle book in a trilogy, so don't go running out to read it based on the "strength" of this review without first going out and getting hater.it is a fun bloody romping zombie-ish book that is a page-turning good time for those of
...more
Greg
Jun 25, 2010 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: horror, fiction
Karen's review says just about sums up the book.

I read books like this for cool shit to happen. For instance, to read about a child killing an adult by eating through the persons chest. Maybe this isn't too realistic but it's cool shit. I want my horror novels to read like they were written by a sociopath. I want blood and gore, and fuck redeeming social value. More blood, more gore! Kill! Kill! Kill!

This book delivers on the good stuff at the start and end of the book, but then gets mired dow
...more
Schnaucl
Two and a half stars. (Some spoilers for Hater)

I realized about halfway through that I was forcing myself to get through the book. Never a good sign.

Part of what made Hater so good was how chilling Danny's behavior was after his change. He was 100% certain that he had to kill the Unchanged or they would kill him and during the kills he experience euphoria.

In this book there was a bit of the euphoria but I never found his behavior chilling. While in Hater he acted on instinct in this book Danny s
...more
Jason
Apr 12, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: e-books, read-2012
4.5 Stars

I am such a big fan of David Moody as an author. I also love the genre that he specializes in, the post-apocalyptic. This book, Dog Blood is the second in the hater series. As I have mentioned before Moody does a superb job at making these horror stories about people. He creates characters that are true to life and three dimensional. Moody's Autumn series worked by creating a world filled with characters like you and me. There were no superheroes in that one, and many were very likable.
...more
Alina
Apr 24, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: zombies
Nice page-turner, with lots of action, killing, gore. Interesting to see things through the eyes of a Hater, to see the planning and the reasoning, but not likely to be able to identify with the character.
Daniel
Feb 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Dog Blood takes up with the story of Danny McCoyne, a Hater who is desperately trying to reconnect with and "save" his daughter, whom he knows is also a Hater. His wife, Lizzie has taken the family, the two boys and daughter, Ellis and hidden somewhere. Danny has been searching for months for his daughter, trying to save her so she can kill with him. He runs into and afoul of many different people in this book and is finally captured and sent to a mysterious group who imprisons him and injects h ...more
Kate
Dec 25, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.5. This continues the Haters series and is again told by Danny McCoyne, but also a soldier's point of view of the Unchanged. As things grow more and more out of control, you see how both sides deal with it. One thing not covered (as yet) in the series, is what actually happened to kick off this gene turning on in certain people causing them to turn.
Robert Beveridge
David Moody, Dog Blood (Thomas Dunne Books, 2010)

Unlike (I assume) most prospective readers of Moody's latest, Dog Blood, I have not read its prequel, Hater. (And judging by Dog Blood's end, I'm going to posit that this is the middle book in a pending trilogy.) I am familiar with moody through the Autumn quartet, which I read four or five years ago and which have become something of a self-publishing success story, not only launching what has since become one of the most popular small horror pre
...more
Lori
From author for review -

It's war baby, and the Unchanged don't stand a chance.

In Dog Blood, the sequel to David Moody's novel Hater, No one cares about what caused the Hate anymore. Self-preservation is the priority. The world is beginning to fall apart, buildings rotting away or damaged in battle. Food and clean water is becoming harder and harder to come by. Unchanged men, women, and children slowly begin to move into the cities, cramming themselves into office buildings, and apartments, wait
...more
Jo Anne B
May 05, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

3.5 stars

I went onto this book right after the first book and was a little let down with it. In the very beginning I felt the author took a cop out when he said it didn't matter what caused this to happen, it did, now we just have to deal with it. I was looking for more of an explanation and this made me feel like the author couldn't explain it so he made it seem irrelevant to the characters in the book. Now, I praise Moody all the time for his books being realistic and if this were to happen I
...more
Badseedgirl
Dog Blood by David Moody is the second book in his “Hater” series. It has been a year since the world collapsed under the weight of the “Haters.” What is left of the “Unchanged” has been forced into overcrowded and unprepared refugee areas in the city centers. Life for the “Unchanged” has become almost intolerable in these centers but the risk of the Haters prowling the outskirts is a deterrent for them.

This novel is still told from the viewpoint of our favorite anti-hero Danny McCoyne. It is so
...more
Suspense Magazine
Mar 29, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not for the faint of heart, “Dog Blood” by David Moody is a gritty and gruesome look into the world after the Hate takes over, separating the population in two. Those inflicted by this vicious change of heart only feel satisfied when in the throes of violence and attacking the Unchanged. Complete annihilation has become the only thing that matters to people that were once very much like us. While the Unchanged—in an effort to continue some semblance of normal life—have moved into small-sequester ...more
Naomi
Dec 13, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Christine (KizzieReads)
I felt this one just dragged on and on. I really wasn't fond of the main character in the first book, as I found him a whiny, lazy piece of crap. I was rooting for the Unchanged and hoping that they get at the Haters and wipe them out.
Esra Kılıç
Dec 03, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

Hater serisinin ikinci kitabı da bir çırpıda bitti. Geçmişin hiçbir önemi kalmamıştı artık. Dünya altüst olmuş, eşit olmayan iki parçaya bölünmüştü. Hızla yayılan vahşi bir şiddet hüküm sürüyordu. Öfke bu kadar kontrolsüz anlatılmamıştı.
Salgın’a göre biraz daha düşük bulsam da yine heyecanı yetti. Sürükleyici, ve güzeldi. Ara vermeden 3.’üncü kitabını da okuyacağım ve seriyi bitirmiş olacağım.

Thee_ron_clark
The world has quickly turned into a post-apocalyptic night mare following a change in about a third of the population known simply as The Hate. The people infected with it are called haters. Those who have gone through the change have an overwhelming desire to kill those who have not.

The unchanged masses are pushed into secured areas patrolled by heavily-armed soldiers. Rations and living space are becoming more and more difficult to come by as any excursions out of the secure zones are general
...more
Jenni Arndt
Sep 17, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: purchased-own
You can read all of my reviews at Alluring Reads.

After being blown away by Hater I was quick to run out and buy the remaining books in the series, Dog Blood and Them or Us. Hater had the perfect build up, and I was right there with the McCoyne's as the world went to hell. In Dog Blood we are once again treated to alternating perspectives, but here we have, of course, Danny's perspective and we alternate between that and a third person narration following an unchanged named Mark around as he trie
...more
Ruby  Tombstone [With A Vengeance]
Jan 07, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: intellectual horror fiends
I love the premise of these books, and this was a good read, but I think "second in a trilogy" syndrome applies here. The couple of issues I had with the first book still exist, and my questions have yet to be resolved. Nevertheless, it's a good read and does introduce a couple of new elements to the mix. Like the first book, I felt that the first two thirds of this were a little slow, but once it picked up momentum it really packed a punch. David Moody really knows how to finish a book! I can't ...more
David Bradley
Dec 09, 2011 rated it it was ok
This is a weak follow-up to Moody's Hater, the first book in this series. What I loved about the first book was the main character's development arc -- how Danny reacted to a world going to hell, mostly by not reacting (until the end of that book). In this second book, the world is already hell, and remains hell. In the first book, the world changed, but Danny didn't, and it worked. In the second book, the world stays the same, but Danny's changes, and it flops. Problem is, the changes Danny und ...more
Joanna
Aug 26, 2011 marked it as to-read
I really liked this book in the beginning. I enjoyed the way the author layed out the story on a day to day basis. Internal narrative of a person. Followed by the first person of the man character.

The work interaction was funny, bringing back fond memories of office space and TP reports.

The protagonists kids in the story were annoying and left me thinking they needed that nanny from the reality show.

Then it just got boring. I can't say exactly when it happened, but it did. At some point what I
...more
Alondra
3.5 Stars

The evolution of Haters, and the devolution (descent or degeneration to a lower or worse state) of the rest of humanity. We got a taste of different factions; if you will; of Haters...or maybe, different levels of Hater-dom; not really sure how to describe it. I have the feeling that the children were much worse, than the adults. "children have no memory of before, ...they are pure hate."

We get really in depth with how our main character, Danny McCoyne; is adjusting and evolving as a H
...more
Michelle
Feb 06, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is the 2nd book in Moody's Hater trilogy. I really enjoyed this one as well, it didn't lose my interest and was just as good as the first, in my opinion. No vampires or zombies, just human monsters; but monsters nevertheless. These books are about a Hate that has taken over some people and this book focuses on the fighting between the Haters and the Unchanged. Very violent, with blood and gore, along with a human side. Really enjoyed the first and the second, now onto the third.
Shanon
Wonderful! I had a hard time putting this book down. Hater grabbed my attention and it’s sequel, Dog Blood, kept it.

We continue to follow Danny and get more insights into the mind of a Hater. I didn’t really like Danny when we first met him in Hater but I really liked him in this one. He was stronger and less whiny about his situation. Danny’s world is bloody, graphic, violent and terrifying. I can’t get enough!

I’m still insanely curious about the cause of the Haters and really hope that the ne
...more
Helen
Somehow not as satisfying as 'Hater', probably because it's the second book of the trilogy. Feels akin to a difficult 'second album'. Although it does have some vaguely interesting social commentary on the nature of war and the pointlessness of terrorism, there wasn't the same thrill and terror of the unknown that was part of the first book, and the sections on the experiences of Mark, one of the 'Unchanged', felt incomplete, and the lack of explanation as to what caused the outbreak of 'Hate' i ...more
Corey
May 08, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
No mistake, Dog Blood is not for everyone, and there are many who will see little value in its intense cynicism and graphic violence. But connoisseurs of the genre will realize the craft behind the mayhem, and will appreciate Moody's refusal to enliven his grim fairy tale with humour or hope. This is the horror of blood and guts, the horror of vintage Romero and Fulci, and if you're not prepared for it, why are you reading it?

Read the rest of the review here.
Mika
Aug 25, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: zombies
Still out of control and brutal as the previous. Story developing to something deeper as Danny is trying to understand the meaning to all this madness. More finesse to the story. Meanwhile some more splatter and death as the Haters looking for someones face to kick in. Awesome! Horrible but fascinating. Hair-raising. High speed.
Barb Olujare
Dec 29, 2013 rated it really liked it
The second book which was an easy one sit read, was very good, fast paced, with characters, whether good or bad...made it easy to relate to and have an emotional connection with. The action and violence was fierce yet easy to visualize.
Sg
Sep 08, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Really well written apocalypse horror. Would have given it 5 from 5 if not for the predictable ending about 100 pages from the end, but a fab read nonetheless. Am saving book 3 to read as a treat, hoping its as good as the first two.
Nicole
Feb 13, 2015 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Not my sort of read..I went into this thinking it was more zombie based since I hadn't read the first book, Hater. I was naive and wrong. The scene is laid out nicely but the main character was difficult for me to give a $&@w about. ;/ It is well worth a read to those more seasoned in this genre.
Chelsea
kinda drug out till the end and then got better
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Xombies
  • Monster Nation (Monster Island, #2)
  • Survivors (Morningstar Strain #3)
  • Tooth and Nail
  • White Flag of The Dead (White Flag of the Dead, #1)
  • Flesh Eaters (Dead World, #3)
  • Siege  (As The World Dies, #3)
  • Twilight of the Dead
  • Crusade (Eden #2)
  • Dying to Live (Dying to Live, #1)
  • Juggernaut (Outpost, #0.5)
  • Breaking News: An Autozombiography
  • Beyond Exile (Day by Day Armageddon,# 2)
  • Resurrection: Zombie Epic
  • Deadfall
  • Flu (Flu, #1)
  • The Zombies of Lake Woebegotten
1,022 followers
A pioneer of independent publishing, DAVID MOODY first released HATER in 2006, and without an agent, succeeded in selling the film rights for the novel to Mark Johnson (producer, Breaking Bad) and Guillermo Del Toro (director, The Shape of Water, Pan's Labyrinth). Moody's seminal zombie novel AUTUMN was made into an (admittedly terrible) movie starring Dexter Fletcher and David Carradine. He has a ...more

Other books in the series

Hater (4 books)
  • Hater (Hater, #1)
  • Them or Us (Hater, #3)
  • One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning
“Wonder if Stephen King's like us or them..?” 0 likes
More quotes…